Asian American Studies: the AAA collection at Oberlin

The Asian Journal 1977— (New York, NY)

An annual publication recognized by Barnard College and Columbia University and funded by Barnard Undergraduate Association and Columbia Student Union Polity, the Asian Journal appeared in 1977 after an absence of three years and marked a turning point in student affairs at Barnard-Columbia.

Holdings: Spring 1980, Spring 1981.

No digital access.

The Asian American voice: a newsletter for the Asian American community at the Ohio State University 1989—(Columbus, OH) 

Holdings: vol.1 no.2 (winter quarter 1990); vol.6 no.1; vol.7 no.1; vol.8 no.1; vol.9 no.1 (winter 1997)

No digital access.

Maganda 1990— (Berkeley, CA)

A student run publication that serves as a vital forum for the presentation of diverse expereience and opinions through art work, prose, poetry, and scholarly writing by, for, and about Filipinos and Filipino Americans. 

Holdings: 1999 (visionaries), 2001 (r|evolutions), 2006 (crisis)

No digital access.

AsiAm 1986ー (Los Angeles, CA)

Holdings: vol.1 no.1 Dec 1986 vol.2 no.11 Nov 1987 vol.2 no.12 Dec 1987 vol.3 no.1 Jan/Feb 1988 Jul 1988 vol.3 no.7 Sep 1988 vol.4 no.2 Mar/Apr 1989 vol.4 no.4 Jul/Aug 1989 (Japan issue)

No digital access.

Rice: the premier Asian-American/Pacific Rim magazine 1987ー1989 (Los Angeles, CA)

Holdings: vol.1 nos.9 (April 1988), 10, 11; vol.2 nos.1-5 (Aug 1988 to Jan 1989)

No digital access. See LA Times 1988 article that mentions both AsIAm and Rice.

A. Magazine: inside Asian America 1989ー2002 (New York, NY)

The magazine covers subject matters ranging from Asian and Asian American politics and history, to fashion and movies. Not everything in the magazine relates directly to activism–what is notable about A.Magazine in many ways is how it reads like a “normal” magazine, with colorful, full page advertisements, and articles on topics ranging from fashion, to identity. What sets it apart from other magazines however, is that Asians are the only group represented, and the figures and models on the covers and in the advertisements are exclusively Asian.

An A. Magazine Reunion Celebration with Jeff Yang and Lakán Angelo Ragaza organized by MOCA (Nov 10, 2024) discussed the editors' understanding of magazine as a business model; the choice of title and subtitle (from the Asian American Quarterly to Inside Asian America, with emphasis on identity as a process); the target audience (what the pitch was to advertisers like Amex, the best way to reach an aspiring and affluent community in English); the mechanics of running the magazine; the successful fundraising but failed attempt for a digital reincarnation.

Holdings: 1993 vol.2 no.1; 1994 vol.3 no.1, special women's issue; 1995 Feb/Mar, Apr/May, June/July, Aug/Sep, Oct/Nov, Dec/Jan; 1996 Feb/Mar, June/July, Aug/Sep, Oct/Nov; 1997 Feb/Mar, Apr/May, June/July, Aug/Sep, Oct/Nov; 1998 June/July, Aug/Sep, Oct/Nov, Dec/Jan; 1999 Feb/Mar, June/July; 2000 June/July, Oct/Nov, Dec/Jan; 2001 Feb/Mar, Aug/Sep, Dec/Jan; 2002 Feb/Mar

Digital Access: July 31, 1990 - Jan 31, 2002 via Ethnic NewsWatch.

The Indian-American: a magazine of life & culture 1991ー (New York, NY)

Holdings: vol.2 nos.2, 7, 8, 9, 10 (Mar Sep Oct Nov Dec 1992); vol.3 nos.1-4,6,7 (Jan Feb Mar Apr Jun Jul 1993)

Digital access: vol.1 no.7 via South Asian American Digital Archive 

Yolk 1994-2004 (Los Angeles, CA)

See a history of the magazine at https://yolk.com/history/. 

Holdings: vol.2 nos.2 (summer 1995) and 3 (fall 1995)

Digital access: vol.1 no.1 through vol.10 no.1 via Ethnic Newswatch. 

