Edited collections published as books
Many useful primary sources will be collected in print or ebook compilations, with several texts or images on a related topic collected in a single volume. American Eras: Primary Sources is an example of such a source. Often the most efficient way to find these sources is to use the browse subject function Search.Libraries.
-
American Eras, Primary Sources: Civil War and Reconstruction
by
ISBN: 9781414498256Publication Date: 2013-05-07
- Identify a subject heading relevant to your topic (e.g. Black Panther Party or Freed persons United States History or Asian Americans History)
- Use the "Browse" function in Search.Libraries to browse related headings
- Look for subject headings ending in a form modifier that indicates the work contains primary sources:
- Sources
- Archives
- Correspondence
- Diaries
- Exhibitions
- Interviews
- Personal narrative
- Pictorial Works
- Maps
- Early Works to 1800
Digital Collections
-
Archives Unbound (LEECA Access) This link opens in a new windowSub-collections include: American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism; The War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824; Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S
-
American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Papers (LEECA Access) This link opens in a new window
Digitized from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), this collection focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court— topics intensely relevant to today’s curriculum and debates at both national and local levels. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
-
Political Extremism & Radicalism in the Twentieth Century (LEECA Access) This link opens in a new window
Political extremism and radicalism in the twentieth century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera. Materials are primarily from the U.S., Britain, Europe, and Australia. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
-
AM-Explorer This link opens in a new windowSub-collections include: Migration to New Worlds, Race Relations in America, American West, Indigenous Histories and Cultures in America.
