Tools
- Transcription Practice from American PaleographerThis dynamic, self-directed learning module allows users to select among various collections and choose the type of items to practice transcribing!
Africa
- Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996 This link opens in a new windowTranslated news broadcasts and publications of the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African Continent and around the world.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Topically focused collections of historical documents, including the American Civil Liberties Union Papers (1912-1990), Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, British Library Newspapers, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2014), 18th Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, 19th Century Collections Online, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Political Radicalism & Extremism in the 20th Century, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), and The London Times Digital Archive (1785-1985).
- The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new windowTranslated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowCollections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowTranscripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
- Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowTranslated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
Europe
- Eight Centuries This link opens in a new windowA vast index to British and American periodicals, newspapers, books, and other sources documenting the 19th century. Dates of Coverage: 1300-1930
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Topically focused collections of historical documents, including the American Civil Liberties Union Papers (1912-1990), Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, British Library Newspapers, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2014), 18th Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, 19th Century Collections Online, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Political Radicalism & Extremism in the 20th Century, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), and The London Times Digital Archive (1785-1985).
- The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new windowTranslated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowCollections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable scans of nearly all existing English books up to the year 1700; this collection now contains over 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
- Europeana This link opens in a new windowA digital library of images, texts, audio, and video from Europe's museums, archives, and libraries.
- EUScreen This link opens in a new windowThousands of video clips produced by a variety of European television stations throughout the 20th and 21st centuries, that provide context for Europe's history and culture. Clips include, for example, a German broadcast of the fall of the Berlin Wall, a 1972 Polish fashion show, Maria Callas performing in Paris in 1958, and advice about how young men ought to behave from a 1960s London charm school.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowTranscripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.
Note: As of May 2023, Oberlin is a HathiTrust member. Oberlin students, faculty, and staff can access member features by clicking on the “LOG IN” button, choosing “Oberlin College and Conservatory”, and using their ObieID to authenticate. - Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowTranslated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from the Medieval period, both entire texts and excerpted, arranged by period, location and theme. Many are translated into English.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowFull text access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Dates of coverage: 1802-2000
Asia
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Topically focused collections of historical documents, including the American Civil Liberties Union Papers (1912-1990), Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, British Library Newspapers, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2014), 18th Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, 19th Century Collections Online, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Political Radicalism & Extremism in the 20th Century, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), and The London Times Digital Archive (1785-1985).
- The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new windowTranslated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowCollections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowTranscripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
- Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowTranslated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu This link opens in a new windowComplete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards.
Latin America
- The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new windowTranslated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowCollections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowTranscripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
- Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowTranslated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
Middle East & North Africa
- The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new windowTranslated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowCollections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowTranscripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
- Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowTranslated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.