Background & Context Sources
- Animal Diversity WebAnimal natural history, distribution, classification and conservation biology database, from Univ Michigan Museum of Zoology.
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryImproves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
- Birds of North AmericaThe most comprehensive reference for the life histories of over 760 bird species that breed in the United States and Canada. Species accounts are written by ornithologists and other experts and are an essential reference for anyone with an advanced interest in birds.
- Darwin Correspondence ProjectRead and search the full texts of more than 15,000 of Charles Darwin’s letters. Discover complete transcripts of all known letters Darwin wrote and received.
- Darwin OnlineThe Complete Works of Charles Darwin Online. John van Wyhe, ed. 2002-
- Dolphin Embryo Microscope SlidesScanned images of histological sections, with many sections per single embryo.
- Encyclopedia of LifeScientifically accurate information on living organisms, drawing on multiple sources for taxonomic and systematic data.
- Global Soil Biodiversity InitiativeSeeking to promote expert knowledge on soil biodiversity in environmental policy and sustainable land management to protect and enhance ecosystem services, with contributions from over 100 scientists worldwide.
- Great Lakes Information NetworkA multimedia digital collection with information about the Great Lakes through St. Lawrence region of North America.
- Kew Tree of Life ExplorerKew, the Royal Botanic Gardens, is building a comprehensive evolutionary tree of life for flowering plants and sharing results and data.
- Mammal Species of the WorldSmithsonian National Museum of Natural History hosts this database of mammalian taxonomy. Verify recognized scientific names and conduct taxonomic research.
- NCBI Taxonomy BrowserA curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases.
- Plants of the World Online"An international collaborative programme that has as a primary aim to make available digitized data of the world’s flora gathered from the past 250 years of botanical exploration and research."
- Tree of LifeA collaborative web project that provides information about biodiversity as well as the characteristics and evolutionary history of different groups of organisms.
- Twineline: Ohio Sea Grant MagazineFocus on, but not limited to, Lake Erie. Research articles, education news, outreach opportunities, events.
- USGS EcosystemsEnvironmental information about the U.S.
- World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS)Provides an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including taxa.
Dictionaries, Directories, and Biography
- American Men and Women of ScienceProfiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists.
- ExPASySwiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) Resource Portal. Databases and software tools for proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, population genetics, transcriptomics, etc.
- Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyVery brief definitions. 2nd edition, 2006. Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Reference: Science and TechnologyDictionaries and Encylopedias on Science and Technology from Oxford University Press
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Aquatic EcotoxicologyEcological and toxicological effects of chemical pollutants on populations and ecosystems, and the fate of pollutants in the environment.
note: Oberlin College users only.
Encyclopedia of Ecology by ISBN: 9780444641304Publication Date: 2018-08-23Covers all scales of biological organization, from organisms, to populations, to communities and ecosystems. Laboratory, field, simulation modelling, and theoretical approaches are presented to show how living systems sustain structure and function in space and time.
- Forest Encyclopedia NetworkProvides encyclopedias covering different fields of forest science.
- Grzimek's Animal Life EncyclopediaInformation on 4,000+ species; includes Amphibians, Birds, Fish, Insects, Invertebrates, Mammals and Reptiles; covers evolution, habitat, behavior, and range.
The Senses: a Comprehensive Reference by ISBN: 9780128054093Publication Date: 2020-09-30Second edition. Online comprehensive reference work In 264 chapters from a distinguished team of international experts. The Senses lays out current knowledge on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs; topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods.
- Handbook of the Birds of the World - AliveAll content of the 17-volume print reference work, continuously updated for online access. OC affiliated users only. Print volumes location & call number: Science Library Reference, QL673 .H265 1992.
Handbooks
- FishWatch: U.S. Seafood FactsEasy-to-understand science-based facts to help consumers make smart sustainable seafood choice, from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).
- Ohio Department of Natural Resources Division of WildlifeGuides for Ohio wildlife: mammals, birds, butterflies, dragonflies, stream fishes, amphibians, reptiles, owls, raptors, spiders, waterbirds, warblers and more.
- USDA Natural Resources Conservation ServiceSoil Biology Primer; an introduction to the living component of soil and how it contributes to agricultural productivity and air and water quality.