Proxied access: Databases A-Z
Note: Throughout this research guide, there are links to databases that may be useful for your research; many of these resources require an Oberlin IP address for access. Use our Databases A-Z to discover useful databases, and to access them from anywhere through our proxy server!
You can filter the Databases A-Z by Subject (e.g., Philosophy; Science & Technology), or by type of resources (e.g., Scholarly & Peer Review).
The databases highlighted below might be of particular use for your assignment:
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
-
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Includes both scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer publications. Covers many disciplines, such as art, architecture and design; classics, archaeology, and anthropology; literature, theatre, and film; philosophy and religion; music; and history.
-
Google ScholarSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Particularly useful for finding out who has cited the documents you’ve already identified!
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.