Search.Libraries
Visit Search.Libraries to find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more—all from a single integrated starting point.
Primary Sources
The following are our top databases for finding primary sources related to Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z; you can filter the list by subject for Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies and by types for Primary sources.
-
AM-Explorer This link opens in a new window
Access millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
-
Archives of sexuality & gender (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups the documents present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, personal correspondence, and other documents. Dates of coverage: 1940-. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.
Background Sources: GSFS and…
-
The Cambridge Handbook for the Anthropology of Gender and Sexuality
by
ISBN: 9781108427449Publication Date: 2023-10-19Coverage of "the anthropology of gender and sexuality", also treating "its historical emergence", and the "impact gender and sexuality studies have had on anthropological theory". Contributors are "intersectional, black, and indigenous authors", both "established and emerging voices". Organized "into five parts, with each chapter introducing a contemporary anthropological theory through in-depth ethnographical discussion". Audience is "researchers and students in anthropology". -
Unsettling Queer Anthropology
by
ISBN: 9781478059400Publication Date: 2024-04-12"This field-defining volume of queer anthropology foregrounds both the brilliance of anthropological approaches to queer and trans life and the ways queer critique can reorient and transform anthropology. Consisting of fourteen original essays by both distinguished and new voices, Unsettling Queer Anthropology advances a vision of queer anthropology grounded in decolonial, abolitionist, Black feminist, transnational, postcolonial, Indigenous, and queer of color approaches. Critically assessing both anthropology's queer innovations and its colonialist legacies, contributors highlight decades of work in queer anthropology; challenge the boundaries of anthropology's traditional methodologies, forms, and objects of study; and forge a critical, queer of color, decolonizing queer anthropology that unsettles anthropology's normative epistemologies. At a moment of revitalized calls to reckon with the white supremacist and settler colonial logics that continue to shape anthropology, this volume advances an anthropology accountable to the vitality of queer and trans life."
-
The Palgrave Handbook of Gender and Citizenship
by
ISBN: 9783031571435Publication Date: 2024-06-01Coverage of "key theoretical, analytical and normative approaches, topics and debates in contemporary scholarship about gender and citizenship". Contributors are "scholars across gender studies, political science, law, sociology, philosophy and cultural studies". Organized into five parts, chapter topics include "relations between gender, sexuality, populism and nationalism; transnational feminism during times of #MeToo and Black Lives Matter; the increasing political and popular support of LGBTQ+ claims as human rights issues; trans/gender citizenship; gendered indigenous citizenship; and the intersections of gender, religion and citizenship". Indicates "future directions for research guided by the main debates about intersectional and transnational approaches in the field". Audience is "scholars, researchers, and policymakers around the globe in Gender Studies, Citizenship Studies, Sociology, Law, Political Science, and Cultural Studies". -
The Palgrave Handbook of Gender and Migration
by
ISBN: 9783030633462Publication Date: 2021-02-17Coverage takes "a distinctively global and intersectional approach to gender and migration, as social class, race and ethnicity shape the process of migration in its multiple dimensions". Contributors are "[s]cholars from North and South America, Europe, Asia, and Oceania". Topics include "feminist migration research, care, family, emotional labour, brain drain and gender, parenting, gendered geographies of power, modern slavery, women and refugee law, masculinities". Audience is "students and scholars across a range of disciplines, including Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology, Sexuality Studies, Migration Studies, Politics, Social Policy, Public Policy, [and] Area Studies".
-
The Palgrave Handbook of Gender, Media and Communication in the Middle East and North Africa
by
ISBN: 9783031119798Publication Date: 2023-04-29Coverage of "the critical debates, research methods and ongoing reflections on how gender and communication intersect with the economic, social, political, and cultural fabrics of the countries in the MENA region". Contributors are "both established and rising scholars of gender, media, and digital technologies". Organized in thirty chapters across "six sections: Gender, Identities and Sexualities; The Gender of Politics; Gender and Activism; Gender-Based Violence; Gender and Entrepreneurship; and Gender in Expressive Cultures". -
The Handbook of Gender, Communication, and Human Rights
by
ISBN: 9781119800729Publication Date: 2023-10-16Coverage of "contemporary debates on women's rights, democracy, and neoliberalism through the lens of feminist communication scholarship". Contributors are "[a]n international panel of feminist academics and activists". Organized into four parts: "governance and policy, systems and institutions, advocacy and activism, and content, rights, and freedoms". Audience is "advanced undergraduate and graduate students in media studies, communication studies, cultural studies, journalism, feminist studies, gender studies, global studies, and human rights programs", and "academics, researchers, policymakers, and civil society and human rights activists". -
The Routledge Handbook of Gender and Communication
by
ISBN: 0367622491Publication Date: 2022-05-30Coverage of "current research on the complex relationships between gender and communication". Contributors are "a team of international contributors", both "leading and upcoming scholars". Organized into 39 chapters across six sections: "Gendered lives and identities"; "Visualizing gender"; "The politics of gender"; "Gendered contexts and strategies"; " Gendered violence and communication"; and, "Gender advocacy in action". Topics include "the ethics and politics of gender as identity, impacts of media and technology, legal and legislative battlegrounds for gender inequality and LGBTQ+ human rights, changing institutional contexts, and recent research on gender violence and communication". Final section "links academic research on gender and communication to activism and advocacy beyond the academy". Audience is "students and researchers working at the intersections of gender studies and communication studies".
