[Fragment of a Latin missal or gradual notated in neumes]Call Number: M 7, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [Europe, twelfth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 5 × 6 cm. Binding waste notated in neumes from the commune sanctorum of a mass book. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Fragment of a Latin antiphoner or breviary with square notation]Call Number: M 11, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [Europe, thirteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 17 × 15 cm. Binding waste notated in square notation for the feast of All Saints. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Leaf of a Latin antiphoner with square notation]Call Number: M 21, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [Europe, thirteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 33 × 39 cm. Leaf with square notation from the commune sanctorum of a mass book. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Leaf of a Latin hymnal with square notation]Call Number: M 8, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [Europe, fourteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 10 × 13 cm. Leaf with hymn texts and square notation. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[2 leaves of a Latin breviary or hymnal with square notation]Call Number: M 12, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [Europe, fourteenth century]Manuscript (2 leaves): parchment, 14 × 20 cm. Fragment with sequence texts and square notation. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[2 leaves of a Latin missal or gradual with square notation]Call Number: M 20, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [Europe, fourteenth century]Manuscript (2 leaves): parchment, 26 × 36 cm. Leaves from a book for mass on Ash Wednesday with square notation. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Leaf of a Latin breviary or hymnal with square notation]Call Number: M 9, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [Europe, fourteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 10 × 15 cm. Leaf of a breviary with square notation. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[2 leaves of a Latin missal or gradual with square notation]Call Number: M 23, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [Europe, fourteenth century]Manuscript (2 leaves): parchment, 33 × 48 cm. Leaves with square notation for masses in Advent and Eastertide. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Leaf of a Latin missal or gradual with square notation]Call Number: M 18, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [Europe, fourteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 24 × 35 cm. Leaf with square notation for masses in Advent. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Fragment of a Latin missal or gradual with square notation]Call Number: M 16, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [northern Europe, fifteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 21 × 32 cm. Binding waste with square notation from the mass for the dead, bearing later owner name: P[eer?] de Manck. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Fragment of a Latin antiphoner or breviary notated in Hufnagelschrift]Call Number: M 14, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [eastern Europe, fifteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 25 × 16 cm. Binding waste notated in Hufnagelschrift for the feast of the Assumption of Mary. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Fragment of a Latin liturgical book notated in Hufnagelschrift]Call Number: M 13, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [eastern Europe, fifteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 25 × 15 cm. Binding waste notated in Hufnagelschrift for Holy Saturday. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Leaf of a Latin missal or gradual notated in Hufnagelschrift]Call Number: M 22, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [eastern Europe, fifteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 32 × 44 cm. Leaf with Hufnagelschrift for masses in Advent. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Fragment of a Latin missal or gradual notated in Hufnagelschrift]Call Number: M 19, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [eastern Europe, fifteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 25 × 16 cm. Binding waste notated in Hufnagelschrift. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Fragment of a Latin missal or gradual notated in Hufnagelschrift]Call Number: M 17, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [eastern Europe, fifteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 22 × 31 cm. Binding waste notated in Hufnagelschrift for the feast of the All Saints. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Fragment of a Latin missal or gradual notated in Hufnagelschrift]Call Number: M 15, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [eastern Europe, fifteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 21 × 30 cm. Binding waste notated in Hufnagelschrift for the mass for the dead. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Fragment of a Latin breviary or hymnal notated in Hufnagelschrift]Call Number: M 10, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [eastern Europe, fifteenth century]Manuscript (1 leaf): parchment, 22 × 9 cm. Binding waste notated in Hufnagelschrift for the feast of the Nativity of Mary. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
מלאכת הדקדוק Institutiones grammaticae in Hebraeam linguam by Publication Date: [Basileae]: In officina Frobeniana, 1524.[94] of [288] pages (signatures N–T); 16 cm. This grammar of Hebrew, written in Latin with passages in Greek and Aramaic, is one of the earliest sources in print with music notation for Ashkenazi chant. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
[Two-part counterpoint exercises]Call Number: M 24, Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory LibraryPublication Date: [Italy, late sixteenth or early seventeenth century]Manuscript (2 leaves): paper, 22 × 15 cm. Italian. Three passages captioned: “cadenze a due voci nel soprano” and “cadenza [a due] nel basso” and “modo di fuggir cadenze nel soprano, e nel basso”.
