Pattern books
The Art of Weaving by Call Number: Art Library TT848.R43 2015ISBN: 9780764348563Includes diagrams, drafts, and examples of fine woven fabrics. Chapters include the fundamentals of weaving, as well as equipment, yarns, designing the warp, basic weaves, and pattern weaves. Weave structures include tapestry techniques, knotted, pile, flat-woven rugs, and two- and three-dimensional wall hangings.
A Handweaver's pattern book by Call Number: Art Library TT848 .D3 1944Publication Date: Swarthmore, PA : Marguerite Porter Davison Pub., [1944] Revised edition.Considered "The Bible" of hand weaving. Includes bibliographical references (pages 203-212) and index.
The Handweaver's Pattern Directory by Call Number: Art Library, On OrderISBN: 9781596680401Introduces the tools, equipment, fibers, and yarns used with four-shaft looms, as well as patterns for 600 different weaves, including twill, zigzag, diamond, herringbone, and block. Color photographs and detailed drawings this manual includes weaving basics, specialized projects organized by degree of difficulty, finishing techniques, resources, and a glossary of terms.
The weaver's complete guide, or, The webb analyzed [electronic resource] : to which is annexed the weaver's complete draught-book containing seventy-three different draughts ... with instructions adapted to any capacity by Publication Date: [Burrillville, R.I.? : s.n., 1814]Includes a glossary
Tablet Weaving
The Techniques of Tablet Weaving by Call Number: Art Library TT848.C63 1982ISBN: 0823052559Details the equipment, yarns, warping and threading of weaving tablets. Provides diagrams for a wide variety of techniques.
Introducing Tablet Weaving by Call Number: Art Library, TT848.B48 1974ISBN: 9780273070764Create brightly colored braids and ropes to use as belts, ties, or trimming for clothes and upholstery, or join the narrow bands to make bags and rugs.
Step-by-step tablet weaving by Call Number: Art Library TT848 .S62 1973Publication Date: New York : Golden Press, [1973]Provides detailed instruction of this ancient weaving method which uses tablets or cards instead of a loom to produce a unique fabric of great strength with minimal equipment and expense. Includes step-by-step directions for many project.
National traditions
Lao Textiles and Traditions by Call Number: Art Library, TT848 .C6325 1996ISBN: 9835600015Publication Date: Kuala Lumpur; New York: Oxford University Press, 1996The history and culture of Lao-Tai women and their celebrated textiles, exploring how the creation and use of finely woven cloths is an integral part of their social and spiritual life. Their exquisitely woven textiles use rich natural dyes and are intricately fashioned. Their ability to adapt these ancient traditions to create new textile designs and patterns reveals a deep well of creativity and resilence.
Swedish swatches: yellow series by Call Number: Art Library, TT848 .S35 1962Publication Date: Örebro, Sweden: Malin Selander, 1962The patterns in this book are designed with North American weavers particularly in mind, as a source of inspiration to develop their own ideas and varriations in color, texture, and pattern.
Contains sample swatches with descriptions, threadings, treadlings, and tie-ups.
Nigerian weaving by Call Number: Art Library TT848 .L354 1980ISBN: 0907129005Publication Date: Roxford England: H.A. & V.M. Lamb, 1980"Contains a systematic survey of the major Nigerian weaving traditions on a scale never before attempted. Covering not only the two main categories of weavers, the men who use the narrow horizontal loom and the women who employ a wider vertical fixed-warp loom, there is also some account of three other groups of male weavers ... The work is based on original field work in Nigeria combined with the study of Nigerian cloths today preserved in museum collections outside Nigeria." (dust jacket)
古代手織木綿類聚 [Collection of ancient hand woven cotton textiles]Call Number: Art Limited Access Regular, 746.1 K816 (copy 1 & 2)Publication Date: Kyōto: Nakai Keinosuke, Shōwa 10? [1935]consists of one-hundred and fifty fabric swatches and a twelve page collection of essays.
Realizing that various regions of Japan produced distinctly patterned fabrics, rice merchant Nakai Keinosuke began assembling the volume by collecting fabrics from the various places in Japan he travelled throughout the early Shōwa period. Follow the link above to see our Tumblr post about this title.
