Using Japanese Woodblock-printed Works at OCL: Home

Most Japanese woodblock-printed works at Terrell Special Collections are in the Mary Ainsworth Collection of Japanese Illustrated Books. For brief English descriptions of items in the Ainsworth collection, please refer to an earlier inventory.

When navigating the following table, please note that tsunogaki 角書き is placed within brackets before the main title; alternative title by which the work is commonly known is placed within brackets after the main title; titles in square brackets are tentatively given based on the content and require further research.

Use links attached to a Japanese title to see search results in the National Institute of Japanese Literature (NIJL)'s Union Catalog Database of Japanese Texts. A title unavailable in NIJL's database is linked to search results in other databases such as NDL Search, Hathitrust, Smithsonian Digital Collections, Honolulu Museum of Art Collection of Asian Art-Japanese Woodblock Prints, the British Museum Collection, and Worldcat.

Use links attached to a cell in the Digital Images column to preview an item in the Mary A. Ainsworth Digital Collection of Japanese Illustrated Books.

Your corrections and suggestions will help Yilin, East Asian Studies Librarian, make this guide more useful. 

The following Japanese woodblock-printed works held at Terrell Special Collections were not acquired as part of the Ainsworth collection. Use links attached to a call number in the Shelfmark column to see the bibliographical record in Worldcat. Links attached to items in the Japanese cataloging queue are only for bibliographical reference.