Special Collections / Music Treatises

RISM B/VI, v. 1, pp. 70–41. Published in 1529 (and reprinted in 1530, 1532, and 1542, and revised in 1545), this work concerning musica instrumentalis, as distinct from musica plana and musica figuralis, was modeled both in its text and woodcut imagery on Sebastian Virdung (c. 1465 – after 1511), Musica getutscht (Basel, M. Furter, 1511). Like Virdung, Agricola presented his text in the vernacular rather than Latin.

In 1510, Luscinius met Sebastian Virdung (b.1465) at the Reichstag in Augsburg. Eight years later he completed this work of music theory which, like that by Agricola, is indebted to Virdung, Musica getutscht (Basel, 1511). Here the text is given in scholastic Latin, unlike Virdung’s vernacular, and is illustrated with numerous woodcuts of instruments.

First published in 1707, with nine additional printings in the 18th century, this important early 18th century treatise includes instructions for the flute, recorder, and oboe.

Includes a basic set of instruction manuals for voice, recorder [flute], flute [German flute], oboe, violin, and harpsichord.

A brief instruction book for playing the recorder, which was called the flute at that time.

A reworking of Prelleur, Modern musick-master, divided into parts: a collection of English and Italian songs, instructions for voice and several instruments, a music dictionary, and a collection of songs from the British Isles.

This work describes and illustrates all instruments used in military ensembles of the mid-19th century.

RISM B/VI, v. 1, pp. 70–41. Published in 1529 (and reprinted in 1530, 1532, and 1542, and revised in 1545), this work concerning musica instrumentalis, as distinct from musica plana and musica figuralis, was modeled both in its text and woodcut imagery on Sebastian Virdung (c. 1465 – after 1511), Musica getutscht (Basel, M. Furter, 1511). Like Virdung, Agricola presented his text in the vernacular rather than Latin.

In 1510, Luscinius met Sebastian Virdung (b.1465) at the Reichstag in Augsburg. Eight years later he completed this work of music theory which, like that by Agricola, is indebted to Virdung, Musica getutscht (Basel, 1511). Here the text is given in scholastic Latin, unlike Virdung’s vernacular, and is illustrated with numerous woodcuts of instruments.

First published in 1707, with nine additional printings in the 18th century, this important early 18th century treatise includes instructions for the flute, recorder, and oboe.

Includes a basic set of instruction manuals for voice, recorder [flute], flute [German flute], oboe, violin, and harpsichord.

A brief instruction book for playing the recorder, which was called the flute at that time.

A reworking of Prelleur, Modern musick-master, divided into parts: a collection of English and Italian songs, instructions for voice and several instruments, a music dictionary, and a collection of songs from the British Isles.

The work was first published in 1746, and the third edition in 1756. In four books, it includes instructions for organ, harpsichord, bass-viol, violin, oboe, flute, and bassoon. It also includes instructions in music theory and a dictionary of important musical terms.

While focusing on the flute, this treatise is one of the principal works of the eighteenth century on instrumental performance practice. It was first published in French and German (1752); this copy is the German second edition (1780).

Includes brief instructions for playing keyboard, organ, violoncello, guitar, flute, trumpet, and many other instruments.

While focusing on the harpsichord and organ, this work also includes brief instructions for flute, oboe, and bowed strings, including the first printed instructions for the modern tuning of the double bass.

1 score (4 volumes in 1); 17 cm. Single-line melodies; most with words. Title from vol. 1; additional t.p. for vol. 1, identical with vols. 2–4. Each vol. with table of contents; includes comprehensive table of contents at front. Watermark: 1794 (on end sheet).

The first comprehensive American tutor for musical instruments, including the violin, flute, clarinet, bass viol, and oboe.

47 p. 23 cm. Rev. and enl.

This work is primarily a treatise on counterpoint and composition, but it includes a section of lessons on a variety of instruments.

No. 1[–10] of C. Nicholson’s Preceptive lessons for the flute. 2 v. of music in 1: port., ill.; 35 cm.

Includes instructions for flute, clarinet, bassoon, serpent, French horn, trumpet, oboe, violin, viola, bass-viol or violoncello, double bass, trombone, cymbals, tambourine, triangle, and bass-drum.

236 p. of music: ill; 34 cm. Engraved throughout on tin by A. Vialon. Includes instructions and exercises primarily for one or two flutes. “V. Coche, E[sq.]” stamp and dealer’s stamp: “Scharfenberg & Luis, New York” on t.p. Pierce Butler’s autograph in pencil on front free endpaper. Butler’s fingering-charts corrections in pencil, p. 68–81. Provenance: Pierce Butler, 1807–1867.

Progressive lessons and gamuts. Handwritten (ink) partial translation of p. 37–70 of Méthode pour servir à l’enseignement de la nouvelle flûte. Paris: Schonenberger and the author, 1838; translated by or for Pierce Butler, around 1840–1867.

