Afro-Brazilian Music: A Bibliographic Guide by John GrayIts central focus is four distinct but intertwined categories of black vernacular culture¿secular and Afro-Catholic festivals such as Carnival, bumba-meu-boi, and Folia de Reis, each of which has music and dance as a central component; the music, dances and ensembles associated with them, e.g. the afoxés and blocos afro of Bahian Carnival; folk and popular music idioms from jongo and capoeira to samba, rap and funk; and the liturgical musics of Afro-Brazilian religions, e.g. Candomblé, Umbanda, Xango.
Volume I covers musical life in past and present, general titles, and local developments. Volume 2 covers the musician in Muslim society, Arab music in a wider context, and history and methods of research.
The Resource Book of Jewish Music by Irene HeskesSelection of the 1,220 entries in this bibliography is broadly based on an overview of Jewish music throughout the world and from ancient times to 1985. Compiler Irene Heskes has ... restricted her field to English-language publications and music collections that use romanized Yiddish and Hebrew texts.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.J4 H48 1985
Publication Date: 1985
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Ruth M. Stone (Editor)Explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years-a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins-African, Asian, European, and American Charts the flow and influence of music. The Encyclopedia also charts the musical interchanges that followed the movement of people and ideas across the continent, including: cross-regional musical influences throughout Africa * Islam and its effect on African music * spread of guitar music * Kru mariners of Liberia * Latin American influences on African music * musical interchanges in local contexts * crossovers between popular and traditional practices. Audio CD included. Also includes nine maps and 96 music examples.
Call Number: Con Ref ML100 .G16 1997 v.1-10
Publication Date: 1997
The Oxford Encyclopaedia of the Music of India by Sangit Mahabharati; Nikhil Ghosh (Editor-In-Chief)The most authoritative, comprehensive, and up-to-date reference on the subject, this encyclopaedia covers the story of music in India spread over almost 2000 years and includes more than 5000 in-depth entries by over 100 acclaimed contributors from India and abroad.Covering classical, folk, film, and other forms of music in India, the three volumes provide an overview of the historical and cultural contexts of the musical forms, instruments, and composers. Fully cross-referenced, the encyclopaedia includes detailed entries on all forms of music, dance, raga,tala, gharana, treatises, instruments, and technical terms, and biographical notes on vocalists, musicologists, saint poets, gurus, composers, dancers, and instrumentalists. The over 200 rare photos, paintings, and line drawings of instruments, musicians, and musicologists from family albums andprivate collections enhance the visual appeal of the work. For the first time, this major undertaking will help to explain much of what music in India is all about and open the subject for a new audience, both in India and abroad.
The Roderic C. Knight Muscial Instrument Collection - Oberlin CollegeUpon his retirement from Oberlin Conservatory, Knight donated his personal collection of instruments, some 200 in number. In addition to collecting instruments to take to class, he also purchased instruments to be used in performing ensembles, especially his own, in African and Indian music. Knight's personal collection and the instruments purchased for ensembles make up the bulk of the collection.
International Council for Traditional MusicThe International Council for Traditional Music is a scholarly organization which aims to further the study, practice, documentation, preservation, and dissemination of traditional music and dance of all countries.
The Society for EthnomusicologyThe Society for Ethnomusicology is devoted to the support of ethnomusicology and to the study of music-making all over the world. SEM publishes the journal, Ethnomusicology.