-
The Routledge Handbook of Feminist Economics
by
ISBN: 0429020619Publication Date: 2021-05-23Coverage of "the contributions of feminist economics to the discipline of economics and beyond". Contributors are "a diverse mix of established and rising scholars of feminist economics from around the globe". Organized such that "[e]ach chapter situates the topic within the history of the field, reflects upon current debates, and looks forward to identify cutting-edge research". Audience is "researchers and instructors of feminist economics and cognate areas". -
Routledge Handbook of the History of Women's Economic Thought
by
ISBN: 9781317528364Publication Date: 2018-10-03Coverage of "women's contributions in the history of economic thought, focusing primarily on the period from the 1770s into the beginning of the 21st century", with a scope that "is international, moving beyond Europe and the US into the Arab world, China, India, Japan, Latin America, Russia and the Soviet Union, and sub-Saharan Africa". "Chapters address the institutional, sociological and historical factors that have influenced women economists' thinking, and explore women's contributions to economic analysis, method, policies and debates". Audience extends "beyond [the history of economic thought], into women's studies, sociology, and history".
-
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Sexuality Education
by
ISBN: 9783031566806Publication Date: 2024-11-30"This Encyclopedia provides a comprehensive map of the field of sexuality education. It offers an entry point for those interested in this topic, providing a robust summary of issues and directing them to its best scholarship. Comprehensive in scope, it covers diverse global locations to highlight the significance of context when defining sexuality education. The rapid development and increase in accessibility of digital technologies, which has broadened sexuality education to include digital and media platforms, is also reflected." -
Queer Studies and Education
by
ISBN: 9780197687000Publication Date: 2023-09-26"Queer Studies and Education' explores how the category queer, as a critical stance or set of perspectives, contributes to opportunities individually and collectively for advancing (queer) social justice. Our collection takes up this general goal by presenting a cross-section of international perspectives on queer studies in education to demonstrate commonalities, differences, uncertainties, or pluralities across a range of national contexts and topics, drawing a heightened awareness of heterodominance and heteropatriarchy, and to conceptualize non-normative and non-essentialist imaginings for more inclusive educational environments." -
The Wiley Handbook of Gender Equity in Higher Education
by
ISBN: 9781119257592Publication Date: 2020-11-05Coverage of "the current intersection of gender and higher education", with scope that encompasses "gender and higher education across the globe". Contributors are "leading researchers". Topics include: "gender equity in relation to the STEM fields"; "current male participation in higher education"; "gender segregation by major and the issue of women remaining in lower-paying areas"; and, "future paths of exploration, inquiry, and action for gender equity". Audience is "[p]olicy makers, university administrators, and researchers" seeking "perspective on recent research […] in the pursuit of more equitable educational environments".
-
Feminist Manifestos
by
ISBN: 9781479871803Publication Date: 2018-04-03Collects exclusively "collectively authored texts", comprising "150 documents from feminist organizations and gatherings in over 50 countries over the course of three centuries". Editor provides "an introduction to each individual document", which "contextualizes and enhances our understanding". Coverage of "political participation, education, religion and work", "reproduction, violence, racism, and environmentalism". Contributors are "women from every ethnic group, religion, and region in the world". -
The Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Feminism
by
ISBN: 9781317542636Publication Date: 2019-05-16Coverage of "feminism as a method, a movement, a critique, and an identity", addressing "a broad set of issues and points of view to consider what feminism is today and what current forces shape its future development". Contributors are "interdisciplinary", and include "major feminist thinkers". Structured in "a set of questions over definition, everyday life, critical intervention, and political activism", and including "an extended conversation […] about the future of feminist scholarship and activism". Topics include "activism from post-Soviet collectives to the Arab spring, to the #MeToo movement, sexual harassment, feminist art, film and digital culture, education, technology, policy, sexual practices and gender identity". Audience is "scholars, [and] undergraduate and postgraduate students in women, gender, and sexuality".
-
The Palgrave Handbook of Queer and Trans Feminisms in Contemporary Performance
by
ISBN: 9783030695545Publication Date: 2021-09-22Coverage of "key developments in queer and trans feminist theories and their significance to the field of contemporary performance studies", considering "the ways in which rigid or punishing notions of gender, sexuality and race continue to flourish in systems of knowledge, faith and power which are relevant to a new generation of queer and trans feminist performers today". Structured around the question "How do queer and trans feminist theories enhance our understanding of developments in feminist performance today, and will this discussion give rise to new ways of theorizing contemporary performance?". Contributors include "a new generation of performers and theorists, as well as senior scholars". Audience is "students of theatre/performance studies as well as queer/gender studies". -
The Routledge Handbook of Women's Work in Music
by
ISBN: 9780429201080Publication Date: 2021-12-30Coverage of "an extraordinarily wide range of topics on women's contributions to Western and Eastern art music, popular music, world music, music education, ethnomusicology as well as in the music industries". Organized in "six parts": "an introduction to the rich variety of subject matter"; the "research which highlights the work of historical and/or neglected composers"; "feminist aesthetics and music creation"; "the performance and reception of music and musicians"; "opportunities and leadership in the music professions from a Western perspective"; and, "new frames of context for women's positions as workers, educators, patronesses, activists and promoters of music".
