Magazines

Most currently published magazines have multiple levels of content available through different types of subscriptions, including print issues and websites. Library databases vary in how likely they are to include this content. Ask a librarian if you have questions about database coverage for a particular magazine. 

1. Articles written under the editorial supervision of the magazine staff and included in the print issue 
   • Always included in library database coverage
   • Ebsco, ProQuest, and Newsbank databases are likely to include scans of the original article layout and images
   • NexisUni and Factiva typically only include the article text
   • Tip: To determine if an article that appears on the website was included in the print issue, ask if the publication date listed on the website exactly matches the publication date of a print issue. If so, check the table of contents for the print issue and see if the article is listed. 
2. Articles written under the editorial supervision of the magazine staff and published on the website but not in the print issue 
   • Sometimes included in library database coverage
   • NexisUni and Factiva are more likely to include this content
   • In ProQuest and Ebsco databases you may need to explore alternate versions of the publication (e.g. The Harvard Business Review and The Harvard Business Review Digital Articles) 
   • Images and other visualizations from this content are rarely included in library databases
3. Licensed material produced outside of the editorial supervision of the magazine staff and published on the magazine website, including content from wire services, sponsors, etc. 
   • Rarely available in NexisUni and Factiva, almost never available from other library databases
   • Often available through a library subscription to the magazine website
   • Sometimes available from the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine
   • Tip: Learn to spot sponsored content
4. Advertisements from the print issue 
   • Sometimes included in Ebsco, ProQuest, and Newsbank databases. Rarely indexed individually outside of historic archives, more likely to be available if the database offers full page scans. 
   • Tip: If full page scans are not available electronically, check Search.Libraries for microfilm or bound print copies. 
5. Advertisements from the website
   • Almost never available. These are typically customized to individual readers so they are nearly impossible to archive completely.