Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-books in East Asian Studies
Authoritative guide to reliable peer-reviewed resources and scholarship in African Studies, Buddhism, Chinese Studies, Environmental Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, and Political Science. Bibliographies are selectively curated and annotated by expert academics and offer high-level overviews that provide non-experts with a point of entry into unfamiliar areas of study.
Oxford Handbooks Online
An Oxford Handbook advances an original conception of the field through a definitive collection of essays, each of which provides a survey of the current state of scholarly debate and an original argument about the future direction of research. The handbooks cover economics, and politics.
Academic ebook collections
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Humanities E-Book is an online collection of over 1700 books of high quality, covering most humanities disciplines and area studies. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature. HEB now adds approximately 300 books annually to the collection. Titles come from 250 publishers and have been selected by eleven ACLS learned societies or reviewed by a panel of distinguished scholars. HEB currently works with nearly 80 university presses.
Duke University Press Scholarly Books
Full text access to over 2,300 Duke University Press ebooks in the social sciences and humanities.
eBook Central (ProQuest)
Provides access to full-text electronic editions of 150,000 ebooks from 750+ publishers, 1,500 imprints. Search by specifying subjects, keywords, authors, publishers, publication years, or other information available for the documents. Many titles are leased.
eBooks Collection (EBSCO)
Searchable full text books in a variety of subject areas.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC)
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly. These books are also available at the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.
Project MUSE (partial access)
Journals and books by university presses and scholarly societies; most subjects in the in the humanities and social sciences.
A full-text database of APA books, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform
E-books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. Includes many programming language manuals from O'Reilly, Pearson, and others. Also offers many videos, case studies, and tutorials. Note: Requires authentication with an @oberlin.edu email address.
Springer eBook Collection
Full text access in HTML and PDF formats to the the electronic versions of books published by Springer. Content covers the topic areas of Architecture and Design; Behavioral Science; Biomedical and Life Sciences; Business and Economics; Chemistry and Materials Science; Computer Science; Earth and Environmental Science; Engineering; Humanities, Social Sciences and Law; Mathematics and Statistics; Medicine; Physics and Astronomy; and, Professional Computing & Web Design.
University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO)
Aggregates monograph content from partner university presses, making disparately published scholarship accessible, discoverable, and fully cross-searchable via a single online platform. (Dates of coverage: 2012 - present)
Wiley Online Library
Books and journals published by Wiley-Blackwell, with broad multidisciplinary coverage.
Find books, e-books, videos, scores, and recordings at Oberlin by title, author, subject, keyword, or other options.
Can't find a book at Oberlin? Find and request materials held at 120 OhioLINK libraries. Requested items are delivered to the circulation desk on the first floor of Mudd Center, typically within 3-5 business days. The OhioLINK catalog describes over 46 million items, including books, periodicals, maps, music scores and audiovisual materials.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Can't find what you need? For books, try OhioLINK. For books not available through OhioLINK and for other types of materials, use Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL lets you borrow materials from non-OhioLINK libraries, including print books, scanned journal articles, musical scores, videos, theses/dissertations, and more.
Contact email@example.com with questions.
How to Read Call Numbers
There are two major call number systems used in the libraries: the Dewey Decimal and Library of Congress classification schemes. The first line of a call number, as it appears on a physical item, is a broad subject classification. The subsequent lines are combinations of letters and numbers that organize items into narrower, related categories.
|Library of Congress
615 Whole number
|573.3 Whole number, followed by decimal
|C518 Alphabetically, then decimals
(may be followed by another letter)
|.W932A Alphabetically, then decimals
|2018 Publication Date, shelves chronologically
||e.g., 573.3 W932A shelves before 573.3 W94A
See How to Read Call Numbers from the University of Berkeley Library for more details about LC call numbers.