A Dictionary of Opera Characters by Joyce BourneContains over 2,500 lively entries on operatic characters, with information on the creator of the role and notable performances. From Aeneas to Zaida, A Dictionary of Opera Characters provides extensive coverage of all the characters in operas from around the world and gives synopses for over 200 operas and operettas. It includes feature articles written by well-known personalities from the world of opera, such as Placido Domingo and Dame Janet Baker.
Publication Date: 2010
The Grove Book of Operas by Stanley Sadie (Editor); David Levin (Contribution by); Laura Macy (Editor)First published in 1996 to great critical and popular acclaim, the Grove Book of Operas, is a collection of synopses and descriptions of over 250 operas. Each succinct yet insightful entry is written by a leading authority on the opera and includes a full synopsis of the plot, a cast list, anote on the singers in the original production, and information on the origins of the work and its literary and social background. Contributions conclude with a brief comment on the particular work's place in operatic history. A glossary offers brief and accessible definitions of terms that may beunfamiliar to the reader. And indices of role names and of arias and ensembles allow the reader to find operas containing their favorite aria or a well-known character. The second edition brings the book up to date with several recently composed operas and a fascinating introductory essay by David Levin on opera performance in the 21st century. Recent additions to the operatic repertory included for the first time in this edition include Nicholas Maw, Sophie'sChoice; Poul Ruders, A Handmaid's Tale; John Adams, Death of Klinghoffer; and Mark Adamo, Little Women. Covering all operas in the current repertory along with some less-well-known early and very modern ones, this is an ideal volume for the general opera lover.
Publication Date: 2006
The Grove Book of Opera Singers by Laura Macy (Editor)Covering over 1500 singers from the birth of opera to the present day, this marvelous volume will be an essential resource for all serious opera lovers and an indispensable companion to the enormously successful Grove Book of Operas. The most comprehensive guide to opera singers ever produced, this volume offers an alphabetically arranged collection of authoritative biographies that range from Marion Anderson (the first African American to perform at the Met) to Benedict Zak (the classical tenor and close friend andcolleague of Mozart). Readers will find fascinating articles on such opera stars as Maria Callas and Enrico Caruso, Ezio Pinza and Fyodor Chaliapin, Lotte Lehmann and Jenny Lind, Lily Pons and Luciano Pavarotti. The profiles offer basic information such as birth date, vocal style, first debut, mostmemorable roles, and much more. But these articles often go well beyond basic biographical information to offer colorful portraits of the singer's personality and vocal style, plus astute evaluations of their place in operatic history and many other intriguing observations. Many entries also includesuggestions for further reading, so that anyone interested in a particular performer can explore their life and career in more depth. In addition, there are indexes of singers by voice type and by opera role premiers. The articles are mostly drawn from the acclaimed Grove Music Online and have beenfully revised, and the book is further supplemented by more than 40 specially commissioned articles on contemporary singers. A superb new guide from the first name in opera reference, The Grove Book of Opera Singers is a lively and authoritative work, beautifully illustrated with color and black-and-white pictures. It is an essential volume--and the perfect gift--for opera lovers everywhere.
An index to traditional folk songs of the world with an emphasis on English-language songs. A collaborative project organized by Kathy Abromeit from the Oberlin Conservatory Library and Mark Moss of Sing Out!
The Kassia Database is a resource geared toward aiding singers, instructors of voice, pianists, researchers, and music lovers to discover and celebrate art song by women composers. The database includes songs from the Baroque period through the 21st century, and have been categorized by level, voice type, language, composer, and composer dates
Vocal Repertoire Guides
Art Song in the United States, 1759-2011 by Judith E. Carman; Rita M. Resch; Harriet Myers; William K. GaeddertThis edition covers songs for solo voice and piano by American composers from the mid-18th throughout the early 21st centuries. The book includes approximately 2,850 numbered entries listed alphabetically by composer and title. Users will find critical data on the poet, publisher and copyright date, key, vocal range, vocal tessitura, meter(s), tempo, length, difficulty of vocal line and piano score, most suitable voice type, mood and subject of the text, and more.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.S3 C37 2013
Publication Date: 2012
From Studio to Stage by Barbara M. Doscher; John Nix (Editor)Entries are divided by broad category (art song, arias, folk songs, oratorio, musicals, etc.) and are arranged by song title. Each entry includes author, poet or librettist, key(s) available, ranges (for each key), tessitura, difficulty level, voice types, comments, a summary of the text, and notes as to genre, language, and editions available.
The spirituals are neatly organized in four indexes: a title index, first line index, alternate title index and a topical index that includes twenty major categories. A bibliography of indexed sources serves as a guide for further research.
Singer's Repertoire by Berton CoffinThis collection includes 8,200 songs in 818 lists for nine voice classifications; indexed by composer, title, vocal range, and publisher. The complete work represents the living song repertoire of today drawn from recital programs, recordings, broadcasts, telecasts, and other sources, and is comprised of Part I: Coloratura, Lyric and Dramatic Soprano, Part II: Mezzo Soprano and Contralto, Part III: Lyric and Dramatic Tenor, and Part IV: Baritone and Bass.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.V7 C67 1960 vols. 1-4
Publication Date: 2005, 1960
Solo Vocal Works on Jewish Themes by Kenneth JaffeJaffe has amassed nearly 3,000 large-scale musical works for solo voice(s) on Jewish themes, written by Jewish composers. The works are organized by composer and subdivided by genre, and each entry is fully annotated, detailing the title, opus, voicing and instrumentation, text source, and more. They are then cross-referenced by voice type, arrangement, and by title. A list of libraries and publishing houses of Jewish music rounds out this invaluable reference.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.J4 J35 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Spirituals: a multidisciplinary bibliography for research and performance by Kathleen A. AbromeitThis annotated bibliography documents articles, books, and dissertations published since 1920. Of those, 150 are books; 80 are chapters within books; 615 are journal articles, and 150 are dissertations, along with a selection of highly significant items published before 1920. The most recent publications included date from early 2014. Disciplines researched include music, literature and poetry, American history, religion, and African American Studies.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.S4 A272 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Vocal Chamber Music by Barbara Winchester; Kay DunlapThis invaluable resource is a revised edition of an essential index to vocal works composed for at least one solo voice and one instrument (other than piano or guitar) up to twelve solo voices and twelve solo instruments. The book includes a brief introduction on how to teach vocal chamber music, with tips on running a successful ensemble.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.V7 D86 2008
Publication Date: 2007
Women composers: A Checklist of Works for the Solo Voice by Miriam Stewart-GreenThis book contains three lists: one of composers and song titles, along with dates, nationality of composers, publishers, and certain libraries that own copies of the music, another of composers known to have written vocal works, and one of women believe to have composed vocal music. Following is a list of operas, cantatas, and other major works.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.V7S855
Publication Date: 1980
Operatic Repertoire Guides
Guide to Operatic Duets by Richard BoldreyThis essential reference work simplifies the even more overwhelming task of selecting duets. Like its companion volume, Guide to Operatic Roles & Arias, the material extensively cross references roles, duets, voice categories, languages, composers, and operas, as well as roles and their partners. A fine essay on the history of duets opens the book and sheds light on interpreting the music with meaningful and authentic style.
Guide to the Aria Repertoire by Mark Ross ClarkA long-awaited resource for the young operatic singer, this annotated guide brings together many sources to start the journey toward powerful, informed performance. An extensive discussion of fach and audition repertoire is followed by more than 400 arias organized by voice type, including canonical, contemporary, and obscure works from different languages. Each entry includes level of difficulty, voice/character type, special techniques, tessitura, and accompaniment.