Feature Films at Oberlin
Oberlin has a robust film collection intended to support our academic programs, including both Cinema Studies specifically and the curriculum more broadly.
We collect feature films, artist films, and documentaries in a variety of formats, seeking to balance longevity of access and expense with ease of access for current students.
Determining if Oberlin has access to a film
The libraries strive to have individual records in Search.Libraries for each film we have access to. Our records for Blu-ray, DVD, and VHS copies of films are comprehensive. However, streaming databases often provide spottier records for Search.Libraries. This means that it is sometimes necessary to search for films in multiple streaming film databases in addition to Search.Libraries to determine if Oberlin has access.
Students and faculty needing assistance with this process can contact the research help desk or their liaison librarian.
Film search process:
- Search Search.Libraries for the film title. Use the "Filter Your Results" facts in the left column to narrow your results to "Videos" under Resource Type.
- Search by title in film databases from the list below if you do not find the film at in Search.Libraries. Use the notes on the focus area for the database and the degree of availability of Search.Libraries records to determine which databases require individual searches.
Helpful tips:
- For foreign language films, the steps above may need to be repeated in full for both the English and foreign language versions of the title, as well as for any spelling variations created by transliteration inconsistencies.
- Records for streaming films sometimes have incomplete information about the director, actors, distributor, and publication date. Searching by title alone is usually the most efficient way to find a film.
- Publication dates for films are something of a moving target. Physical media (DVD, VHS, etc.) cataloged using library standards will list the publication date for the particular DVD or VHS tape in the publication date field (this is the field that controls the "creation date" filter) while the release date for the film will be included in a content note. Streaming videos may list the release date as the publication date.
-
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowRoughly 50% of titles on the platform have Search.Libraries records. Recommend searching directly in the platform if the video you are seeking aligns with its content area.
Full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including documentaries, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more. -
Bloomsbury Video Library This link opens in a new windowApproximately 50% of titles available on the platform have Search.Libraries records under the "book/ebook" content type filter. The other 50% of titles do not have Search.Libraries records as of Fall 2025. It is highly recommended to search directly inside this platform as part of a known item title search if the content you are seeking aligns with the focus of the database.
Filmed performances, fiction films, documentaries and instructional videos from the visual and performing arts, film, and history. Includes indie films and shorts, avant-garde performances, interviews with renowned writers, artists, choreographers, performers and practitioners, documentaries on an international range of themes, traditions, and historical figures. -
Docuseek This link opens in a new windowMost films are included in Search.Libraries. There may be a lag of several months between when a film is added to the platform and when it is added to Search.Libraries.
Educational documentaries and fiction feature films curated to help students examine the issues related to social, ecological, political and environmental justice around the world. -
Klassiki This link opens in a new windowNo Search.Libraries records.Strongly recommended to search directly inside this platform if the title you are seeking aligns with the subject area.
All users must contact ages@oberlin.edu for an account. An account is not required to search the platform and see which films are available.
Focuses on Russian and Eastern European film. -
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowMost titles included in Search.Libraries. Films on Demand describes many videos to the segment level and this description is only sometimes exported to Search.Libraries. When segment names are included, they are located in a contents note, not in the title field.
Primarily educational films and documentaries. -
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowMost titles included in Search.Libraries. There may be a small lag between a title being turned on in Kanopy and the Search.Libraries record becoming available.
Documentaries and feature films selected by faculty to assign for courses. Oberlin College's selection is smaller than the packages used at public libraries. Most films require a librarian to approve purchase before viewing. -
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowMost videos are indexed in Search.Libraries. In some cases Search.Libraries may link to a version of the video hosted on ProQuest rather than on Alexander Street Press, but the content should be identical.
Includes streaming documentaries, films, and demonstrations on topics including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
