Inscriptions: Context & Style
-
Islamic Calligraphy
by
Call Number: Art Library NK 3636.5 .B58 2006ISBN: 0748612122Publication Date: 2006 -
Islamic Inscriptions
by
Call Number: Art Library CN 1153 .B55 1998ISBN: 0814713289Publication Date: 1998-07-01Details the development, content and style of the primary types of inscription as well as how to locate, identify, interpret, research, and record them.
-
The Spirit of Islam: Experiencing Islam through Calligraphy
An exhibition at the Museum of Anthropology at UBC, Vancouver.
Qur'an
-
Quran.comOne of the most user-friendly of the several Qur'an databases available:
Arabic text in parallel with English; Choice of up to six English translations; Text searchable in Arabic or English
NOTE: In order to search the Arabic text, you'll need to enter the search phrase in Arabic; one can key in the Arabic text using an online Arabic keyboard, such as Lexilogos arabe, and copy-and-paste the text into the Quran.com search box.
-
The Qur'an: A New Annotated Translation
by
Call Number: Main Library BP 109 .D76 2013ISBN: 9781845539443Publication Date: 2013This new edition of the Qur'an is specifically designed to meet the needs of students.
Primary sources
-
Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library
Full text of scholarly publications from the Middle East in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts; more than half are in English. Also includes abstracts from Brill's Encyclopedia of Islam, photographs, maps, etc.
-
The Epic of the Kings
by
ISBN: 9780415608527A prose translation of selections from the original poem, including the stories of Rustum, the giant hero and his son Sohrab.
-
King Crane Commission
During the summer of 1919, a delegation under the leadership of Oberlin College President Henry Churchill King and Chicago businessman Charles R. Crane travelled to areas of the former Ottoman territories. Their mission was to determine the wishes of the people of the region as their future was being determined by the major powers at the Paris Peace Conference. The King-Crane Commission, as it became known, met delegations and invited written petitions from various religious and political groups. This digital collection unifies the archival records of Commission members for the first time. It also includes resources on conducting research in the collection. -
Qatar Digital Library (QDL)
A vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs in both English and Arabic.