Summon
Search approximately 300 million books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.
OBIS
Find books, e-books, videos, scores, and recordings at Oberlin by title, author, subject, keyword, or other options.
OhioLINK
Can't find a book at Oberlin? Find and request materials held at 120 OhioLINK libraries. Requested items are delivered to the circulation desk on the first floor of Mudd Center, typically within 3-5 business days. The OhioLINK catalog describes over 46 million items, including books, periodicals, maps, music scores and audiovisual materials.
InterLibrary Loan
Online Reference Tools
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowHandbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowOxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.The online OED corresponds to the Second Edition (20 volumes in print).
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowHundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Print reference sources
American Decades
Available only as eBooks through OBIS
American Eras
Available only as an eBook through OBIS
American writers: a collection of literary biographies
Main Oversize PS129 .A55 suppl. pt. 8
Black literature criticism : excerpts from criticism of the most significant works of Black authors over the past 200 years
Main Reference PS153.N5 B556 1992 (3 vols)
Black literature criticism : classic and emerging authors since 1950
Available only as an eBook through OBIS
The Cambridge companion to August Wilson / edited by Christopher Bigsby
Main Library PS3573.I45677 Z6 2007
Juba to jive : the dictionary of African-American slang
Main Library PE3727.N4M34 1994
Green's Dictionary of Slang
Also available as an eBook in OBIS
Main Library PE3721 .G677 2010
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America
Main Reference E169.1 .G7553 2009 (4 volumes)
The Twenties in America
Main Reference E784 .T84 2012 (3 volumes)
Also available as an eBook in OBIS
The Thirties in America
Main Reference E169.1 .T475 2011 (3 volumes)
Also available as an eBook in OBIS
The Forties in America
Main Reference E169.12 .F676 2011 (3 volumes)
Also available as an eBook in OBIS
The Fifties in America
Main Reference E169.12 .F498 2005 (3 volumes)
Also available as an eBook in OBIS
The Sixties in America
Main Reference E841 .S55 1999 (3 volumes)
Also available as an eBook in OBIS
The Seventies in America
Main Reference E169.12 .S447 2006 (3 volumes)
Also available as an eBook in OBIS
The Eighties in America
Main Reference E876 .E347 2008 (3 volumes)
Also available as an eBook in OBIS
The Nineties in America
Main Reference E839 .N56 2009 (3 volumes)
Also available as an eBook in OBIS
Black talk : words and phrases from the hood to the amen corner
Main Library PE3102.N4 S65 2000
The Oxford companion to African American literature
Main Library PS153.N5 O96 1997 (Also available as an ebook in OBIS)