Contributors are "academics and music practitioners from around the world". Audience is "advanced undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers in music and gender". -
The Palgrave Handbook of the History of Women on Stage
by
ISBN: 9783030238278Publication Date: 2020-04-30Coverage of "the courage, determination and achievements of women on stage across the ages and around the globe", with a scope that "stretches from ancient Greece to present-day Australasia via the United States, Soviet Russia, Europe, India, South Africa and Japan". Contributors are "nearly 40 academics and theatre practitioners". Chapters are "organised chronologically" and "provide in-depth consideration of specific moments in time and geography", so that "the volume as a whole and its juxtapositions stimulate consideration of the bigger picture".
-
The Routledge Handbook of Language, Gender, and Sexuality
by
ISBN: 1138200263Publication Date: 2021-04-27Coverage of "cutting-edge debates" in language, gender, and sexuality. Contributors are "international authorities" in the field. Organized in 40 chapters across eight parts, with each chapter providing "a concise and critical discussion of a methodological approach, an empirical study to model the approach, a discussion of real-world applications, and further reading", and each part contextualized with a "chapter by leading scholars in that area". Audience is "all engaged in the study and research of language, gender, and sexuality within English language, sociolinguistics, discourse studies, applied linguistics, and gender studies", and "particularly the novice reader". -
The Palgrave Handbook of Feminist, Queer and Trans* Narrative Studies
by
ISBN: 3031758633Publication Date: 2025-07-10Coverage of "the intersection between narrative theory and feminist, queer and trans* theory", which "foregrounds connections between new views on gender and recent developments in narratology". Contributors are "eminent and emerging scholars from a range of disciplines". Organized into multiple sections: the first "outlines key concepts for the study of narrative and gender", and features theoretical consideration of "what it means for the study of narrative to go beyond gender binaries"; middle sections treat "influential fields of narratology and literary theory: cognitive and eco-narratology, postcolonial studies" and central concepts "to both narrative and gender studies, such as affect and performativity"; the last section "explores the meaning of gender in various genres and media formats, from science fiction and trans* autobiographies to film, TV and social media". -
The Routledge Handbook of Translation, Feminism and Gender
by
ISBN: 9781138066946Publication Date: 2020-07-13Coverage of "feminism and gender-awareness in translation and translation studies today", with "a transnational approach". Contributors "from more than twenty different countries—from Russia to Chile, Yemen, Turkey, China, India, Egypt and the Maghreb as well as the UK, Canada, the USA and Europe". Organized into forty-one chapters, with "overviews of key questions and case studies of work currently in progress". Audience is "students and researchers of translation, feminism, and gender".
-
Routledge Handbook of Queer Development Studies
by
ISBN: 1315529513Publication Date: 2018-01-29Coverage of "questions of sexuality, gender identity, and expression […] within the field of development studies", with "research from around the world". Key topics include: "Queering policy and planning in development"; "Queer development critique and queer critiques of development"; "Global LGBTIQ rights"; and, "Queer social movements and mobilizations". Audience is "scholars, upper level students, practitioners and anyone with an interest in global sexualities, gender identities, and expressions". -
The Wiley Handbook on What Works with Girls and Women in Conflict with the Law
by
ISBN: 9781119874898Publication Date: 2022-03-18Coverage of "the rehabilitation of girls and women in conflict with the law in the correctional arena" and "evidence-based practice in the field of gender-responsive corrections". Contributors are "distinguished authors" who "[adopt] an international and intersectional approach". Topics include: "theories of female involvement in crime, security classification and risk assessment, evidence-based treatment and supervision approaches, special populations (such as Indigenous women)", and "legal/policy developments in the field of gender-responsive corrections". Audience is "students and practitioners in the field of psychology, criminology, social work, criminal justice, and corrections".
-
Sex and Gender Effects in Pharmacology
by
ISBN: 9783031426476Publication Date: 2023-10-13"This book presents a comprehensive and up-to-date overview on how sex-specific information is guiding the diagnosis and treatment of diseases. Experts in various fields discuss both preclinical and clinical research that is contributing to a better understanding of the impact of sex in the presentation, etiology, treatment, and disease outcomes. Also discussed are the challenges encountered in implementing this growing body of knowledge into practice, as well as possible avenues to recognize and reduce sex-based health disparities so that therapeutic interventions are tailored and improved." -
Handbook on Sex, Gender and Health
by
ISBN: 9789819720972Publication Date: 2025-01-28Coverage of "gender issues in health in five countries of the South Asian Region, namely: Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka", through "a social determinant of health perspective and an intersectionality and diversity lens". Subjects include "studies on under-researched and often invisible marginalized populations, such as LGBTQI populations, urban poor, persons living with disability, migrant and conflict-affected populations", and "examples of gender-transformative policies, programmes and social movement action". Audience is "researchers, policy-makers, students in public health and community-based organizations involvedin research, policies, or programs related to sex work, public health, social justice and gender-based violence". -
Routledge International Handbook of Women's Sexual and Reproductive Health
by
ISBN: 1351035622Publication Date: 2019-09-23Coverage of "developments in the domains of women's sexual and reproductive health", which "adopts a life-cycle approach to examine key milestones and events in women's sexual and reproductive health". Contributors are "leading academics and clinicians in the field" with "international expertise" and "from a range of disciplines, including psychology, medicine, nursing and midwifery, sociology, public health, women's studies, and indigenous studies". Audience is "scholars and students interested in women's reproductive health".