La donzella sfortunata; Il serafino d’Assisi; Li trionfi del rosario by Publication Date: 1676; 1676; 1677.Three works in one volume: [24], 210, [1], [5]; [12]; 92, [4] pages. Italian. Milano: Lodovico Monza. Il serafino d’Assisi (1677) seems unknown except for this copy. This poem in praise of Saint Francis concludes with a folded inbound leaf containing “arithmetic prophecies” for the publication year, followed by the engraving of a puzzle consisting of music notation, alphanumeric ciphers, solfège syllables, and dice. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
The royal Ann: Mr. Isaac's new dance made for Her Majestys birth day 1712 by Publication Date: Printed for I. Walsh ... & I. Hare, 1712.8 unnumbered leaves: illustrations, music; 29 cm. RISM A/I, p. 96. Choreography of ballroom dance for one couple in Feuillet notation. Gift of Beatrice and Lloyd Frank ’47.
Lecciones de clave y principios de harmonía by Publication Date: Madrid: por D[on] Joachin Ibarra [1725–1785], impresor de Cámara de S[u] M[ajestad], MDCCLXXV [1775].[8], vi, 291, [1] pages, [1] folded leaf of plates: music, illustration (engraved); 23 cm. Woodcut staves. Spanish. Gift of Dorothy E. Seebohm ’39.
Giulio Sabino: tragedia inedita by Publication Date: 1806.In Venezia: Presso Antonio Rosa, 1806. 67, [1] pages. Italian. Dramma per musica set in Gaul 69–79 CE. Gift of Ursula Stechow ’42.
Serenade des Richard Faust in Bauernfelds Lustspiel ‘Die reiche Erbin,’ Opus 69: “Wo dem Urlicht sich gattet die Urmacht” by Publication Date: [1876].1 vocal score. German. For solo voice and piano accompaniment. Series: Komische Lieder und Gesänge. Wien: Adolf Bösendorfer (plate number A.B. 540).
The standard course of lessons and exercises in the tonic sol-fa method of teaching music by Publication Date: 1895.11th edition. London: J. Curwen & Sons, 1895. xi, 320 pages: illustrations, music; 19 cm. English. Former owners’ names to front endpapers. Gift of Dorothy E. Seebohm ’39.
Elyria two-step by Call Number: M28.M55 E4 1897Publication Date: around 1897.Cleveland: James D. Johnston, around 1897. 1 score (3 pages); 36 cm. For piano. On cover: “As played with great sucess by Johnston’s Orchestra”. Seller’s stamp on cover: “H Kleber & Bro. | Pianos & Organs | 221 & 223-5th Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa”. Gift of Dorothy E. Seebohm ’39.
Good evenin’: a real native southern Negro melody by Call Number: M1630.2.C66 G6 1903Publication Date: 1903.New York: New York American and Journal music supplement. 1 score ([4] pages): color illustrations; 35 cm. Cover illustration of woman walking, as the Man in the Moon looks on, by Henry Brevoort Eddy (1872–1935). Gift of Dorothy E. Seebohm ’39.
Welcome Golden Voiced Eagle by Publication Date: February 12, 1921.8 × 10 inches. Press photograph showing Chief Buffalo Bear, Princess Silver Toes, Chief Lady Ogema-Quay, and Mrs. Buffalo Bear, of the Oglala Sioux Nation, and contralto Cyrena van Gordon (1892–1964) in the auditorium of the Chicago Civic Opera during a meeting of the Indian Fellowship League. Gift of Dorothy E. Seebohm ’39.
