Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Identifies trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience. Users can find citations to exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links on the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora by
Publication Date: 2008-07-29
The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries.
Grove Art Online
Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies.
Dictionary of African Biography by
Publication Date: 2011
A major biographical dictionary covering the lives and legacies of notable African men and women from all eras and walks of life and the product of the most wide-reaching biographical project on Africa to date. Essays include bibliographies, ranging from 750 to 2,000 words.
Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography by
Publication Date: 2016
A comprehensive overview of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American philosophers, politicians, activists, entertainers, scholars, poets, scientists, religious figures, kings, and everyday people whose lives have contributed to the history of the Caribbean and Latin America. Unprecedented in scale, it covers the entire Caribbean and the Afro-descended populations throughout Latin America, including people who spoke and wrote Creole, Dutch, English, French, Portuguese, and Spanish. Coverage begins with the first forced slave migrations in the 16th century to contemporary figures.
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era by
Call Number: Art Library Reference, N6502.4 .S45 2003
12,700 artists representing 39 Latin American and Caribbean countries active during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Painters, watercolorists, muralists, ceramists, photographers, graphic artists, multimedia and mixed-media artists, installation artists, tapestry designers, and architects are represented. Entries include the artists' years, countries and bibliographies, brief biographical information, stylistic notes, a record of each artist's exhibitions and a list of collections containing their work. The introduction includes brief informative background essays on the individual countries and their artists. Includes 89 photographs of selected works.
Call Number: Also avail. in print: Main Library, Z1531.L39 1990
Publication Date: 1994
Chamber's bibliography fills an important gap for researchers of Haiti. Although the bibliography is online it has not been updated since 1994.
Haiti: A Research Handbook by
Call Number: Main Library, Z1531.L39 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Haiti and the Haitian Diaspora in the Wider Caribbean by
Essays by historians, anthropologists, sociologists, and Francophone studies scholars explore the common thread of prejudice against the Haitian diaspora throughout the Caribbean and elsewhere, revealing the particular challenges Haitians face as immigrants.
"Adds an important dimension to our broader understanding of a topic often ignored in academic and popular literature--the complex issues of intra-Caribbean migration."--Robert Maguire, Trinity Washington University
The Haiti Reader by
Spanning the centuries between pre-contact indigenous Haiti to the aftermath of the 2010 earthquake, the selections in The Haiti Reader introduce readers to Haiti's dynamic history and culture from the viewpoint of Haitians from all walks of life.
The Cuba Reader by
Call Number: Main Library, F1776 .C85 2003
Tracking Cuban history from 1492 to the present, The Cuba Reader includes more than one hundred selections that present myriad perspectives on Cuba's history, culture, and politics. The volume foregrounds the experience of Cubans from all walks of life, including slaves, prostitutes, doctors, activists, and historians. Includes songs, poetry, fiction, journalism, political speeches, and many other types of documents. This updated 2nd edition explores the changes and continuities in Cuba since Fidel Castro stepped down from power in 2006.
Cuban and Haitian Religion: Terminology
Keep in mind the following variants when searching databases for Cuban and Haitian religions
All of these refer to the same religion
|Vodou – Haitian (preferred)
|Vaudou – Older French version of Vodou
||Lucumí (also spelled Lukumí)
Voodoo – English version of Vaudou (not preferred; pejorative);
also a related but distinct religion in Louisiana, USA
|La regla de ocha (commonly just called ocha)
Vudú - A religion practiced in the Dominican Republic and Cuba
Vodun - Ancient West African word, specific to a religion practiced in that area