Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fashion Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The Berg Companion to Fashion by
Call Number: Main Library, GT507 .B47 2010
A comprehensive overview covering designers, articles of clothing, key concepts and styles, The Berg Companion to Fashion provides a comprehensive overview of the history, meaning and theory of fashion.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by
Call Number: Print edition: Main Library Oversize GT507 .E53 2005, vol. 1-3
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
An authoritative introduction to fashion, the industry, and the issues that have defined the field. Some 640 articles describe the colorful facets of couture and textiles, from fabrics of chintz, corduroy, and feathers to such garb as aprons, bikinis, and prison dress. There are color plates and nearly 600 black-and-white illustrations.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through American History, 1900 to the Present by
Call Number: Main Library, GT615 .G74 2008 vol. 1 & 2
Providing both descriptions of clothing styles and why they were worn, the first four chapters of each volume examine the political and cultural events, arts and entertainment, daily life, and family structures that shaped fashion. The second half describes everyday fashion and styles of the period, decade by decade, for women, men, and children.
20th century Fashion
20th Century Fashion by
Call Number: Art Library, GT596.P433 1993; copy 2 in reference
A detailed history and sourcebook of 20th-century fashion. From the styles of the early 1900s to those of today, John Peacock charts the development of women's fashion in all its aspects: couture wear, day wear, under-wear, leisure wear, evening wear, bridal wear and accessories.
20th-Century Fashion in Detail by
Call Number: Art Library, TT507 .W4555 2018
Covers modern fashion and haute couture, exploring in detail techniques used by couturiers: the elaborate embroidery, intricate pleats, and daring cuts that make up some of the most beautiful garments in the twentieth- century fashion collection at the Victoria and Albert Museum, one of the world's top fashion and design museums. Each piece is accompanied by detailed photography and line drawings showing its complete construction.
Modern Fashion in Detail by
Call Number: At Library, TT 507 .W455 1991b
Over 80 entries arranged in seven sections: seams; gathers; tucks and pleats; collars, cuffs and pockets; buttons; bows; beads and sequins and applied decoration.
Worth to Dior : 20th century fashion from the collection of the National Gallery of Victoria / by
Call Number: Art Library, NK4710.N38 1993
Collection of National Gallery of Victoria fashions from 1860-1960. Embroideries, embellishments, shoes & hats.