Organizations & Associations
- American Composers Alliance Founded to encourage the inclusion of American works in the programs of performers and performing organizations.
- American Composers Forum Supports composers' artistic and professional growth through a variety of programs and services, including commissions, performances, readings and fellowsh
- American Music Center An advocacy organization formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music.
- American Society for Acoustic Ecology organization dedicated to exploring the role of sound in natural habitats and human societies and promoting public dialogue concerning the identification, preservation, and restoration of natural and cultural sound environments.
- ARChive of Contemporary Music An archive, library, and research center founded to collect popular music of all cultures and races from 1950 to the present. Includes timelines, bibliographies, and guides to popular musical instruments worldwide.
- EARS: ElectroAcoustic Resource Site The ElectroAcoustic Resource Site (EARS) project has been established to provide resources for those wishing to conduct research in the area of electroacoustic music studies. EARS will take the form of a structured Internet portal supported by extensive bibliographical tools.
- Institute for Psychoacoustics and Electronic Music (IPEM) Provides a scientific basis for the cultural and creative sector and does pioneering research work on the relationship between music body movement and new technologies. Part of the Department of Musicology, University of Ghent.
- International Association of Music Information Centres (IAMIC) An EU-funded network of national organizations dedicated to promoting the knowledge and use of contemporary music of all genres.
- International Computer Music Association (ICMA) ICMA disseminates information about the technical, creative, and performance aspects of computer music.
- IRCAM: Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique IRCAM coordinates various scientific points of view on musical phenomena in the fields of physics, sound signal processing, computer science, cognitive psychology, and musicology
- New Music USA An advocacy and funding organization, comprised of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer, formed to support creators, performers, and audiences of new American music by living composers.
- Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS) SEAMUS is a non-profit national organization of composers, performers, and teachers of electro-acoustic music representing every part of the country and virtually every musical style. Electro-Acoustic music is a term used to describe those musics which are dependent on electronic technology for their creation and/or performance.
Research Guides
Computer Applications in Music by Provides a portrait of growth from the early days of the discipline. Supplemental volume Con Ref ML128.C62 D4 1988 suppl
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.C62 D4 1988ISBN: 0895792257Publication Date: 1988
Electronic and Computer Music by
Topics represented include history, literature on synthesis and synthesizers, electronic music instruments and devices, electronic music composition, MIDI (Musical Instrument Digital Interface), the teaching of computer and electronic music, bibliographies and dictionaries.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.E4 W53 1997ISBN: 0313300763Publication Date: 1997
The Musical Microcomputer by Call Number: Con Ref ML128.C62L57 1988ISBN: 082408442XPublication Date: 1988-07-01
