Content Purchased by Oberlin
The easiest way to find performances available on streaming or DVD at Oberlin is to use Search Libraries to look for performers, choreographers, companies, or pieces, and filter by content type "video." If you simply want to browse streaming performances available at Oberlin, explore the video databases below, all of which have sub-collections focused on dance performance.
-
Search.Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more from a single integrated starting point.
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowTo find performances, search for a dance style, work, or artist.
-
Bloomsbury Video Library This link opens in a new window
Filmed performances, fiction films, documentaries and instructional videos from the visual and performing arts, film, and history. Includes indie films and shorts, avant-garde performances, interviews with renowned writers, artists, choreographers, performers and practitioners, documentaries on an international range of themes, traditions, and historical figures. (1880-present)
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowTo find performances, try a keyword search for a dance style, work, or artist, or browse from the music and dance subject.
-
medici.tv This link opens in a new windowStreaming concerts, operas, ballets, jazz performances and master classes. Browse by dance style and filter by choreographer and period.
-
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new windowA performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. Browse by category to find dance performances.
Free Resources
-
If Cities Could DanceStep into the shoes of dancers from across the country who dare to imagine what it would look like if their city could dance. This KQED series features dancers from Minneapolis, Memphis, Seattle, Chicago, Fresno, Miami, Oakland and many other cities across the United States.
-
Jacob's PillowStreaming video archive of festival performances. (Dates of coverage: 1930-present)
-
NumeridanseA multimedia dance platform offering free access to a filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos. Includes a wide range of styles - butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, performance, etc.
-
NYPL Jerome Robbins Dance DivisionDigital collections, including streaming video, from the world's largest dance collection and archive.
-
UbuWeb DanceStreaming videos of avant garde dance performances.
Search Tips
When researching a particular choreographer or performer not represented in the sources listed above, try these techniques:
- Google individual pieces by title and the name of the choreographer or performer. Put the title of the piece in quotes, and use secondary sources like books and articles to find titles.
- For retired dancers, check google or ArchiveGrid for both personal archives and archives of any dance companies they worked with, then see if those archives have digital collections.
- Try an author search (last name, first name) in a library catalog (e.g. Search Libraries, or Worldcat) to see if there are DVDs of their performances. If you're feeling brave, you can check out a DVD player at the library circulation desk and watch the DVD. Otherwise you can use the table of contents, etc., to google for streaming video of the performances.