-
The Routledge Handbook of Gender and EU Politics
by
ISBN: 0367706113Publication Date: 2023-05-31Coverage of "the expanding field of gender and EU Politics". Audience is "students, scholars and researchers in EU studies/politics, gender studies/politics, political theory, comparative politics, international relations, political and gender sociology, political economy, European and legal studies/law". Contributors are "[d]istinguished" scholars "from the US, the UK and continental Europe, and from across disciplines from political science, sociology, economics and law". -
Routledge Handbook of Feminist Peace Research
by
ISBN: 9780367109844Publication Date: 2021Coverage of "feminist approaches to questions of violence, justice, and peace". Contributors bring "interdisciplinary perspectives", "multiple feminisms, diverse policy concerns, and […] diverse theoretical and methodological" approaches. Oragnized around five themes: "Methodologies and genealogies", "Politics, power, and violence"; "Institutional and societal interventions to promote peace"; "Bodies, sexualities, and health"; and, "Global inequalities". Audience is "students of peace and conflict studies, security studies, feminist studies, gender studies, international relations, and politics". -
The Palgrave Handbook of Women's Political Rights
by
ISBN: 9781137590732Publication Date: 2018-11-12Coverage of "women's political rights across all major regions of the world, focusing both on women's right to vote and women's right to run for political office", and combines " historical overviews of debates about enfranchising women alongside analyses of more contemporary efforts to increase women's political representation around the globe". Audience is "students and scholars across the fields of gender and politics, women's studies, history and sociology".
-
The Cambridge Handbook of the International Psychology of Women
by
ISBN: 9781108473033Publication Date: 2020-08-06"This handbook provides a comprehensive and up-to-date resource to understand the intersectionality of gender differences [in the field of psychology], to dispel myths, and to examine gender-relevant as well as culturally relevant implications and appropriate interventions. Featuring a truly international mix of contributors, and incorporating cross-cultural research and comparative perspectives, this handbook will inform mainstream psychology of the international literature on the psychology of women and gender." -
The Palgrave Handbook of Power, Gender, and Psychology
by
ISBN: 9783031415302Publication Date: 2023-12-29"The Palgrave Handbook of Power, Gender, and Psychology takes an intersectional feminist approach to the exploration of psychology and gender through a lens of power. The invisibility of power in psychological research and theorizing has been critiqued by scholars from many perspectives both within and outside the discipline. This volume addresses that gap. The handbook centers power in the analysis of gender, but does so specifically in relation to psychological theory, research, and praxis. Gathering the work of sixty authors from different geographies, career stages, psychological sub-disciplines, methodologies, and experiences, the handbook showcases creativity in approach, and diversity of perspective. The result is a work featuring a chorus of different voices, including diverse understandings of feminisms and power. Ultimately, the handbook presents a case for the importance of intersectionality and power for any feminist psychological endeavor."
-
The Palgrave Handbook of African Women's Studies
by
ISBN: 9783030280987Publication Date: 2021-10-29Coverage of "issues concerning African women everywhere" including "the gendered roles and positions of African women and the structures, institutions, and processes of policy, politics, and knowledge production that continually construct, deconstruct, and reconstruct African women and the study of them". Contributors take "a variety of theoretical, methodological, and transdisciplinary approaches", and the work includes "the voices of African women themselves as writers of their own stories". -
Routledge Handbook of East Asian Gender Studies
by
ISBN: 1317337344Publication Date: 2019-11-26"The Routledge Handbook of East Asian Gender Studies presents up-to-date theoretical and conceptual developments in key areas of the field, taking a multi-disciplinary and comparative approach. Featuring contributions by leading scholars of Gender Studies to provide a cutting-edge overview of the field, this handbook includes examples from China, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and Hong Kong and covers the following themes: theorising gender relations; women's and feminist movements; work, care and migration; family and intergenerational relationships; cultural representation; masculinity; and state, militarism and gender. This handbook is essential reading for scholars and students of Gender and Women's Studies, as well as East Asian societies, social policy and culture." -
Routledge Handbook of Gender in South Asia
by
ISBN: 0367479656Publication Date: 2021-11-16Coverage of "the study of gender in South Asia", with a focus on "India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka", and including "the central contributions that have defined this area" and "innovative and emerging paradigms that are shaping the future of the field". Contributors provide "a wide range of disciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives spanning both the humanities and social sciences". Organized into five parts: "Historical formations and theoretical framings"; "Law, citizenship and the nation"; "Representations of culture, place, identity"; "Labor and the economy"; and, "Inequality, activism and the state". Indicates "new areas of inquiry that have been opened up through a focus on gender and the intersections between gender and categories, such as caste, ethnicity, sexuality, and religion". Audience is "scholars who research and teach on South Asia as well as for scholars in related interdisciplinary fields that focus on women and gender from comparative and transnational perspectives". -
Routledge Handbook of Queer African Studies
by
