Databases
- Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of diverse source material pertaining to the histories of Indigenous peoples and their intersections with European peoples in North America. Sources include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
- American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new windowScanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.
- Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. Dates of coverage: 1836-1922
- European Views of the Americas (1493-1750) This link opens in a new windowBased on the bibliography “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750” from the John Carter Brown Library.
- Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press This link opens in a new windowAlternative press & magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers; includes feminist publications, small literary magazines, LGBT periodicals, GI press, and campus underground sources. Dates of coverage: 1960s through 1980s
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Scans of over 200,000 volumes published in English (mainly in the UK) in the 18th century, based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Dates of Coverage: 1701 to 1800. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Collections include: British politics and society; European literature 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and cultural exchange; British theatre, music, and literature: high and popular culture. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
- Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowGateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, the content is organized into more than 100 thematic collections.
- National Museum of the American IndianLinks to the museum’s extensive digital collections which include objects, writings, and photographs.
- American Indian Oral History: Doris Duke CollectionTranscripts of hundreds of interviews of Indians conducted 1967-1972, held at the University of Oklahoma.
- Edward Curtis CollectionExtensive collection of early 20th Century photographs of American Indians by renown photographer and ethnographer Edward Curtis, held at the Library of Congress.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Full text searchable articles representing most US states. Includes searchable page scans of the originals. Part of Gale Primary Sources. Dates of Coverage: 1800-1899
- JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
Over 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.
- America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
Primary source matierial of all types documenting American history from 1801-1819.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowFull text access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Dates of coverage: 1802-2000
- ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new windowInformation about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.