FYSP 042

Oberlin has nearly 80 different news databases. Sometimes it makes sense to pick a single database that is useful for your topic (for example, Factiva has particularly strong coverage for international news publications). If you would prefer not to search each database separately, try the Search.Libraries newspaper module, which will let you search most of these databases at the same time. 

To enter the newspaper module, click on "Newspaper Search" from the top navigation links, or, after searching, select the resource type filter "Newspaper" or use the Newspaper Search tile at the bottom of the page. 

Tips: 

• Most newspaper sources are excluded from the default Search.Libraries search, you must enter the News module to see these results. 
• The news module primarily searches headlines, it does not typically match your search terms to article full text. 
  • Use general search terms likely to appear in the headline
  • If you need to match to article full text, try searching an individual news database instead

Oberlin College Libraries provides access to NYTimes.com (including news, New York Times Magazine, Wirecutter, and Cooking) to all current Oberlin College & Conservatory students, faculty, and staff.

If you are new to campus or have not previously registered for Oberlin's institutional NYTimes access, follow these steps:

• While on campus and connected to Oberlin’s network or while using the VPN, visit accessnyt.com.
• Create an account (claim a pass) using your @oberlin.edu email address.
• You have successfully claimed a pass when you see the "Start Your Access" screen.

Once registered, you’ll be able to access NYTimes.com by logging into your account from any computer, tablet, or device you use, including with the NY Times mobile app.

Students

When registering, you will be asked for your date of graduation from Oberlin. Your status will remain active through that date, with no need to reactivate/re-authenticate.

Faculty/Staff

You will need to re-authenticate annually, 364 days after you last registered/authenticated for your NYTimes.com pass. You may not reactivate your pass until your previous access has expired.

To reactivate your pass:

• While on-site and connected to Oberlin’s network (or while using the VPN from off campus), visit accessnyt.com.
• Make sure you are logged into the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your last pass.
• You will be granted a new pass and see the "Start Your Access" screen.

The new pass will be good for 364 days.

All current Oberlin College & Conservatory students, faculty, and staff have access to the Wall Street Journal website and Wall Street Journal apps, which include the last four years of content.

You must register for an account using your @oberlin.edu email address via the link below: 

Activate your Account

Students

Professor Tools