Getting Started
-
You can access many books, ebooks, journal articles, and other sources at Oberlin. The resources below will help you to find everything we have at Oberlin and can access via other libraries in Ohio and worldwide.
Search at Oberlin and in OhioLINK
Search everything available from Oberlin and from OhioLINK institutions across Ohio. Includes books and ebooks, journal articles, music scores, videos, audio, newspaper articles, and more.
- Search.Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more from a single integrated starting point.
Online “How Do I?" Video Tutorials
- See our collection of short videos on using Search.Libraries and other common library topics.
-
Search Libraries Worldwide
- WorldCat: FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat catalog contains over 560 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries worldwide. Each record contains library holdings. The catalog includes books, films, scholarly journals, maps, microfilm, newspapers, sound recordings, and more. WorldCat does not include individual journal articles, stories in magazines and newspapers, or book chapters.
-
Tip: If you want to request something you only see in WorldCat, see our interlibrary loan guide for next steps.
Search.Libraries This link opens in a new windowFind books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more from a single integrated starting point.
Encyclopedias, Bibliographies, and Research Guides for Africana Music
-
Black Music and Musicians in the New Grove Dictionary of American Music and the New Harvard Dictionary of Music
by
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.B45 D443 1989ISBN: 0929911008Publication Date: 1989-01-01 -
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
by
Call Number: Con Ref ML100 .G16 1997 v.1-10ISBN: 0824060350Publication Date: 1997Explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years-a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage. Emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions. It presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins-African, Asian, European, and American.
-
Black Composers in LC Music Division Collections
This guide introduces performers, conductors, and researchers to resources from the Music Division of the Library Congress to help them discover concert music by Black composers. -
Black Music History Library
A collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day. -
Exploring the Aesthetics of African-American Classical Music: An Annotated Bibliography by Chris Jenkins (PDF)
This annotated bibliography addresses the history and aesthetics of “classical” music compositions by African-American composers . -
Music by Black Composers: An Introductory Resource,
This repertoire guide was created by studio faculty chairs and other leaders in the Music Division at Juilliard. This well-researched list of Black composers' works seeks to create a more representative classical music world.
-
An Annotated Catalog of Composers of African Ancestry
by
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.B45 C3 1986ISBN: 0533066131Publication Date: 1986-03-01 -
Bibliography of Black Music by
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.B45D44 v.1-4ISBN: 0313213402Publication Date: 1981-04-30 -
Black Concert and Recital Music: A Provisional Repertoire List
by
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.N4D4Publication Date: 1975
-
Blacks in Classical Music
by
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.B45 G7 1988ISBN: 0313260567Publication Date: 1988-06-20This comprehensive guide is the first to cover the full range of black activity in classical music, with more than 4,000 references to over 300 performers and ensembles. Compiler John Gray has organized a wealth of resources spanning from the mid-eighteenth century to the present, and ranging geographically from Europe and Africa to the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean. Containing sections on composers, conductors, individual instrumentalists, symphony orchestras, opera singers and companies, the work builds on earlier research in this long-neglected subject, and brings the black musical legacy to new levels of prominence and accessibility.
Subject headings are labels used by librarians to consistently index or organize their collections. Here are some possible subject headings to search for Africana music resources on Search.Libraries.
Sound Recordings
Databases
Some library-subscribed collections are below. You'll likely find more examples for contemporary music via YouTube, Spotify, and Apple Music.
-
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio, liner notes, and biographical information on composers and performers.
-
Naxos Spoken Word Library This link opens in a new windowContains the world's greatest literature - many classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twenty-first century under various categories, such as Children's Classics, Classic Fiction, Shakespeare's Plays. New titles are added every month.
Sound Recordings in Search.Libraries
Search Search.Libraries and limit your search to the following content types:
- Audio Recording
- Streaming Audio
- Spoken Word Recording
News
Magazines
-
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: Music This link opens in a new windowA series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century music genres such as Rock, Folk, Hip-Hop, and Rap. This collection contains 1,461 issues comprising 100,696 pages and 91,441 articles. Note: Oberlin only has access to Music Magazine Archive through this platform, not the full Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive.
Newspapers
-
New York Times (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
-
World News Connection (1995 - 2013) This link opens in a new windowTranslations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Multidisciplinary Databases with News
These databases have a lot of different types of sources, including magazine and newspaper articles. Look for options to filter your results to those formats.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.