ISBN: 9781138503472Publication Date: 2019-12-18"This handbook offers diverse perspectives on queer Africa, incorporating scholarly contributions on themes that reflect and inflect the trajectories of queer contributions to African studies within and outside academia. The Routledge Handbook of Queer African Studies incorporates a range of unique perspectives, reflecting ongoing struggles between regimes of inclusion and those of transformation premised upon different relational and reflexive engagements between queer embodiment and Africa's subjectivities. All sections of this handbook blend contributions from public intellectuals and practitioners with academic reflections on topics not limited to neoliberalism, social care, morality and ethics, social education, and technology, through the lens of queer African studies. The book renders visible the ongoing transformations and resistance within African societies as well as the inventiveness of queer presence in negotiating belonging. This handbook will be of interest to students and scholars of gender and sexuality in Africa, queer studies, and African culture and society." -
The Routledge International Handbook of Gender in Central-Eastern Europe and Eurasia
by
ISBN: 9781138347755Publication Date: 2021-06-01Coverage of "contemporary historical and political approaches to gender in Central-Eastern Europe and Eurasia", and examination of regional "politics, histories, cultures, ethnicities, and religions, and how these structures intersect with gender alongside class, sexuality, coloniality, and racism". Contributors are "leading scholars". Organized into fifty-one chapters across six parts: "Conceptual debates and methodological differences"; "Feminist and women’s movements cooperating and colliding"; "Constructions of gender in different ideologies"; "Lived experiences of individuals in different regimes"; "The ambiguous postcommunist transitions"; and, "Postcommunist policy issues". Topics include "feminisms, ideology, violence, independence, regime transition, and public policy". Audience is "scholars and students across a range of disciplines including Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies and Central-Eastern European and Eurasian Studies".
-
The Routledge Handbook of Islam and Gender
by
ISBN: 0815367775Publication Date: 2020-11-10Coverage of "key topics, problems, and debates" related to Islam and gender. Contributors are "international". Organized in thirty chapters across seven parts: "Foundational texts in historical and contemporary contexts"; "Sex, sexuality, and gender difference"; "Gendered piety and authority"; "Political and religious displacements"; "Negotiating law, ethics, and normativity"; "Vulnerability, care, and violence in Muslim families"; and, "Representation, commodification, and popular culture". Key topics include "feminist and queer approaches to the Qur’an, hadith, Islamic law, and ethics, Sufism, devotional practice, pilgrimage, charity, female religious authority, global politics of feminism, material and consumer culture, masculinity, fertility and the family, sexuality, sexual rights, domestic violence, marriage practices, and gendered representations of Muslims in film and media". Audience is "students and researchers in religious studies, Islamic studies, and gender studies", and "those in related fields, such as cultural studies, area studies, sociology, anthropology, and history". -
The Routledge Handbook of Mormonism and Gender
by
ISBN: 1351181599Publication Date: 2020-04-30Coverage of the Church of Latter Days Saints "engagement with gender", from its founding in 1830 to present, and including the "story of how Mormonism has positioned itself in the context of changing gender norms in a global context. Contributors are "a team of international" scholars. Organized in four parts: "Methodological Issues, Historical Approaches, Social Scientific Approaches, Theological Approaches". Key topics include "agency, feminism, sexuality and sexual ethics, masculinity, queer studies, plural marriage, homosexuality, race, scripture; gender and the priesthood, the family, sexual violence, and identity". Audience is "students and researchers in religious studies, gender studies and women's studies", and "those in related fields, such as cultural studies, politics, anthropology and sociology".
-
The Palgrave Handbook of Women and Science Since 1660
by
ISBN: 9783030789725Publication Date: 2021-12-02Coverage of "core areas of investigation and theory relating to the history of women and science", joining "new research with syntheses of pivotal scholarship," and "[s]panning the period from the birth of modern science in the late seventeenth century to current challenges". Topics include: "scientific networks; institutions and archives; cultures of science; science communication; and access and diversity". Audience is "undergraduates taking courses on the history and philosophy of science and gender history" and "more advanced scholars [undertaking] further historical and theoretical investigation". -
Routledge Handbook of Gender and Agriculture
by
ISBN: 9780429576355Publication Date: 2020-10-28Coverage of "major theoretical issues as well as critical empirical shifts", with "an international focus […] examining issues at both the global and local levels". Contributors include "both leading scholars and up-and-coming academics as well as policymakers and practitioners". The work is "organized into four parts: institutions, markets, and policies; land, labor, and agrarian transformations; knowledge, methods, and access to information; farming people and identities". Audience is "scholars, students, and practitioners interested in gender and agriculture". -
The Routledge Handbook of Feminist Philosophy of Science
by
ISBN: 0367621312Publication Date: 2022-08-01Coverage of "feminist thinking about and in the sciences".
Contributors are "leading international philosophers as well as scholars in gender studies, women's studies, psychology, economics, and political science". Comprises "33 chapters […] organized into four main parts: I. Hidden Figures and Historical Critique II. Theoretical Frameworks III. Key Concepts and Issues IV. Feminist Philosophy of Science in Practice". Audience is "students and other newcomers", and the work provides a "handy reference for many different kinds of researchers".