Asian-Americans for Action Newsletter Jun 1969ー (New York, NY)

Holdings: vol.1 nos.2-5; vol.2 no.2; vol.3 nos.1,3,5; vol.4 no.1; vol.5 nos.1-2
also an fifth anniversary issue that has vol.1 nos.1-5 1969; vol.2 nos.1,2 1970; vol.3 nos.1-5 1971; vol.4 nos.1-3 1972; vol.5 nos.1-5 1973

No digital access.

AION 1970 (San Francisco, CA)

"Generally acknowledged as the first Asian American literary magazine, AION published its two issues in San Francisco in 1970. This first issue grew directly out of the San Francisco strike. The chief editor Janice Mirikitani, a master's student then, became one of the most notable figures in Asian American poetry. The editorial staff regards AION "a forum for Asian American self-definition and expression on issues relevant to problems and needs of our communities."
(from the Museum of Chinese in America)

Holdings: vol.1 nos.1-2

Free Digital access through JSTOR

橋 Bridge an Asian-American perspective July/Aug 1971ー1985 (New York, NY)

Published by the Basement Workshop four times a year and replaced by the Asian American media arts journal CineVue in1986, Bridge was a major publication that represented Asian Americans as a whole and covered Asian American topics nationwide, featuring pieces on Asian American life, history, and news. Especially notable is the arts section in every issue, which highlights Asian American artists’ work in mediums in poetry, film, creative writing, and art. While not as regular as the arts section, many issues feature a book reviews section focusing on recently published works relating to Asian America. Cf. introduction from the Museum of Chinese in America (MOCA) and NYU project Legacies: Asian American Art Movements in New York City (1969-2001).

Holdings: vol.1 nos.1-6; vol.2 nos.1-6; vol.3 nos.1,3,4,6 (see nos.2 and 5 digitized here); vol.4 nos.1-5; vol.5 nos.1-4; vol.6, nos.1-4; vol.7, no.1

Digital Access: incomplete digital surrogates in the Adam Matthew collection 1980s Culture and Society.

Indochina Chronicle 1971—1980 (Washington, D.C.)

"The first issue of the Indochina Chronicle marks the beginning of the educational activities of the Indochina Resource Center. [The] objective is to locate, collect, collate, interpret, and disseminate information on contemporary Vietnam." Also see Indochina Resource Center Records in the Swarthmore College Peace Collection. From #27, the center was based both in Washington D.C. and in Berkeley and from #56, the name of this publication changed to Southeast Asia Chronicle.

Holdings:  nos.1-48, 50-72, 74

Digital Access: nos. 46, 51-52, 63, 64 via the Internet Archive.

Kalayaan International Philippine international community news service 1971 ー (San Francisco, CA)

"The Kalayaan-International emerges in the United States on June 12, on the 73rd anniversary of the First Philippine Republic, as a monument to the heroic revolutionaries of old by the responsive Filipinos outside the Philippines today who see the need to raise the banner of Kalayaan once more as the conditions of the times make it imperative. The paper is born in San Francisco where 1906 is best remembered for the earthquake that shook the City to its seams. The Kalayaan hopefully can be as earth-shaking as it should be mind-bending because circa 1971 may be best remembered for the birth of a real progressive people's newspaper. For Kalayaan means freedom, free from bondage. It also means liberation ー the dare-to-struggle spirit in a situation where shackled hands and minds are indeed daring to win over the forces of the Enemy in whatever changing form...This is a movement newspaper ー it is pursued by people who believe in the ideals of vigorous discussion and empathic presentation of truth and dissent. " (the vol.1 no.1 editorial "an emerging alternative")

Holdings: vol.1 no.1 (Jun 1971), vol.1 no.3 (Aug-Sep 1971), vol.1 no.4 (Oct-Nov 1971)

Digital Access: 1971-1973 from U Hawaii Philippine Radical Papers of the Marcos Regime.

為民報 Wei Min: Chinese Community News 1971—1975 (San Francisco, CA)

A newspaper published monthly by Wei Min She, an Asian American anti-imperialist organization for the people located within the Chinese community of San Francisco, cf. UC Wei Min She (為民社) and Asian Community Center photographs, 1970-1980

Holdings: vol.1 no.1 (Oct 1971), vol.2 no.2 (Nov 1972), vol.3 no.5 (Mar-Apr 1974), vol.3 no.7 and suppl. (Jun 1974), vol.3 no.8 (Jul-Aug 1974), vol.3. no.9 (Sep 1974), vol.4 no.1 (Oct-Nov 1974), vol.4 no.2 (Dec 1974/Jan 1975), vol.4 no.3 (Feb-Mar 1975), vol.4 no.3 (Apr-May 1975), vol.4 no.4 (Jun-Jul 1975), vol.4 no.5 (Aug-Sep 1975)

No digital access.

