Inclusivity in Music Education
- GRIME Bibliography (Gender Research in Music Education)Lengthy Bibliography on Gender Research in Music Education Bibliography
- NAfME: Equity and Access in Music Education BibliographyThis position statement addresses equitable access to music education for all students, so that students, regardless of race, ethnicity, disability, economic status, religious background, sexual orientation and identity, socioeconomic status, academic standing, exceptionalities, or musical abilities, can participate in the making of music within their schools.
- NAfME: Inclusivity and Diversity in Music Education BibliographyBibliography of resources on inclusivity and diversity in music education
Pedagogy
Brass Music Guide: Solo And Study Material In Print by
This book is organized in two main sections: a listing by instruments (trumpet, horn, trombone, bass trombone, euphonium and tuba) and performance categories (trumpet, etudes, excerpts, methods); and a composer index, listing each composer's works alphabetically.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.W5A6 1984Publication Date: 1984
Literature for Voice by
A practical and useful reference book for students and teachers. Unique in concept, it shows in musical notation the key and range of over 1,700 songs in 60 of the most popular and available song collections. Lists: Composer Title Key and range in musical notation of each song Anthology of Grieg songs Pronunciation
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.S3 G642 2002ISBN: 0810841347Publication Date: 2001The Pianist's Guide to Standard Teaching and Performance Literature by This reference book is an invaluable resource for teachers, students and performers for evaluating and selecting piano solo literature. Concise and thoroughly researched, thousands of works, from the Baroque through the Contemporary periods, have been graded and evaluated in detail. Includes an alphabetical list of composers, explanations of works and much more.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.P3 M34 1995ISBN: 9780882846545Publication Date: 1995
String Syllabus by
Created by a committee of eleven members of the American String Teachers Association, this compilation of thousands of both solo and ensemble compositions for strings. The repertoire is coupled with a brief technical description and is grouped by grade levels for educational purposes.
Call Number: Con Ref ML132.V4 A44 1997ISBN: 0899174906Publication Date: 1997
Woodwind Music Guide: Solo And Study Material In Print by
This resource is a semi-comprehensive list (for its time, 1974) of solos and etudes for woodwinds
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.W5V73 1984Publication Date: 1984
Advocacy and Social Justice
American Political Music by
This book documents music for all political offices except president. Within each state and the District of Columbia, the names of elected politicians, candidates for public office and high-profile individuals appear in alphabetical order with a listing of published songs that relate to them. Under each person or topic are listed related songs, with title, tune, composer and lyricist, publisher, copyright year, and information on where a particular song or its lyrics may be found.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.A54 C74 2006ISBN: 0786422866Publication Date: 2005
A Catalog of Music Written in Honor of Martin Luther King, Jr by
This third edition contains a considerable number of revisions, updates, and new work and includes entirely new sections devoted to jazz and blues songs, sample programs of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day concerts, and a discography, along with appendixes of works listed by orchestration, subject, and a list of publishers and sources.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.B45 C38 2012ISBN: 9780810881983Publication Date: 2011
Every Monday Morning : A Discography of American Labor Songs in the Conservatory Library at Oberlin College by
This book lists songs pertaining to areas of occupation that have played a part in the history and development of the American labor movement.
Call Number: Con Ref ML156.4.L2 J66 1993Publication Date: 1993
A Resource Guide to Themes in Contemporary American Song Lyrics, 1950-1985 by
B. Lee Cooper offers a portrait of contemporary American society as it has been captured and transmitted in the lyrics of more than 3,000 popular recordings. Cooper divides his commentaries and song lists into fifteen sections. In the brief essays that precede the discographic sections, the author explores the ways in which popular music has dealt with such issues as religion, death, education, youth culture, mass media, protest, military activity, women's liberation, and more.
Call Number: Con Ref ML156.4.P6 C66 1986ISBN: 0313245169Publication Date: 1986
Suffragist Sheet Music by
This is a reference work of sheet music published in the U.S. from the late 18th century to the year after adoption of the 19th amendment to the Constitution granting women the right to vote. The entries present bibliographic data on each piece of music, a photographic depiction of the cover or first page (where available), and the complete lyrics for each piece.
Call Number: ML128.W7 C74 2002ISBN: 0786412984Publication Date: 2002
What do you know about your community?
You have an idea. But what do you know about your target population?
- Data.gov This link opens in a new window Provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Great place to find population, housing, economic and geographic data, climate, education, energy, health, and science as well as maps, fact sheets, tools and other resources.
- iPoll Search (1935 to date) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations. Data is available at the question-level. Dates of coverage: 1935 -
- QuickFacts This link opens in a new window Includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides access to current and historical U.S. census and other demographic data. Users can create maps and reports.
