Music & Gender Diversity

Boenke has spent four years gleaning all possible sources to come up with several hundred listings of composers from three centuries and over 40 different countries. In addition to the alphabetical listing are indexes for instrumentation, title, publisher, and composer. It contains works for solo flute, duets, flute and piano, concertos, woodwind quintets, other chamber ensembles, or any work that employs soloistic use of the flute.

This useful book is divided into two sections, one containing composer biographies and references; the other lists compositions by instrumentation.

A practical guide for guitarists searching for new repertoire that includes women composers, this unique work lists musical works by instrumentation followed by biographies of each composer. The format first leads users to available pieces in possible ensembles and then to the biographical section, which introduces them to the composers, many of whom have been completely unknown in the guitar world. Appendixes list addresses for composers and publishers. Indexes cross reference composers with their works. Instrumentation entries include titles, composer names, publisher names, specific instruments, and length and description of the piece for indication of style. In the biographical entries, sources are given to guide the reader to more complete information about the composer. These features, combined with valuable appendixes, indexes, and cross-referencing capabilities from section to section, make this work easy to use.

An important catalog of music written for the harpsichord, organ, and piano by over 250
women composers from the 17th century to the present time. Arranged alphabetically, the
catalog lists names, dates, and brief biographical information of the composers, inventories of their keyboard works, and bibliographies of literature by and about the
composers. Includes an introductory essay on women composers in early keyboard
literature. Among the appendices are listings of composers by period and by country, and
a discography

This reference work catalogs music for organ and harpsichord written by more than 700 women composers from 40 countries. Compiler Adel Heinrich has expanded the organ and harpsichord repertoire to include choir and instruments accompanying organ and harpsichord. She provides more detailed information about each work than can be found in any other reference book on women composers. In addition to biographies for each woman, Heinrich supplies listings of individual compositions, and includes descriptions and sources whenever possible. Each composition is listed in both the Instrumentation Index and the Title Index. Publishers, library sources, and recording companies with their addresses are also provided. There is also a chronological listing of composers by country. Two appendices list a large number of women who have either written music for organ and harpsichord with no specific titles known, or have performed on one or both instruments. This reference book is a valuable resource for organists, harpsichordists, teachers, choral and instrumental conductors, and planners of festivals and recitals.

The depth of detail in this comprehensive catalog of music composed by African American women required limiting the scope to solo and ensemble piano music, but an introductory overview on the contributions of black women in music and biographical sketches on the 54 composers profiled in the catalog contain broader information. Over 300 piano works are listed, with detailed descriptive information on close to 200 works that Walker-Hill was able to obtain and study. Appendixes list available published music, ensemble instrumentation, music for teaching, and music published before 1920.

Provides convenient access to a body of solo, recital, concerto, and chamber music literature that will enrich the repertoire of the violinist. Includes a biographies section which briefly summarizes the life and work of women composers from the Baroque to 20th century American and International. The music section identifies and describes compositions in 12 genre categories. The discography organizes recorded works by composer and by title. Reference and Research Book News This bibliography enhances the repertoire of the violinist by providing convenient access to a new solo recital, concerto, and chamber music literature: the music of women composers. While other source books exist in which some of this information could be found, it is often incomplete or in such abundance that selection is difficult. This well-organized bibliography will not only simplify the process of obtaining such information, but it represents a valuable contribution to the relatively new study of the musical compositions of women. Violin Music by Women Composers is divided into three main sections: Biographies, Music, and Discography. Preceding these is a general alphabetical index to all the composers included in the work, with reference to information on them contained in the three main sections following. The Biographies section is divided among five eras beginning with Baroque and concluding with Twentieth Century International. The second section of the book, Music, is organized in twelve genre categories in which composers are entered alphabetically along with the titles of their compositions. Wherever possible, information is provided on date of composition, publisher and/or source, and duration; often with additional comments included. Library sources are given for manuscripts and for published music that is out of print; otherwise, a current publisher is listed. The Discography section organizes recorded works alphabetically by composer, then alphabetically by title. This section also includes a directory of recording companies. The volume concludes with a bibliography and references. Violin Music by Women Composers is a unique, up-to-date, and thoughtfully organized resource. Exploring its contents will certainly inform and add to the repertoire of violinists and their presenters.

This is a reference work of sheet music published in the U.S. from the late 18th century to the year after adoption of the 19th amendment to the Constitution granting women the right to vote. The entries present bibliographic data on each piece of music, a photographic depiction of the cover or first page (where available), and the complete lyrics for each piece.

This book contains three lists: one of composers and song titles, along with dates, nationality of composers, publishers, and certain libraries that own copies of the music, another of composers known to have written vocal works, and one of women believe to have composed vocal music. Following is a list of operas, cantatas, and other major works.

Boenke has spent four years gleaning all possible sources to come up with several hundred listings of composers from three centuries and over 40 different countries. In addition to the alphabetical listing are indexes for instrumentation, title, publisher, and composer. It contains works for solo flute, duets, flute and piano, concertos, woodwind quintets, other chamber ensembles, or any work that employs soloistic use of the flute.

Includes preface and biographical notes in English and German

German, French, Italian, or English words, with program notes in English

(Vocal Collection). With 45 songs by 22 composers, this is the most comprehensive single volume of art songs composed by women ever published. It includes biographical information about the composers and historical information about each song, with songs in English, French, German and Italian.