Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
A vast index to British and American periodicals, newspapers, books, and other sources documenting the 19th century. Dates of Coverage: 1300-1930
African American Periodicals (1825-1995) This link opens in a new window
More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and more.
American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new window
Scanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.
Full text magazines on a wide variety of topics digitized by Google and made freely available.
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Digital scans of the pages of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871; providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. Includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps. Dates of Coverage: 1857-1871
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting and indexing for popular magazines and periodicals, and full text for the majority of titles.
Nation, "The Nation" Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Digital Archive of The Nation, a weekly news magazine. Dates of Coverage: 1865 to date
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Dates of coverage: 1802-2000
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) This link opens in a new window
Indexing of articles in historical American popular magazines of all types.
Summon This link opens in a new window
Use Summon's magazine and date limiters to see only magazine primary source results.