Textiles
- Musée des Arts Décoratifs
Remarkably deep collection, particularly for French textiles from the 16th c. to present and accessories (including buttons, belts, hats, bracelets, etc.). Other strengths include the decorative arts and design, posters and graphic art, photographs, and ephemera. - The Textiles Collection, University for the Creative Arts at Farnham
A teaching collection with over 3,000 artifacts demonstrating a wide range of textile techniques and processes. Samples include Coptic textiles from 800-1000 AD through to British woollen cloths, Kashmir shawls, African strip weaving and Scandinavian furnishing fabrics from 1950 to 1990. - Winterthur Museum Collections
The premier museum of American decorative arts, with an unparalleled collection of nearly 90,000 objects made or used in America between about 1640 and 1860. The collection is displayed in the magnificent 175-room house, much as it was when the du Pont family lived here, as well as in permanent and changing exhibition galleries.
Walls, textiles, carpets
The Anatomy of Color by Call Number: Art Library NK 2115.5 .C6 B383 2017ISBN: 9780500519332Why were primary colors popular in postwar kitchens? Why did the Art Deco era prefer clean lines and pastel shades? Historian and paint expert Patrick Baty traces the evolution of pigments and paint colors together with color systems and standards, analyzing their impact on the color palettes used in interiors from the 1650s to the 1960s. Woven throughout are specially commissioned images from rare color reference books as well as interiors from home decor books, dating from every era.
Carpets and Rugs of Europe and America by Call Number: Art Library, NK2842 .S54 1996ISBN: 1558593837Filled with 400 gorgeous examples, this book is a comprehensive study of European and American carpets and rugs from the Middle Ages to the present day, examining Western carpet design and production in styles that range from magnificent palatial creations to delightful folk designs. The text includes new findings on the history and design carpets as well as the technological developments that have affected rug design and production.
Sanderson by Call Number: Art Library, NK2047.6.S26 S36 2010ISBN: 9780500515198For 150 years Sanderson has been at the vanguard of every significant movement in European decorative arts, from Arts and Crafts and Art Deco to 1980s country-house style to the vibrant interiors of the twenty-first century, shaping a distinctive style of English decoration beloved throughout the world. Using the Sanderson archives, Mary Schoeser relates the history of the company from its founding to the present day. With over 200 patterns specially selected from the Sanderson archives and reproduced in full color, this book is a font of inspiration for decorators, designers, graphic artists, and collectors.
Wallpaper
- Historic New England: Wallpaper collections
6,000 individual samples of wallpaper, historic photographs of wallpaper in situ, and ephemera dealing with the wallpaper industry.
The Papered Wall by Call Number: Art Library, NK3400 .P37 2005ISBN: 0500285683Beginning with the individually printed sheets that formed the first wallpapers in the fifteenth century, The Papered Wall illustrates the history of wallpaper including English flocked papers with repeats as large as seven feet, spectacular French panoramas encircling an entire room, and exquisitely printed bowers of roses. By 1900 technical inventiveness and designers like William Morris had put new kinds of wall coverings and a vast choice of patterns before a worldwide market. The twentieth century saw a struggle between traditional ideas and radically "modern" styles--Jugendstil, Art Deco, Bauhaus, and postwar contemporary designs. Includes a guide to care and conservation.
The Wallpaper Book by Call Number: Art Library, Oversize NK3395 .B786 2012ISBN: 9780500516072Wallpaper has always reflected social shifts as well as changing fashions. This book explores the art of wallpaper from its historical beginnings to the present day. Beginning with the handcrafted papiers peints of the eighteenth century through the Arts and Crafts movement, modernism, and Pop art, it traces the influences behind today's popular motifs and contemporary wallpaper.
Wallpaper in America by ISBN: 0393014487Publication Date: 1980-12-17Drawing on the extensive collections of the Cooper-Hewitt Museum, the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Design, as well as from sources across America and Europe, the author documents the changing tastes in pattern and color preferences.
Wallpaper and the Artist by Call Number: Art Library, NK3400 .H37 1992ISBN: 0896599337Covers how artists over the past five centuries have approached wallpaper design. From Durer, who conceived of his designs as seriously as he did a fine woodcut, to William Morris, who believed that wallpaper should transform our lives, to Andy Warhol who inspired wallpaper parodies.
