Where to Find Scholarly Articles
Databases for Politics Research
The following databases may be particularly useful for your research in Politics, and in this course. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z. Try limiting by Types for Scholarly & Peer Review, and by Subject for Politics – American or Politics – World.
To find scholarly articles in databases, look for filters that allow you to limit results to scholarly & peer-reviewed articles.
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowCritically reviews the most significant research literature in over 40 focused disciplines within the fields of biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. These reviews both summarize recent scholarly advances and prompt new research activity. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
-
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs. Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports. Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date
-
Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowIn the Web of Science Core Collection search function, limit your search to Editions > Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI). Indexing and abstracts of millions of peer-reviewed articles in social science disciplines. Also includes book chapters, conference papers and other formats. Cited and citing reference searching.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy. Dates of Coverage: 1975--
Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases are useful for research in a wide range of disciplines, and across disciplines. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z. Try limiting by Types for Scholarly & Peer Review.
To find scholarly articles in databases, look for filters that allow you to limit results to scholarly & peer-reviewed articles.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
Use Search.Libraries to find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more—all from a single integrated starting point.
To find scholarly articles in Search.Libraries, you can:
- Apply the Articles pre-filter before searching
- Filter results by Resource Type > Articles
- Filter results by Availability > Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Journals
Where to Find Articles from Popular Sources
Search.Libraries
To find news and newspaper articles in Search.Libraries, use the Newspaper Search function, or filter results by Resource Type > Newspaper Articles.
To find magazine articles in Search.Libraries, filter results by Resource Type > Magazine Article.
-
Search.Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more from a single integrated starting point.
Databases
The following databases may be useful for finding news, newspaper, and magazine articles related to your research. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z.
Try limiting results in Databases A-Z by Type > News & Newspapers.
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
-
World News Connection (1995 - 2013) This link opens in a new windowTranslations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
NYT, WSJ, and Newspaper Access at Oberlin
For information on access to local, state, and national newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, refer to the following research guides:
Search.Libraries
To find historical news, newspaper, and magazine articles in Search.Libraries, use the Newspaper Search function, or filter results by Resource Type > Newspaper Articles or Resource Type > Magazine Articles. Then, use the Creation Date filter to narrow to your results.
-
Search.Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more from a single integrated starting point.
Databases
The following databases may be useful for finding historical news, newspaper, and magazine articles related to your research. For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z.
Try limiting results in Databases A-Z by Type > News & Newspapers and Type > Primary sources.
-
American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new windowScanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.
-
AP Archive This link opens in a new windowThe film and video archive of the Associated Press is freely available on YouTube. The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment stories dating back to 1895.
-
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. Dates of coverage: 1836-1963
-
The Economist Historical Archive (LEECA Access) This link opens in a new window
Research global political and economic news and analysis with the source used by top leaders and thinkers. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
-
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowTranscripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
-
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowTranslated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
-
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press This link opens in a new window
Alternative press & magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers; includes feminist publications, small literary magazines, LGBT periodicals, GI press, and campus underground sources. Part of Reveal Digital. Dates of coverage: 1960s through 1980s
-
Leftists Newspapers and Periodicals (1845 - 2015) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages. Coverage: 1845 - 2015.
-
New York Times (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
