Finding Secondary Sources - Scholarly Articles
History
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date. Although this database's focus is not American history, you'll find thousands of articles that discuss the United States.
Multidisciplinary
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of millions of peer-reviewed articles in the arts and humanities disciplines. Also includes book chapters, conference papers and other formats. Cited and citing reference searching.
Focused
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Index of books, essays, journal articles, and government documents from the U.S. and Canada, covering native North American history and culture.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, music, visual arts, and religion. Includes index to Black Literature (1827-1940), Black Studies Periodical Database, and the full text backfile (1910-2010) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Google Scholar - Off-campus Library Links
If you use Google Scholar while off-campus, you can avoid hitting publisher paywalls by adding Oberlin to your library links list.
With Google Scholar, you'll find articles from all disciplines, so be careful and evaluate if the journal is in Communication Studies or another discipline.
- Click the three-line menu.
- Go to settings > library links
- Type in Oberlin College. Mark all the options.
