See also the Performance Art Research Guide
- JSTOR images (formerly Artstor)
High quality images of the fine arts (painting, sculpture, printmaking, and drawing), photography, architecture and new media including Film, Audio, Video, Performance Art and Digital Art
See the ArtStor Research Guide for helpful search tips and instructions for creating groups, saving and downloading records.
Finding art film, videos, and performance art
See also the Performance Art Research Guide
- Art21 (Art in the Twenty-First Century)
A PBS television series, began in 2001, that provides ongoing documentation of contemporary artists and their practice. - Fondazione Bonotto
From the early 1970s through 2010 Luigi Bonotto (of Molvena, Italy) was a patron and friend of artists in Fluxus as well as Concrete, Visual, Sound, Performative and Electronic Poetry. His home was a gathering place where works were planned and created, some of which became part of his collection. His art collection of over 15,000 items, often given by the artists themselves, has been completely digitized and made available online. Includes video, sound art, performance scripts and documentation, etc. - Moving Image Archive
A product of the Internet Archive this free, crowd sourced collection contains over 4.1 million titles covering every discipline and genre, including thousands of public domain historical film collections, classic full-length films, daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons and concerts. Many are available for free downloading. Search by creator/artist, film title, creation date, language, or browse by genre. - Screening Room: National Film Board of Canada (NFB)
NFB's award-winning online Screening Room features over 3,000 productions. Films on this site can be streamed free of charge, or downloaded for personal use for a small fee. The collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. They showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more. - Short Films on the BBC Film Network
A revolving list of over 300 short films by British filmmakers. The films may be viewed in their entirety. Each film is tagged and reviewed by visitors to the site. Please not: performance rights for these shorts are almost certainly controlled by each filmmaker.
Surveying the first decade: video art and alternative media in the U.S. by Call Number: Art Library VCR-4056Publication Date: 1995prog. 1-4, vol. 1; prog. 5-8, vol.2
Includes significant artists, showing their videos in their entirety. Use Biographies to identify specific artists.
- UbuWeb
Avant-garde film, video, and dance; sound art, poetry, conceptual art, performance scripts, and more. It is a collection of avant-garde creations and commentary run by volunteers. - UCLA Film & Television Archive
The UCLA Film & Television Archive is the second largest moving image archive in the United States after the Library of Congress, and the world's largest university-based media archive. - Video Data Bank
Use to identify film titles and artists; Browse by artist, title or gallery. Then find the film in OBIS or another source. - YouTube
Search by title, artist or gallery for specific works. Some videos are posted without permission and may disappear without warning.
Photography
See also the Photography Research guide
- Deutsche Fotothek Archiv der Fotografen (Archive of Photographers)
A collection of two million photographs taken in Germany from the mid 19th C. to the present. Includes the holdings of Deutsche Fotothek and 90 other institutions. In addition to photographs the collection also contains reproductions of paintings, graphics, historic maps, and architectural and machine drawings. - L'Agence Photo
Over 500,000 images from public museums and collections in France. - Prints and Photographs Catalog, Library of Congress
1.2 million digitized photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings, representing most of the Divisions collection of 14 million items. Documents the history of the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.