- Art Institute of Chicago
Encyclopedic collections cover art worldwide. Particular strengths include architecture, architectural interiors, furniture, Art Deco, and images of Chicago. - The Museum of Fine Arts, Bayou Bend Collection and GardensPeriod rooms with displays of "exceptional" examples of American decorative arts.
- Victoria & Albert Museum: Collections
The V&A is the leading museum of art and design in the West, housing a permanent collection of over 2.3 million objects that span over 5,000 years of human creativity with particular strengths in architecture, furniture, fashion, textiles, photography, sculpture, painting, jewelry, glass, ceramics, book arts, Asian art and design, theatre and performance. [From the website] - Winterthur Museum Collections
The premier museum of American decorative arts, with an unparalleled collection of nearly 90,000 objects made or used in America between about 1640 and 1860. The collection is displayed in the magnificent 175-room house, much as it was when the du Pont family lived here, as well as in permanent and changing exhibition galleries. - The Wolfsonian Museum: Florida International University
The collection focus is North American and European decorative arts, propaganda, architecture, and industrial and graphic design dating from 1850 to 1950.
Other public collections
- Gottscho-Schleisner Collection, Library of Congress
Over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Subjects are concentrated chiefly in the northeastern United States, especially the New York City area, and Florida. Included are the homes of notable Americans, such as Raymond Loewy, and of several U.S. presidents, as well as color images of the 1939-40 New York World's Fair. Many of the photographs were commissioned by architects, designers, owners and architectural publications, and document important achievements in American 20th-century architecture and interior design.
