Literature Reviews, Essays, Bibliographies
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Designed to be an authoritative resource of reference content in a wide array of academic fields, including the humanities, social sciences, and science.
- Oxford Handbooks of Political ScienceLink to a list of titles in OBIS - some are online, some are in print.
- Oxford Bibliographies. Political ScienceISBN: 0199756228Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on political science. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
- Annual Review of Political ScienceAnnual edited volume that covers significant developments in the field of political science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology. Covers 1998-present.
Encyclopedias
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowDictionaries, encyclopedias, guides and handbooks from a range of social science fields.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory by ISBN: 9781412958653Publication Date: 2010-03-18Encyclopedia of Political Theory examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought.
The Cambridge History of Twentieth-Century Political Thought by ISBN: 0521563542Publication Date: 2003-08-14This major work of academic reference provides a comprehensive overview of the development of political thought from the late nineteenth to the end of the twentieth century.
International Sources
- Europa World This link opens in a new window
Covers political, economic, and historical information, including statistics, for over 250 countries and territories.
- Oxford research encyclopedias. International studies online
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated content from the International Studies Association (ISA) and Oxford University Press. - CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- AM-Explorer This link opens in a new windowConfidential Print; Foreign Office Files; Archive Newspapers etc
- AfricaBibAfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location. The site consists of two bibliographic databases: Africana Periodical Literature and African Women. You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa, one on Islam in Africa and another on the Kenya Coast.
- U.K. Parliamentary ArchivesThe term ‘parliamentary papers’ (sometimes called sessional papers or blue books) is used to described a number of different documents. Before starting your research you might find it useful to explore Parliament’s Making Laws pages which include information on the different types of parliamentary papers. You may also find the archived factsheets on House of Commons Papers and Command papers of some interest.