RHET 208: Speeches and Political Ads

Online database of over 129,483 presidential documents, including The Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1913), The Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-2012), The Weekly Compliation of Presidential Documents (1977-2009), The Daily Compliation of Presidential Documents (2009-2017), as well as party platforms, candidate's remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

Transcript, audio, and video of more than 5,000 American speeches on politics and culture.

The archives houses the speeches and campaign advertising of U.S. women senators and representatives, cabinet members, Supreme Court justices, governors and lieutenant governors, and first and second ladies; international women leaders, including presidents and prime ministers; and recipients of the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics at Iowa State University. It also features the speeches of historically significant women, social activists and women who have used their position of celebrity to advocate for political causes.

Audio and transcript of speeches by influential leaders of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Text of speeches on wide range of political topics, from 1934-2019.

Data and analysis on campaign finance at the federal level. Includes data on political ad buys with local stations reported to the FCC, campaign contributions by candidate and donor at the state and federal level, and lobbyists. 2015–present.

Museum of the Moving Image provides access to more than 300 commercials from every presidential election since 1952.

Collection of political ads from the 2016 election. In addition to tracking airings across key primary states, the collection includes ads that may have aired elsewhere or exclusively on social media.

The archives houses the speeches and campaign advertising of U.S. women senators and representatives, cabinet members, Supreme Court justices, governors and lieutenant governors, and first and second ladies; international women leaders, including presidents and prime ministers; and recipients of the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics at Iowa State University. It also features the speeches of historically significant women, social activists and women who have used their position of celebrity to advocate for political causes.