Getting started
The focus of this guide is English-language or bilingual material. If you read Spanish or Portuguese, however, it is worth running searches in those languages as well. For instance you could search for "arte contemporáneo mexicano" as well as “Mexican contemporary art”. You can do this in Summon, OBIS (via keyword), or any other databases.
Other related research guides:
Art of Cuba and Haiti Art of Indigenous Americans. Hispanic Studies
Latin America - Overviews
Art in Latin America by Call Number: Art Library, N6502.A25 1989ISBN: 0300045565Covers the indigenous roots of art in various countries as well as the colonial and post-colonial periods. Early European travellers and the independence movements are also included. Discussed important movements and genre such as landscapes, popular graphics, political murals, surrealism, recent optical and kinetic movements, and a selection of contemporary works. Very fine reproductions with unobtrusive commentary. Includes an appendix of several artists' manifestos, and a section of biographies.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Latin American Art by Call Number: Art Library, N6502.5 .L375 2000ISBN: 9780714839806This is the first comprehensive survey drawing together experts in their own national art, who provide a rich discussion of the different histories and cultural traditions that have given each country its own character. The important heritage of previously overlooked countries – such as Ecuador, Peru, the Dominican Republic, Paraguay and Bolivia – are covered here in full.
Mesoamerica
Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America by ISBN: 0815308876Publication Date: Main Library Oversize, F1218.6 .A73 2001A comprehensive encyclopedia on the pre-Columbian archaeology of Mesoamerican culture, focusing on regional environments and their cultural evolution. Entries range from the familiar and world-renowned archaeological discoveries of Maya and Aztec sites to lesser known excavations. A rich historical and cultural resource on one of the world's six cradles of civilization.
Dictionary of Maya Hieroglyphs by Call Number: Main Library, F1435.3.W75 M66 2002ISBN: 0781808626This authoritative work is the first visual dictionary of Maya glyphs published since the script's complete deciphering, offering a much-needed, comprehensive catalogue of 1100 secured glyphs. Each entry includes the illustrated glyph, its phonetic transcription, Mayan equivalent, part of speech, and meaning.
The Gods and Symbols of Ancient Mexico and the Maya by Call Number: Main Library, F1435.3.R3M55 1993ISBN: 0500050686Answers questions like:
How did the hummingbird become the symbol of the chief Aztec god? Who were the Hero Twins? Why was Venus the planet of war? Did the Maya practise human sacrifice? And did they eat their victims? Who played the ancient ball game? Who were the first consumers of chocolate? What was a war of flowers?
- Precolumbian Art Research Institute (PARI)
The website of the Pre-Columbian Art Research Institute is the product of over 35 years of investigation and exploration of Mesoamerican civilizations, their art, archaeology, and glyphic texts, as well as research concerning the tropical environment and its ancient monuments.
Peru and the Incas
Encyclopedia of the Incas by ISBN: 9780759123632A useful introduction to the settlements, culture, society, celebrations, and achievements of the Incas. Essays explore wide-ranging themes (religion, architecture, farming) and specific topics (ceremonial drinking cup, astronomy), interweaving ethnohistoric and archaeological research with nuanced interpretation. Entries include bibliographies. Sidebars profile chroniclers and researchers of Inca life. Includes a chronology, selected bibliography, regional map.
Also of use
- Grove Art Online
Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies. - Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Global coverage from prehistory to modern. Authored by the Met's curatorial, conservation and education staff.
