Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Also of interest
Iconography of the Counter Reformation in the Netherlands: Heaven on Earth by
Call Number: Art Reference N7953.A1K71 1974 vol.1-2
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by
Call Number: Art Library Reference, N7560.H34 2008
Themes common in western art in the Renaissance period and later; particularly useful for classical and Christian themes. Includes persons and personifications; objects and attributes; and well known narratives (e.g., The Raising of Lazarus).
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s by
Call Number: Art Reference NX650. M9R45 1993 vol. 1-2
Publication Date: 1993
Identifies Greek and Roman mythological figures in 30,000+ western European and north American visual and performing arts from 1300-1900
Index of Medieval Art
The largest thematic archive of medieval iconography available, the Index reproduces works of art, arranged by subject, from the 1st c. through around 1550 CE. Formerly the Index of Christian Art the Index now includes secular subjects and a growing number from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.
Lexikon der Christlichen Ikonographie by
Call Number: Art Reference BV150.L4 Bd 1-8
Covers a broad range of Christian symbols and themes: General Iconography ("Allgemeine Ikonographie") and Iconography of the Saints ("Ikonographie der Heiligen"). The index ("Stichwortverzeichnisse") at the end of volume 4 provides German equivalents for English terms.
Iconographie de l'art chrétien by
Call Number: Art Reference N7830. R37 vol.1, vol. 2 pt.1-2, vol. 3 pt.1-3
Use to trace the development of themes, motifs, biblical stories and characters mostly from Medieval - Baroque artwork in the west. In French.
Iconography of Christian Art by
Call Number: Art Library Reference, N7830.S3513, vol.1-2 & N 7830 .S35, vol. 3-5
A comprehensive 5 volume study of Christian iconography citing typical depictions of events or concepts including their origin, development, and connection with biblical texts as well as dogma, the liturgy, devotional writing and religious trends. Symbols are also interpreted. Vol. 1: Christ's Incarnation. Childhood. Baptism. Temptation. Transfiguration. Works and miracles. Vol. 2: Passion of Jesus Christ Bd. 3. Die Auferstehung und Erhohung Christi (The Resurrection and Raising of Christ). Bd. 4, 1. Die Kirche (The Church). Bd. 4, 2. Maria (Mary). Bd. 5. Die Apokalypse des Johannes (The Book of Revelation).
The Bible and the Saints by
Call Number: Art Library BS513.2D8313 1994
Lists 500+ Christian saints, biblical characters, and scenes, with attributes; symbolism of plants, religious objects, personifications, numbers, and animals (real & imaginary).
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints by
Call Number: Art Library BR1710.F34 1982
Short detailed entries on primarily British saints. Search for attributes with the word "emblem". Available in print and online (see link).
Post-Biblical Saints Art Index by
Call Number: Art Reference N8079.5.R63 1994
Identifies images (in books) of the many saints not mentioned in the Bible. Includes attributes of the saints.
Who's Who in the New Testament by
Call Number: Art Reference BS2430.B67 1993
Offers accessible and in-depth coverage of every character mentioned in the New Testament.
Who's Who in the Old Testament: Together with the Apocrypha by
Call Number: Art Reference BS570.C64 1993
Provides an in-depth look at every character ever to appear in the pages of the world's oldest book.