Fashion
The 1930s by Call Number: Art Library, GT596 .P384 1997ISBN: 050027973XIn the 1930s the boyish look of the previous decade gave way to a more feminine silhouette, which defined the waist, accentuated the shouders and narrowed the hips. The year-by-year format allows these developments to be shown in detail.
- All Sewn Up: Millinery, Dressmaking, Clothing and Costume
This digital collection from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries includes millinery, dressmaking, clothing and costume books from the first half of the 20th century (1907 – 1940’s).
Everyday Fashions of the Thirties by Call Number: Art Library, GT615 .E92 1986ISBN: 048625108XPublication Date: 1986-08-01Over 130 fully illustrated pages from Sears catalogs offer historically accurate images of what men, women, and children wore throughout 1930s. Hundreds of illustrations reflect the era's mood of economic austerity and its departure from the flamboyance of Twenties fashions in favor of lower hemlines and garments made from more traditional, affordable materials.
Fashion Illustrated by Call Number: Art Library, GT596.T67 1975ISBN: 0801525594A year-by-year summary of fashion from 1920 - 1950. Most illustrations are primary sources, copied from magazines, catalogs, and ads and include brief descriptions. Designers and trends are also discussed. Includes patterns for 15 garments.
- London College of Fashion Archive
The London College of Fashion College Archive is a collection of historical materials which chronicle the history of the College from its origins as two early needle trade schools in the early 20th c. to the 1970's.
This database contains images of black-and-white and sepia photographs from the Archive depicting a wide range of subjects taught at the schools over the years. These include, fashion, design, clothing technology, dressmaking, tailoring, millinery, furriery, upholstery, embroidery, beauty, hairdressing, wigmaking, physical education, science, drama, and general studies. - London College of Fashion: Paper Patterns
A collection of paper patterns dating from the 1920s to the 21st c. Only the covers have be digitized; the patterns themselves are not visible.
Advertising
- Ad*Access (1911-1955) This link opens in a new window
Print advertising images from U.S. and Canadian publications; organized by product category: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
All-American Ads of the 30s by Call Number: Art Library, NC998.5.A1 A62 2003ISBN: 9783822816202At the dawn of the 1930s, modernism started to influence the American advertising industry as waves from the European avant-garde movement made their way across the Atlantic. The trend of literal, uninspired print ads was shaken up by stylized, symbolic, and even abstract advertisements that relied more on aesthetics than copy. These techniques worked well at first, and ultimately paved the way for advertising as we know it today, but were overshadowed by the need of a country in depression for hard-sell, shirt-sleeve advertising. Subtlety and irony could sell products to a nation struggling to feed itself. However, the ads of the 1930s reveal nothing of the hard times, painting instead an optimistic picture of affluent American family life.
- Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965
Provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through the lens of market research reports produced by Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely recognized ‘father’ of Motivational Research.
Trade catalogs
- Everyday Fashions of the Thirties by Call Number: Art Library, GT615 .E92 1986ISBN: 048625108XPublication Date: 1986-08-01Over 130 fully illustrated pages from Sears catalogs offer historically accurate images of what men, women, and children wore throughout 1930s. Hundreds of illustrations reflect the era's mood of economic austerity and its departure from the flamboyance of Twenties fashions in favor of lower hemlines and garments made from more traditional, affordable materials.
- Montgomery Ward Catalogs
Examples of catalogs dating from 1881 to the 1930s
Sears: [Catalog]. (Print copies)
1897, 1928/29 - 1957 (incomplete), 1961, 1970
Call # 658.872 Se17; Location: Storage
- Trade Catalogues and the American Home
Trade catalogues have been a prominent feature in commerce and manufacturing from the eighteenth century to the present day. Highly illustrated, they are an essential visual record of a variety of products and facilitate research into visual and material culture as well as social norms and attitudes. This collection spans trade catalogues published over a period of 150 years (1830-1980).
Magazines
Use magazines for images of contemporary clothing and hints about the broader cultural context.
Harper's BazaarCall Number: Main Library, PeriodicalsPublication Date: 1867 - 2018 (print edition)Also available online, although online editions often exclude advertising.
Good Housekeeping. 1887-1976 (incomplete)
Print: Main Library, 1887-1976 (incomplete)
Online: 1994-2018
Ladies’ Home Journal. 1884-1976
Print: Main Library,1889-1976
Online: 1884-1907
Saturday Evening PostCall Number: Main Library, PeriodicalsPublication Date: 1899-1974Also available online from 1821 to the present, although online editions often exclude advertising.
Time MagazineCall Number: Main PeriodicalsPublication Date: 1923 - the present
Life MagazineCall Number: Main Library, PeriodicalsPublication Date: Print edition: 1936-2001Also available online through 2001, although online editions often exclude advertising.