The democratic jazz party by Publication Date: [1932?]Greeting card, 6 × 4 inches closed. Print on card stock in two-color process: black (halftone) and red (solid); paper engineering with die-cutouts, metal brads, and tab. Political satire, depicting an elephant mounted by a tumescent donkey.
[Portrait photograph inscribed by Igor Stravinsky to Alice Chalifoux] by Publication Date: 1929, 1937.Paris: Studio Lipnitzki. 9½ × 7 inches. “Pour Mlle Alice | Chalifoux | un ‘thank you’ | bien sincère | I. Stravinsky | 2 [juillet] [19]37”. Chalifoux was principal harpist for the Cleveland Orchestra (1931–1974) and teacher of harp at the Oberlin Conservatory (1971–1997). Gift of Avonelle Walker ’53.
Symphonie de psaumes by Call Number: Oberlin Musical Union library number 60.Publication Date: Nouvelle révision (London; New York: Boosey & Hawkes, 1948).1 vocal score (63 pages); 26 cm. Cover signed in ink: “I. Stravinsky”. Includes concert program, 13th Festival of Contemporary Music, Oberlin Conservatory of Music, March 19–21, 1963.
Photograph signed by the Mills Brothers: Herbert (1912–1989), Donald (1915–1999); John Mills, Sr. and Clifton M. “Cliff” White (1922–1998) by Publication Date: [1941?–1956?][Cleveland?] 10 × 8 inches. Inscribed: “To Nat | This was a great | Idea | Thanks | Mills Bros | Clif White | Donald | John Sr | Herbert”. From the collection of Nat Singerman, Character Arts Studio, Cleveland, Ohio. Gift of Dorothy E. Seebohm ’39.
Photograph signed by the Mills Brothers: Herbert (1912–1989), Donald (1915–1999), Harry (1913–1982); John Mills, Sr. and Clifton M. “Cliff” White (1922–1998) by Publication Date: [1941?–1956?][Cleveland?] 10 × 8 inches. Inscribed: “To ‘Nat’ | The Best of | Everything | Mills Bros | Herbert | Don | Clif White Guitarist | Harry | John Sr.” From the collection of Nat Singerman, Character Arts Studio, Cleveland, Ohio. Gift of Dorothy E. Seebohm ’39.
Photograph signed by Billy Eckstine by Publication Date: [1941?–1956?][Cleveland?] 8 × 10 inches. Inscribed: “Sincerely | Billy Eckstine”. From the collection of Nat Singerman, Character Arts Studio, Cleveland, Ohio. Gift of Dorothy E. Seebohm ’39.
Photograph signed by Jack Teagarden by Publication Date: [1941?–1956?][Cleveland?] 8 × 10 inches. Inscribed: “To ‘Nat’ | from | Jack Teagarden”. From the collection of Nat Singerman, Character Arts Studio, Cleveland, Ohio. Gift of Dorothy E. Seebohm ’39.
Hóngjūn bùpà yuǎnzhēng nán
红军不怕远征难
[The Red Army fears not the trials of the Long March] byPublication Date: 可可托海新疆 [Koktokay, Xinjiang]: 红二司可可托海分都井冈红旗兵团 [Second Red Headquarters, Koktokay Division, Jinggang Red Banner Corps], [1965?].[iv], 22 pages: illustrations, music in jiǎnpǔ běn 简谱本 [numeric notation]; 20 cm. Print cover in red and black ink. Former owner’s name inscribed on cover.
Akhan duusiin duus
Ахан дуусийн дуус
[Songs of brothers] byPublication Date: Улаанбаатар [Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia]: Эвлэлийн төв Хорооны Хэвлэл [Union Central Committee Press], 1967.[108] pages: music; 21 cm.
Emerson Morgan
he/him/his
Contact:
Conservatory Library Room 53
Oberlin Conservatory of Music
77 West College Street
Oberlin, Ohio 44074
Oberlin Conservatory of Music
77 West College Street
Oberlin, Ohio 44074
(440) 775-5181
Website