Search.Libraries
Visit Search.Libraries to find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more—all from a single integrated starting point.
Books and Ebooks
Call Numbers Starting with QB
If a call number starts with QB, it is a work about astronomy. Here are some general guidelines:
- QB 1-139: General works on astronomy, including introductory texts and historical accounts
- QB 54.5–54.55: General Astrobiology / Exobiology
- QB 140-237: Practical and spherical astronomy, which includes topics like instrumentation, observational techniques, and coordinate systems
- QB 275-343: Geodesy, which deals with the Earth's shape and size
- QB 349-421: Theoretical astronomy and celestial mechanics, which covers topics like orbital mechanics and the motion of celestial objects
- QB 455-456: Astrogeology, which studies the geology of other planets and celestial bodies
- QB 460-466: Astrophysics, which explores the physical properties and behavior of celestial objects
- QB 468-480: Non-optical methods of astronomy, including radio astronomy and other techniques
- QB 495-903: Descriptive astronomy, which covers the observation and description of celestial objects
- QB603–606: Planetary Habitability / Life-supporting planets and moons
- QB 980-991: Cosmogony and cosmology, which study the origin and evolution of the universe
Call Numbers Starting with QH
If a call number starts with QH, it is a book about natural history and general biology. Here are some general guidelines:
- QH 1-278.5: Natural history (General)
- QH 301-705.5: General biology; Comprehensive texts that link biology with planetary science
- QH 325-345: includes studies on abiogenesis, chemical evolution, and origin-of-life research central to astrobiology
- QH 359-425: Evolution
- QH 426-470: Genetics
- QH 471-489: Reproduction
- QH 501-531: Life
- QH 540-549.5: Ecology
- QH 573-671: Cytology
Here are some subject headings to use in Search.Libraries:
General Musicology Subject Headings
- Music -- Psychological aspects
- Music -- Social aspects
- Music -- Philosophy and aesthetics
Music Education
- Music - Methods
- Music in education
- Music appreciation
- Music -- Instruction and study
-
Astrobiology (journal)The most-cited peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the understanding of life's origin, evolution, and distribution in the universe, with a focus on new findings and discoveries from interplanetary exploration and laboratory research.
Scholarly Articles
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Designed to be an authoritative resource of reference content in a wide array of academic fields, including the humanities, social sciences, and science.
-
Encyclopedia of Astrobiology
by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9783662650929Publication Date: 2023-07-01The third edition of the Encyclopedia of Astrobiology provides a unified reference for the highly interdisciplinary field of astrobiology, helping researchers and students from biology, astrophysics, chemistry, geology, and space science share a common understanding. It features contributions from active international researchers and aims to advance collaboration in exploring life’s origins and existence in the universe.
The following are some of the top databases for Astrobiology research. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z.
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowCritically reviews the most significant research literature in over 40 focused disciplines within the fields of biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. These reviews both summarize recent scholarly advances and prompt new research activity. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
-
BIOSIS Previews (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide biological and medical literature. Includes Biological Abstracts. Dates of coverage: 1969 to present.
-
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Access to over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000 academic ebooks published by Cambridge University Press in a wide variety of disciplines.
-
Inspec This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science. Dates of coverage: 1969 to present.
-
PhilSci-Archive This link opens in a new windowAn electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. The goal of the archive is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
-
Astrobiology (journal)The most-cited peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the understanding of life's origin, evolution, and distribution in the universe, with a focus on new findings and discoveries from interplanetary exploration and laboratory research.
-
Frontiers in Astronomy and Space SciencesAdvancing our understanding of the universe, covering topics from planetary science to cosmology.
-
NASA Astrobiology PublicationsAstrobiology research at NASA encompasses the study of the origins and evolution of life on Earth, and the search for life in our Solar System and beyond.