Search.Libraries
Visit Search.Libraries to find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more—all from a single integrated starting point.
Books and Ebooks
Call Numbers Starting with _____
If a call number starts with M, it is a score. Here are some general guidelines:
- M2: Monuments, sources, reprints, etc.
- M3: Complete and collected works of individual masters
- M5-M1450: Instrumental music
- M1000: orchestral, band, etc.
- M1495-M2199: vocal music
- M1497-M1998: secular
- M1999-M2199: sacred
Call Numbers Starting with ____
If a call number starts with ____ , it is a book about _____ . Here are some general guidelines:
- ML48, 50: librettos
Call Numbers Starting with ____
If a call number starts with ___, it is a book about _____. Here are some general guidelines:
- MT6-MT950: instruction and study
- MT40: composition
- MT170: instrumental techniques
- MT820: singing and voice culture
Here are some subject headings to use in Search.Libraries:
General _____ Subject Headings
- Appropriate LCSH goes here
- Appropriate LCSH goes here
[TOPIC]
- Appropriate LCSH goes here
Appropriate LCSH goes here
–– ADD ITEMS FROM LIBRARY CATALOG BELOW ––
-
American Political Music
by
This book documents music for all political offices except president. Within each state and the District of Columbia, the names of elected politicians, candidates for public office and high-profile individuals appear in alphabetical order with a listing of published songs that relate to them. Under each person or topic are listed related songs, with title, tune, composer and lyricist, publisher, copyright year, and information on where a particular song or its lyrics may be found.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.A54 C74 2006ISBN: 0786422866Publication Date: 2005
Scholarly Articles
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Designed to be an authoritative resource of reference content in a wide array of academic fields, including the humanities, social sciences, and science.
-
A Concise Encyclopaedia of the Italian Renaissance
by
Call Number: Art Reference DG533.C563 c.2ISBN: 0195202848Publication Date: 1981Glossary of Italian terms and bibliography of principal Italian reference works c. 1320-1600.
The following are some of the top databases for [SUBJECT] research. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z. Try limiting by [SUBJECT] as a Subject!
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
A suite of four comprehensive art encyclopedias. Useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies.
-
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Authoritative guide to reliable peer-reviewed resources and scholarship in African Studies, Buddhism, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Political Science, and Renaissance and Reformation. Bibliographies are selectively curated and annotated by expert academics and offer high-level overviews that provide non-experts with a point of entry into unfamiliar areas of study.
Magazines and Newspapers
-
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. Dates of coverage: 1836-1963
-
Gale Primary Sources (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Topically focused collections of historical documents, including the American Civil Liberties Union Papers (1912-1990), Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, British Library Newspapers, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2014), 18th Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, 19th Century Collections Online, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Political Radicalism & Extremism in the 20th Century, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), and The London Times Digital Archive (1785-1985).
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
-
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: Music This link opens in a new windowA series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century music genres such as Rock, Folk, Hip-Hop, and Rap. This collection contains 1,461 issues comprising 100,696 pages and 91,441 articles. Note: Oberlin only has access to Music Magazine Archive through this platform, not the full Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive.
-
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests. (Dates of coverage: 1950-)