Daniels' Orchestral Music by David DanielsDaniels' Orchestral Music organizes works alphabetically by composer and title, and contains duration and instrumentation of each entry, as well as date of composition. This latest edition contains over 8500 entries of standard international orchestral repertoire. Individual appendices make it easy to browse works that include chorus, solo voices, or solo instruments. An appendix labeled Orchestralogy provides essential bibliography, internet sources, and institutions and organizations necessary for the orchestra professional.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.O5 D3 2015
Publication Date: 2015
An Orchestra Conductor's Guide to Repertoire and Programming by Richard Elton YaklichThis book can be used as a guide for professional conductors, school directors, music libraries and reference libraries. The study details where to find recommendations for repertoire to programme for various types of ensembles, and also to aid in programming. It also contains an annotated bibliography which critiques the numerous books available on orchestra repertoire, major music publishers and lists sample programmes from many orchestras around the United States.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.O5 Y25 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Orchestral "Pops" Music by Lucy ManningThis revised handbook offers a list of works for orchestral "pops" concerts that is comprehensive, informative, and current. Manning's emphasis on clarity and accuracy gives users an indispensable tool for gathering vital information on the style, instrumentation, and availability of the repertoire listed, as well as notes on its performance. The user-friendly appendices include expanded instrumentation choices, easy-to-find durations, and handy title cross-references.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.O5 M36 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Orchestral Excerpts by Carolyn RabsonProvides access by composer and title to the contents of over 200 collections and sets of orchestral excerpts and parts published 1900-91. Such excerpts are used for practice and auditions. Previous indexes have covered only single instruments, but this covers all.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.O5 R2 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Performing Times of Orchestral Works by Solomon AronowskyA massive reference work, the most comprehensive of its kind, designed for use of all engaged in preparation, performance or broadcasting of concerts. Arranged alphabetically by composer, it provides the average duration of almost every work that has found its way into the standard repertory of the world's orchestras, together with times for individual movements and details of the soloists needed.
Call Number: Con Ref ML457 .A76
Publication Date: 1959
Twenty-Seven Major American Symphony Orchestras by Kate H. MuellerA listing of all the repertoire by all the composers performed by the orchestras surveyed from 1842-1970. Listings are arranged alphabetically by composer and then by title. A list of the orchestras surveyed is in the front of the book with the dates of tenure of the resident conductors
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.O5M75
Publication Date: 1973
Reference Books for Choral Music
Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order by James H. LasterEach main entry citation provides the biblical reference (book, chapter, and verse), as well as a reference to additional passages from Scripture used in the anthem. The composer, arranger, or editor and the title are listed as they appear on the octavo. Information on voicing, solos, and instrumental accompaniment is noted; the name of the publisher, where information on instrumental parts, other versions of the same title, and collections where the work might appear are also listed.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.C54 L4 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Choral Arrangements of the African-American Spirituals by Patricia J. TriceThis book traces the history and cultural roots of the genre from today through its inception. Ensembles that have perpetuated the growth of the spiritual arrangements - from Fisk Jubilee Singers of the 1870s through those currently active - are chronicled also. Arrangements indexed by title, arranger, and subject complement the accompanying biographies and repertoire information.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.V7 T75 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Choral Music by Avery T. Sharp; James Michael FloydThis is an annotated bibliography to books, recordings, videos, and websites on choral music. This book will serve as an excellent tool for librarians, researchers, and scholars in sorting through the massive amount of new material that has appeared since publication of the previous edition.
The Choral Music of Latin America by Suzanne Spicer TiemstraA comprehensive research tool for Latin American choral music, this volume will also serve scholars and researchers as a basic guide to sources for Latin American classical music. Both scholarly and practical, it will be valuable for choruses, orchestras, and other performing groups.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.C48 T5 1992
Publication Date: 1992
A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, Classical Period by Jonathan D. GreenIn this guide all of the masses, oratorios, cantatas, litanies, vespers and minor sacred works of Haydn and Mozart are carefully examined. For each work, the author has compiled the text source, duration, date of composition, date and place of premiere, location of manuscript materials, commercially available editions, a selected discography, a bibliography and a brief history of the work.
This document is part of the dissertation requirement for the Doctor of Musical
Arts degree in Conducting. The compendium’s formatting is modeled after the entry format in David Daniels’ Orchestral Music: A Handbook.
For many reasons—popularity, accessibility, and resources among others—professional orchestras get a lot of attention when it comes to diversity in programming. This page contains data analysis of American orchestras in regard to programming works by composers from underrepresented groups.
Concert and Opera Conductors by Robert H. Cowden; Lim M. LaiProfessor Cowden's new bibliography provides complete and authoritative information on major conductors of permanent orchestral ensembles since the time of von Weber and Berlioz. The first section, Collective Works, gives detailed information on titles devoted to concert and opera conductors and related titles containing additional material on conductors and conducting. The section on individual conductors is arranged alphabetically by artist.
The Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments by Anthony C. BainesThis book examines in a single A-Z sequence the variety of acoustic instruments throughout the ages. Each entry provides a concise description of the instrument itself, its construction, development, and playing techniques, together with details of its sound and use within the orchestra or, for ethnomusicological instruments, within rites of passage. General articles cover instruments by period, continent, family, and other common groupings.