-
Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures
by
ISBN: 1315183161Publication Date: 2019-06-25"This classic and invaluable reference handbook, written for sex researchers and their students, has now been completely revised in a new, fourth edition. It remains the only easy and efficient way for researchers to learn about, evaluate, and compare instruments that have previously been used in sex research." -
International Handbook on the Demography of Sexuality
by
ISBN: 3031879104Publication Date: 2025-06-19Coverage of "methodological approaches involved in studying population sexuality, as well as […] the ways that sexuality shapes key demographic outcomes". Key topics include "international perspectives on sexual behaviors and identities, and the ways that sexual identities shape families, labor market experiences, and health outcomes". Indicates need for further research around "key demographic questions related to fertility and migration for sexual minorities, as well as about understudied topics of sexuality that fall outside of risk-focused analyses", to an audience of "researchers and policymakers". -
Encyclopedia of Sex and Sexuality
by
ISBN: 9781610698757Publication Date: 2021-03-01"Providing a comprehensive framework for the broad subject of human sexuality, this set offers a context of historical development, scientific discovery, and sociopolitical and sociocultural movements, and overviews major sexuality issues in American and global culture. Themes include sexual health and reproduction, sexual identity and orientation, sexual behaviors and expression, the history of sex and sexology, and sex and society."
-
The Routledge Handbook of Male Sex Work, Culture, and Society
by
ISBN: 0367716038Publication Date: 2021-04-22Coverage of "contemporary issues associated with male sex work", with chapters "[d]rawing from a variety of regions". Topics include "historical, popular cultural, social and economic aspects of sex work, as well as demographic patterns, health outcomes and policy issues". Contributors include both "male sex workers and new and established scholars". Audience is "scholars of criminology, sociology, gender studies, cultural studies" and "those who study masculinities, male sexuality, sexual health and sexual cultures". -
Sex Work in Popular Culture
by
ISBN: 9781487507862Publication Date: 2024-07-25Coverage of "movies, TV shows, and documentaries about sex work produced in the last decade [2014-2024] – a period of debate and change around the meaning of sex work in North American society". The author "draws on labour and feminist theory, film history, current news, and popular culture, all within the context of neoliberal capitalism and the rise of transactional intimate labour". Considers the "professional lives of erotic dancers, massage parlour workers, webcam models, call girls, sex surrogates, and porn performers", "how sex work is being recognized as real work and an issue of human rights", and "how the screen can show us the world’s oldest profession in a new light". -
Voicing Consent
by
ISBN: 9783031777141Publication Date: 2025-02-08"This open access book draws on an international research project, using extensive and multiple methods to explore unwanted sexual contact and violence in sex work populations. A project delivered by a large team of sex workers, peer researchers, and academics, and with practitioner input over a four-year period, the central question they explore is: how do social, legal, and judicial contexts shape the safety and well-being of people engaging in sex work? The book compares survey and interview data conducted in 2023 across four different legal environments: legalisation (Nevada, USA), criminalisation (Northern Ireland), decriminalisation (New Zealand) and partial criminalisation (UK). It explores how the interaction between legal consciousness (how people in sex work interpret law, consent, their rights, and how or whether to report), legal norms (legal theory, case rulings, legal codes) and legal practices (what police, lawyers, and judges actually do) affects unwanted contact against sex workers. This book advances understanding of the various layers regulating sexual autonomy for marginalised peoples — the specific factors that impact the negotiation, experiences, and disposition of crimes of sexual violence in different socio-legal contexts."
-
Routledge Handbook of Gender and Feminist Geographies
by
ISBN: 9781000051858Publication Date: 2020-04-08Coverage of "contemporary gender and feminist geographies in an international and multi-disciplinary context". Contributors are "both experienced and emerging scholars, artists and activists who critically review and appraise current spatial politics". Organized in forty-eight chapters, organized in four parts "which engage with relevant issues including violence, resistance, agency and desire": "Establishing feminist geographies"; "Placing feminist geographies"; "Engaging feminist geographies"; "Doing feminist geographies". Audience is "scholars interested in feminist geography, gender studies and geographical thought". -
Handbook of the Sociology of Gender
by
ISBN: 9783319763323Publication Date: 2018-06-13Coverage of "the field of the sociology of gender", including "the most important theories about gender and methods used to study gender", and "the latest research on gender in […] social life, including gendered bodies, sexuality, carework, paid labor, social movements, incarceration, migration, gendered violence, and others". Contributors are "leading researchers in the sociological study of gender". Organized around "gender structure theory", a framework that "synthesizes the diverse field of gender scholarship", and reveals "the way multiple genderedprocesses are interrelated and mutually constitutive". -
Other, Please Specify: Queer Methods in Sociology
by
ISBN: 9780520289260Publication Date: 2018-07-31"This provocative collection showcases the work of emerging and established sociologists in the fields of sexuality and gender studies as they reflect on what it means to develop, practice, and teach queer methods. Located within the critical conversation about the possibilities and challenges of utilizing insights from humanistic queer epistemologies in social scientific research, Other, Please Specify presents to a new generation of researchers an array of experiences, insights, and approaches, revealing the power of investigations of the social world. With contributions from sociologists who have helped define queer studies and who use a range of interpretative and statistical methods, this volume offers methodological advice and practical strategies in research design and execution, all with the intent of getting queer research off the ground and building a collaborative community within this emerging subfield."
