Article Databases
Scholarly Journal Articles
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary - Good for nearly all subjects. Includes scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary - Includes scholarly journal articles for the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
-
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation, restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and trade magazine articles on all aspects of communication, rhetoric, journalism, film and television studies.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers. Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
News
-
New York Times (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
-
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1996) This link opens in a new window
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Sources
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in academic or professional fields. Scholarly articles are published in journals for specific academic disciplines. Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed.
Peer-reviewed articles are submitted to reviewers who are experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
Finding Full Text
Many databases on the library's website include the full text of articles. Click on the PDF or HTML icon to download the article.
If full text is not available, click the Find It or 360 Link icons to see if there is access from another source.
Look for 
displayed for each item in the library's databases. In Google Scholar, look for Find Full Text @ Oberlin. Access via publisher websites is generally limited to subscribers.
Full text is not always accessible for immediate download. The 360 Link may lead to an intermediary page offering access through Interlibrary loan. If you have trouble, consult the library staff.