Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grove Art Online
Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) (1975-2007)
Index to 1,200+ North American and European Journals covering Western Art from ca. 300 CE to present.
Getty research portal
A multidisciplinary, multilingual catalog of fundamental texts, rare books, exhibition catalogs, auction catalogs and related documents digitized by libraries and museums worldwide. Texts may be downloaded and are digitized in their entirety.
International Bibliography of Art (2008 to date)
Indexes 500 journals covering European art since antiquity, American art sincle the colonial period, and Global art since 1945. Preceded by the Bibliography of the History of Art.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes academic journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) primarily in Europe. Dates of Coverage: 1859 to date
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
Kubikat is the collective catalogue of four of the leading German scholarly art history research institutes located in Florence, Munich, Rome and Paris. Kubikat includes both article and book citations.
Librarian / Research Help
Contact:Barb Prior (she/her)
Clarence Ward Art Library
Top Floor, Venturi Art Building
- HOW DO I ….?
Watch these videos for advice & support on using library resources and doing research. Visit us at https://libraries.oberlin.edu/ to chat with us in real-time, schedule a research appointment, or send us an email message.