William Hogarth, “The laughing audience” (after 1733)
Hogarth, William. “The laughing audience.” After 1733. Engraving, 18 × 16 cm [34 × 24 cm]. FRS-365, series 2: visual materials, The Frederick R. Selch Collection of American Music History, Oberlin Conservatory Library. Digitized version, http://dcollections.oberlin.edu/digital/collection/p15963coll34/id/135/rec/18, accessed February 28, 2025.
Hilmar Johannes Backer, after David Bles, Dutch house concert (1840)
Backer, Hilmar Johannes, after David Bles. Dutch house concert. 1840. Lithograph, 16 × 20 cm [21 × 26 cm]. FRS-233, series 2: visual materials, The Frederick R. Selch Collection of American Music History, Oberlin Conservatory Library. Digitized version, http://dcollections.oberlin.edu/digital/collection/p15963coll34/id/74/rec/1, accessed February 28, 2025.
Honoré Daumier, “Un orchestre dans une maison très comme il faut” (1858)
Daumier, Honoré. “Un orchestre dans une maison très comme il faut, où l'on se passe la fantaisie de jouer l’opérette” [An orchestra in a very proper house, where one indulges in the fantasy of playing the operetta], DR number 3038. “Les comédiens de société,” Le charivari, April 20, 1858, plate 8. Lithograph, 17 × 22 cm [22 × 28 cm]. FRS-711, series 2: visual materials, The Frederick R. Selch Collection of American Music History, Oberlin Conservatory Library. Digitized version, http://dcollections.oberlin.edu/digital/collection/p15963coll34/id/221/rec/223, accessed February 28, 2025.
Portrait of a woman playing three-string double bass (around 1900)
Portrait of a woman playing three-string double bass. Waterbury, Connecticut: Adt & Brother studio, around 1900. Cabinet card, photographic print, 11 × 17 cm. FRS-457, series 2: visual materials, The Frederick R. Selch Collection of American Music History, Oberlin Conservatory Library. Digitized version, http://dcollections.oberlin.edu/digital/collection/p15963coll34/id/311/rec/102, accessed February 28, 2025.
Welcome Golden Voiced Eagle
8 × 10 inches. Press photograph showing Chief Buffalo Bear, Princess Silver Toes, Chief Lady Ogema-Quay, and Mrs. Buffalo Bear, of the Oglala Sioux Nation, and contralto Cyrena van Gordon (1892–1964) in the auditorium of the Chicago Civic Opera during a meeting of the Indian Fellowship League. Gift of Dorothy E. Seebohm ’39.
Billie Holiday at jazz at the philharmonic (1946)
Holiday, Billie. Billie Holiday at jazz at the philharmonic. Verve Records MV 2520, 1946, 33⅓-rpm analog audio disc. N-LP-013876, subseries 1: LPs, series 1: audio and moving image recordings, The James R. and Susan Neumann Jazz Collection, Oberlin Conservatory Library.
Igor Stravinsky, excised wall fragment, Oberlin Conservatory (1963)
Stravinsky, Igor. Excised wall fragment, inscribed in graphite, from the office of Wilbur Price, Professor of Pianoforte, Old Warner Hall, Oberlin College, March 16, 1963. Special Collections, Oberlin Conservatory Library. Digitized version, http://dcollections.oberlin.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/p15963coll26/id/320/rec/2, accessed February 20, 2024.
Three programs of music by Igor Stravinsky, Oberlin Conservatory (1963)
Three programs of music by Igor Stravinsky, guest composer-conductor; Robert Craft, guest conductor. Concert program. Oberlin’s 13th Festival of Contemporary Music, Oberlin Conservatory of Music, Oberlin, Ohio, March 19–21, 1963. Oberlin College Archives, Record Group 10: Conservatory of Music records, series 9, subseries 3: Contemporary Music Festival files of Walter Aschaffenburg, 1950–1970.
“Stravinsky at Oberlin,” Oberlin today 21, no. 2 (1963)
Oberlin today 21, no. 2: Stravinsky at Oberlin (second quarter, 1963). Oberlin College Archives, Record Group 10: Conservatory of Music Records, Series 9, subseries 3: Contemporary Music Festival Files of Walter Aschaffenburg, 1950–1970. Digitized version, http://dcollections.oberlin.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/p15963coll26/id/321, accessed February 20, 2024.
Big Chief Ellis (1976), front
Big Chief Ellis featuring Tarheel Slim, Brownie McGhee, and John Cephas. Big Chief Ellis. Trix 3316, 1976, 33⅓-rpm analog audio disc. N-LP-036002, subseries 1: LPs, series 1: audio and moving image recordings, The James R. and Susan Neumann Jazz Collection, Oberlin Conservatory Library.
Big Chief Ellis (1976), back
Big Chief Ellis featuring Tarheel Slim, Brownie McGhee, and John Cephas. Big Chief Ellis. Trix 3316, 1976, 33⅓-rpm analog audio disc. N-LP-036002, subseries 1: LPs, series 1: audio and moving image recordings, The James R. and Susan Neumann Jazz Collection, Oberlin Conservatory Library.
Toshiko Akiyoshi and Lew Tabackin Big Band, Kogun (1978)
Toshiko Akiyoshi – Lew Tabackin Big Band. Kogun 孤軍. RCA Victor AFL 1-3019, 1978, 33⅓-rpm analog audio disc. N-LP-028920, subseries 1: LPs, series 1: audio and moving image recordings, The James R. and Susan Neumann Jazz Collection, Oberlin Conservatory Library.