Databases A-Z
Databases A-Z provides current, proxied links to subject databases, and is the best way to access these platforms, whether you're on or off campus.
To find the best databases for your research, filter results in Databases A-Z by Subjects covered, or by Types of resources.
Find Databases A-Z on our website under:
Research Tools > Search Tools > Databases A-Z
Databases: Health and medicine
Explore subscription and open-source health and medicine subject databases in Databases A-Z.
Highlighted databases: Health and medicine
-
MEDLINE (EBSCO version) This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals. Includes full text of nearly 1500 titles.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPublic access to MEDLINE, the most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, nucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.
Databases: Multidisciplinary
Larger vendors will often offer a search platform where you can elect to search across all that vendor's databases, or designate only a subset of databases.
Databases by vendor
Highlighted databases: Multidisciplinary
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
-
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Includes both scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer publications. Covers many disciplines, such as art, architecture and design; classics, archaeology, and anthropology; literature, theatre, and film; philosophy and religion; music; and history.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases.
Search tips and tricks
Effective searching in databases may involve:
- Boolean operators, enclosure, and wild cards
- Proximity searching
- Exact phrase matching and parenthetical enclosure
- Filters and facets
To learn about all of these and more, look for "search tips" or "search help" for a given platform or database.