Music Encyclopedias
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window Online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Grove Music Online (instruction videos)
Music Research Databases
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracts of millions of peer-reviewed articles in the arts and humanities disciplines. Also includes book chapters, conference papers and other formats. Cited and citing reference searching.
- Musical America This link opens in a new window Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
- Music Index Online This link opens in a new window Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: Music This link opens in a new window A series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century music genres such as Rock, Folk, Hip-Hop, and Rap. This collection contains 1,461 issues comprising 100,696 pages and 91,441 articles. Note: Oberlin only has access to Music Magazine Archive through this platform, not the full Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive.
- Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale (RIdIM) International association for the recording and development of music and dance performances in the field of visual arts and crafts.
- RILM Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature. Dates of coverage: 1775 to the present.
- RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new window RIPM Jazz Periodicals is a collection of 105 American full-text jazz journals and magazines published. Developed in collaboration with the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers University and partner libraries, RIPM Jazz Periodicals is an essential documentary resource that chronicles American jazz culture as seen through the eyes of its contemporaries. (Dates of coverage: 1914-2000)
- RIPM – With Full Text This link opens in a new window Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
- RISM: Repertoire International des Sources Musicales This link opens in a new window An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.
Music Index & RILM (instructional video)
This video will introduce you to the process of finding scholarly journal articles on music topics using Music Index & RILM.
RIPM Jazz & Music Magazine Archive (instructional video)
If you are researching jazz or popular music, you'll find RIPM Jazz or Music Magazine Archive very useful. Additionally, you may still want to consult Music Index and RILM.