This work describes and illustrates all instruments used in military ensembles of the mid-19th century.

This pamphlet on the history of the flute draws on contemporary writings on the subject and reports on the then-recent improvements made to the instrument by Theobald Boehm; Badger was the first American maker of the improved flute.

RISM B/VI, v. 1, pp. 70–41. Published in 1529 (and reprinted in 1530, 1532, and 1542, and revised in 1545), this work concerning musica instrumentalis, as distinct from musica plana and musica figuralis, was modeled both in its text and woodcut imagery on Sebastian Virdung (c. 1465 – after 1511), Musica getutscht (Basel, M. Furter, 1511). Like Virdung, Agricola presented his text in the vernacular rather than Latin.

31, [1] p. of music; 23 cm.

An early American method book for percussion instruments.

In 1510, Luscinius met Sebastian Virdung (b.1465) at the Reichstag in Augsburg. Eight years later he completed this work of music theory which, like that by Agricola, is indebted to Virdung, Musica getutscht (Basel, 1511). Here the text is given in scholastic Latin, unlike Virdung’s vernacular, and is illustrated with numerous woodcuts of instruments.

First published in 1707, with nine additional printings in the 18th century, this important early 18th century treatise includes instructions for the flute, recorder, and oboe.

48 p. of music: 2 plates (one folded, one ms.); 26 cm. Part 4 of Peter Prelleur, The modern musick-master (1730).

Includes a basic set of instruction manuals for voice, recorder [flute], flute [German flute], oboe, violin, and harpsichord.

A reworking of Prelleur, Modern musick-master, divided into parts: a collection of English and Italian songs, instructions for voice and several instruments, a music dictionary, and a collection of songs from the British Isles.

The work was first published in 1746, and the third edition in 1756. In four books, it includes instructions for organ, harpsichord, bass-viol, violin, oboe, flute, and bassoon. It also includes instructions in music theory and a dictionary of important musical terms.

While focusing on the harpsichord and organ, this work also includes brief instructions for flute, oboe, and bowed strings, including the first printed instructions for the modern tuning of the double bass.

The first comprehensive American tutor for musical instruments, including the violin, flute, clarinet, bass viol, and oboe.

This work is primarily a treatise on counterpoint and composition, but it includes a section of lessons on a variety of instruments.

Includes instructions for flute, clarinet, bassoon, serpent, French horn, trumpet, oboe, violin, viola, bass-viol or violoncello, double bass, trombone, cymbals, tambourine, triangle, and bass-drum.

The first comprehensive American tutor for musical instruments, including the violin, flute, clarinet, bass viol, and oboe.

The first distinct instruction book for the clarinet published in the United States, written for clarinet in C.

62 [2] p.: 6 folded engraved plates and 1 folded leaf of ms. music; 24 cm. For clarinet and other wind instruments.

This work is primarily a treatise on counterpoint and composition, but it includes a section of lessons on a variety of instruments.

Includes instructions for flute, clarinet, bassoon, serpent, French horn, trumpet, oboe, violin, viola, bass-viol or violoncello, double bass, trombone, cymbals, tambourine, triangle, and bass-drum.

This work describes and illustrates all instruments used in military ensembles of the mid-19th century.

A reworking of Prelleur, Modern musick-master, divided into parts: a collection of English and Italian songs, instructions for voice and several instruments, a music dictionary, and a collection of songs from the British Isles.

The work was first published in 1746, and the third edition in 1756. In four books, it includes instructions for organ, harpsichord, bass-viol, violin, oboe, flute, and bassoon. It also includes instructions in music theory and a dictionary of important musical terms.

This four-volume work is a compilation of articles, listings, and music on a variety of topics. It includes a treatise on the bassoon by Pierre Cugnier (b. 1740), which is thought to be the first major treatise on the instrument.

This bassoon method was valued at the time for its clarity and thoroughness, and it remains an important source of insight into late 18th-century bassoon technique.

This work is primarily a treatise on counterpoint and composition, but it includes a section of lessons on a variety of instruments.

Includes instructions for flute, clarinet, bassoon, serpent, French horn, trumpet, oboe, violin, viola, bass-viol or violoncello, double bass, trombone, cymbals, tambourine, triangle, and bass-drum.

This work describes and illustrates all instruments used in military ensembles of the mid-19th century.

Includes instructions for flute, clarinet, bassoon, serpent, French horn, trumpet, oboe, violin, viola, bass-viol or violoncello, double bass, trombone, cymbals, tambourine, triangle, and bass-drum.

This work describes and illustrates all instruments used in military ensembles of the mid-19th century.

This work describes and illustrates all instruments used in military ensembles of the mid-19th century.