-
Routledge Handbook of the Business of Women's Sport
by
ISBN: 0203702638Publication Date: 2019-05-21Coverage of "current theory and research on the business of women's sport around the world". Contributors are "authors from North America, South America, Europe, Asia, and Oceania" who offer "inernational perspectives". Includes "innovative case studies [which] show how societal issues such as gender, power, and framing impact the business of women's sports and those who work in women's sport", and "profiles of real leaders within different sectors of women's sport in the global sport industry". Audience is "all those who aspire to work in, or understand, women's sport", including the "researcher or advanced student with an interest in women's sport or women in business", and also "researchers and advanced students working in sport business, sport management, mainstream business and management, or women's studies". -
The Palgrave Handbook of Feminism and Sport, Leisure and Physical Education
by
ISBN: 9781137533173Publication Date: 2017-11-23"This handbook provides an original, comprehensive and unparalleled overview of feminist scholarship in sport, leisure and physical education. It captures the complexities of past, current and future developments in feminism while highlighting its theoretical, methodological and empirical applications. It also critically engages with policy and practice issues for women and girls taking part in sport and leisure pursuits and in physical education provision. The Palgrave Handbook of Feminism and Sport, Leisure and Physical Education is international in scope and includes the work of established and emerging feminist scholars. It will be of interest to students and scholars across a range of disciplines, including sociology, gender studies, sport sciences, and sports business and management."
-
The Contemporary Reader of Gender and Fat Studies
by
ISBN: 9780367691660Publication Date: 2023-06-28Coverage of scholarship "at the intersection between Gender and Fat Studies", which "highlight[s] the ways that "gender" and "fat" always exist in connection with multiple other structures, forms of oppression, and identities". Contributors are "diverse and international". Organized in twenty essays. Key themes include: "theorizing gender and fat; narrating gender and fat; historicizing gender and fat; institutions and public policy; health and medicine; popular culture and media; and resistance". Audience is "scholars and advanced students in Gender Studies, Sexuality Studies, Sociology, Body Studies, Cultural Studies, Psychology and Health". -
The Palgrave Handbook of Critical Race and Gender
by
ISBN: 9783030839468Publication Date: 2022-03-08Coverage of "global and local entanglements of race, gender and intersectionality within racial capitalism". Contributors offer "intersectional and decolonial perspectives on race and gender research across North America, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, and South Africa". Key contexts include: "#MeToo, #BlackLivesMatter, the Chilean uprising, Anti-Muslim racism, backlash against trans and queer politics, and global struggles against modern colonial femicide and extractivism". Audience is "students and scholars across the social sciences and humanities". -
The Routledge Handbook of Disability and Sexuality
by
ISBN: 1138593230Publication Date: 2020-12-30Coverage of "disability and sexuality research and scholarship". Contributors are "from a wide range of disciplines and representing a diversity of nationalities". Organized into six parts: "psychological, interpersonal, social, political and cultural barriers to sexual access that disabled people face, and their struggle for sexual rights and participation". Topics include "sexual accommodations and support aimed at facilitating disabled people's sexual well-being; the socio-sexual tensions confronting disabled people with intersecting stigmatised identities such LGBTBI or asexual; and the sexual concerns of disabled people in the Global South". Audience is "students, academics, researchers in the areas of disability, gender and sexuality, as well as applied disciplines such as healthcare practitioners, counsellors, psychology trainees, and social workers".
-
The Palgrave Handbook of Gendered Violence and Technology
by
ISBN: 9783030837334Publication Date: 2021-11-29Coverage of "the concepts and nature of technology-facilitated gendered violence and abuse, as well as legal, community and activist responses to these harms". Chapters examine "the types of gendered violence facilitated by technologies but also responses to these harms from the perspectives of victim advocates, legal analyses, organisational and community responses, as well as activism within civil society". Contributors are "a range of established and globally renowned scholars in the field, as well as survivor-advocate-scholars and emerging scholars". Audience is "academics and students in Criminology, Criminal Justice, Law, Socio-Legal Studies, Politics, as well as Women's and/or Gender Studies". -
The Routledge Handbook of Gender and Violence
by
ISBN: 1317043367Publication Date: 2018-01-02Coverage of "the latest research in the field of gender and violence". Contributors are "leading scholars" from disciplines "spanning criminology, social policy, sociology, geography, health, media and law, alongside activists and members of statutory and third sector organisations". Organized in twenty-three chapters. Key topics include "rape, stalking, online harassment, domestic abuse, FGM [female genital mutilation], trafficking and prostitution in relation to gender and violence", and both "violence against women, but also […] male victims and perpetrators as well as gay, lesbian and transgender violence". Audience is "students, academics, social workers and other professionals working to end gender-based violence". -
Routledge International Handbook of Sexual Homicide Studies
by
ISBN: 1351815210Publication Date: 2018-04-17Coverage of "the theoretical, empirical, clinical, and police issues related to sexual murderers and murder". Contributors are "leading researchers, theoreticians, and practitioners from across eight different countries". Organized in five parts: "Theories and research"; "Sexual sadism"; "Clinical issues"; "Policing issues"; and "New directions". Audience is "students, researchers, and professionals interested in sexual homicide".
Books and Ebooks
Library of Congress Classification (LCC) assigns call numbers beginning with HQ to many gender, sexuality, and feminist studies resources; relevant ranges are outlined below.
