When researching an art object always start with the owning museum. Museums research works in their permanent collection and present their findings in exhibition labels, exhibition catalogs, collection catalogs, journal articles as well as social media and brochures.
Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
From 1944 through 2003 the museum published the Bulletin of the Allen Memorial Art Museum; check the bulletin for information about works added to the collection during those years.
Finding articles in the Bulletin:
1. Search the full-text of the digitized Bulletin.
Warning: Relevant essays may be missed due to low quality scans; for best results use single words.
The Bulletin is also available in print. Shelved in Art Library Periodicals under "Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin"
2. Use an index:
- Print indexes of the Bulletin are shelved with the physical volumes.
Index #1: Vols. 1-10, 1944-53; Index #2: Vols, 11-20, 1953-63; Index #3: Vols. 21-30, 1964-73. - Art Full text and Art Index Retrospective index articles in the Bulletin as well as other art journals; search for "allen museum" in SO Journal Name. Neither database searches the full-text of the Bulletin.
- Art Full Text (1984 to date) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-historic to contemporary art. Some full text from 1995-date. For earlier dates search its companion database the Art Index Retrospective. Searching both databases simultaneously for publications dated 1929 to the present. Both databases index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
- Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-history to contemporary art. Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
AMAM Curatorial files
The Curatorial files are used when there is little written about an art object and after consultation with the art librarian. Contact the Curator of Academic Programs at 440-775-8645. Appointments must be made at least 3 business days in advance and are limited to one hour.
Find AMAM exhibition catalogs in OBIS
Search the phrase "allen memorial art museum" in Keyword to list the 100+ AMAM publications in OBIS. You can browse the titles or select Modify/Limit Search at the top of the screen.
On the Modify/Limit Search screen enter the name of your artist.Single word searches for well-known artists (like Picasso) work best.