- HQ12-449 Sexual life
- HQ503-1064 The family. Marriage. Home
- HQ1075-1075.5 Sex role
- HQ1088-1090.7 Men
- HQ1101-2030.7 Women. Feminism
For more information, see Library of Congress Classification Outline for Class H – Social Sciences.
In Search.Libraries, you can search or browse by subject heading (e.g., you might search for materials with the subject Libraries and transgender people).
The research guide linked below outlines Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) related to research in Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies.
-
LGBTQIA+ Subject HeadingsThis guide features Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, and asexual (LGBTQIA+) identities and related materials. Prepared and periodically updated by Brandeis Library.
Subject headings or terms might be viewed as problematic for a variety of reasons. They may be outdated, hurtful or offensive, inappropriate, incorrect, or unclear to the point of misunderstanding. To learn more, read about our Subject Term Flagging initiative.
Scholarly Articles
The following are our top databases for finding scholarly & peer-reviewed articles related to Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z; you can filter the list by subject for Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies and by types for Scholarly & Peer-Review.
-
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Citations of journal articles, book reviews, and essays covering topics of gender and sexuality in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East from 450 to 1500 AD. Dates of Coverage: 1990 to date
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers. Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more. Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, and related fields. Contains 2.3 million articles and other materials (64% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Nearly 800 essential sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Video
Search.Libraries
In Search.Libraries, you can filter your results by Availability > Physical Items @Oberlin, or Availability > Available Online.
To explore documentaries:
- Search for videos where the subject contains "documentary films".
Documentaries
The following are the best databases for finding documentaries:
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming documentaries, films, and demonstrations on topics including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
-
Bloomsbury Video Library This link opens in a new window
Filmed performances, fiction films, documentaries and instructional videos from the visual and performing arts, film, and history. Includes indie films and shorts, avant-garde performances, interviews with renowned writers, artists, choreographers, performers and practitioners, documentaries on an international range of themes, traditions, and historical figures. (1880-present)
-
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Educational documentaries and fiction feature films curated to help students examine the issues related to social, ecological, political, and environmental justice around the world.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowA streaming video collection that provides unlimited access to 300,000 video clips in numerous subject areas. Includes captioning with interactive and searchable transcripts on all titles, as well as instructions for embedding videos in learning management systems.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z, which you can filter by Subject (e.g., Cinema & Media Studies) or Type (e.g., Video).
Search.Libraries
In Search.Libraries, you can filter your results by Availability > Physical Items @Oberlin, or Availability > Available Online.
To explore feature films:
- Search for videos where the subject contains "feature films"
- Search for videos where the genre contains "feature films"
- Search for videos where the genre contains "fiction films"
Databases
The following are the best databases for finding feature films:
-
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowHundreds of streaming full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including documentaries, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more.
-
Klassiki This link opens in a new window
Classic cinema from Russia, Ukraine, the Caucasus and Central Asia, including silent classics through to the Soviet era and into the 2010s. Note: You must email ages@oberlin.edu to sign up for an account before you can use the platform.
-
World Cinema Video Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming feature films from Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East, including films from the silent era, from the mid-20th century, as well as award-winning contemporary works.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z, which you can filter by Subject (e.g., Cinema & Media Studies) or Type (e.g., Feature Films, or Video).
Search.Libraries
In Search.Libraries, you can filter your results by Availability > Physical Items @Oberlin, or Availability > Available Online.
To explore television programs, commercials, and more:
- Search for videos where the genre contains "television"
Databases
The following are some best databases for finding television broadcast recordings (including news, advertisements, and more):
-
AP Archive This link opens in a new windowThe film and video archive of the Associated Press is freely available on YouTube. The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment stories dating back to 1895.
-
EUScreen This link opens in a new windowThousands of video clips produced by a variety of European television stations throughout the 20th and 21st centuries, that provide context for Europe's history and culture. Clips include, for example, a German broadcast of the fall of the Berlin Wall, a 1972 Polish fashion show, Maria Callas performing in Paris in 1958, and advice about how young men ought to behave from a 1960s London charm school.
For a full list of databases at Oberlin, check out our Databases A-Z, which you can filter by Subject (e.g., Cinema & Media Studies) or Type (e.g., Feature Films, or Video).
Video recordings in physical formats (e.g., Blu-Ray, DVD, VHS) are available at Oberlin College Libraries, and can be found using Search.Libraries.
To explore video recordings in physical formats:
- Search for videos using the wildcard character [?], and filter for Physical Items @ Oberlin
- Search for all items where the call number begins with DVD
- Browse by local call number DVD
- Search for all items where the call number begins with VCR
- Browse by local call number VCR
Magazines and Newspapers
-
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press This link opens in a new window
Alternative press & magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers; includes feminist publications, small literary magazines, LGBT periodicals, GI press, and campus underground sources. Part of Reveal Digital. Dates of coverage: 1960s through 1980s
-
Leftists Newspapers and Periodicals (1845 - 2015) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages. Coverage: 1845 - 2015.
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
-
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests. (Dates of coverage: 1950-)
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.
-
Zine Union Catalog This link opens in a new windowZine Union Catalog lets researchers discover zine holdings by searching a single catalog, and helps librarians copy catalog records to facilitate lending across libraries.