Gouverneur Newsletter 1972 — (New York, NY)

Holdings: vol.1 nos.1-3; vol.2 nos.1-5; vol.3 nos.1-4, 6; vol.4 no.2 (March-April 1975); Fall 1975

No digital access.

Eastern Wind: the Asian-American community newsletter of Washington, D.C. August 1973 — (Washington D.C.)

Initially funded by D.C. government's Office of Youth Opportunity Services (terminated in August 74) and reorganized in September 1974 to be independent organization based on individual interests, the newsletter sought to document the issues and experiences of the D.C area’s Asian-American community, with a focus on Washington D.C.’s Chinatown. The newsletter includes articles on the historical problems and projects in DC’s Chinatown, Asian American events in D.C., relevant resources for the D.C. Asian American community, and on life as an Asian American.

Holdings: vol.1 Sept 1973, vol.2 nos.1-3 (Jan, Feb, Mach 1974), vol.2 no.4 (May 1974), vol.3 nos.6-13 (Jun, Jul, Oct-Nov, Dec 1974-Jan 1975, Jan-Feb, Mar-Apr, May-Jun, Jul-Aug 1975), vol.4 nos.1-2 (Sep-Oct, Nov-Dec 1975), vol.4 no.3 (Jan-Mar 1976; Aug/Sep 1976)

Digital Access: Series 2 in the Smithsonian Miu Eng Eastern Wind Collection includes 1975 March-April (vol.3 no.11), 1975 May-June (vol.3 no.12), 1975 September-October (vol.4 no.1), and 1976 January-March (vol.4 no.3).

Workers Viewpoint 1974 — (New York)

“Workers Viewpoint is the political organ of a communist organization which is composed mainly of Asian-Americans. Our guiding ideology is Marxism-Leninism-Mao Tse-tung Thought. We view ourselves as a part of the general communist movement in the U.S. and look forward to uniting with other communist organizations on the basis of a common program, strategy, tactics and organizational principles. We view the present tasks of our movement as the study of Marxism-Leninism-Mao Tse-tung Thought and the linking up of the working class movement with the communist movement to help build an anti-revisionist communist party in the United States.” (page 78 of vol.1 no.2) The journal was superseded by Workers Viewpoint newspaper from 1976. 

Holdings: journal vol.1 nos.1-2 (Jan, Sept 1974); vol.2 no.1-2 (May 1975);
                newspaper vol.1 nos.1 (March 1976), 3-7 (June-Nov 1976); vol.2 nos.1-3, 7-9 (1977); vol.3 no.11 and special edition (November 1978).

Digital access: articles in vol.1 nos.1-2 via Encyclopedia of Anti-Revisionism On-Line.

Rice Paper Summer 1974ーSummer 1977 (Madison, WI)  

Established in 1974 after the first midwest Asian-American Conference held in Chicago, Rice Paper was started by Midwestern Asian American students at UW-Madison in response to the broad invisibility of Asian Americans in the region. A notable point about this paper is the significant involvement of Oberlin Asian American students, who played a large role in writing articles and organizing Asian American conferences at Oberlin. Another point made in the first issue is that many news articles and art is taken from other Asian American magazines such as Girda, in large part due to the vacuum of a previous strong Asian American movement. Rice Paper features a mix of essays, poems, news, film and book reviews. The publisher changed from UW Madison Asian Union (summer 1974-winter 1975) to Rice Paper Collective (fall 1975-summer 1977). 

Holdings: vol.1 no.1 summer 1974, vol.1 no.2 winter 1975; vol.2 no.1 fall 1975, vol.2 no.2 summer 76; vol.3 no.1 summer 1977 (last issue)

Digital access: a few snapshots in the blog post "Remembering Rice Paper: The Artifact After the Obituary."

Guardian: independent radical newsweekly 1948 — (New York, NY)

“Founded as the National Guardian in 1948 by James Aronson (1915-1988). Cedric Belfrage (1904-1990) and John T. McManus (1904-1962).” The Guardian was run cooperatively by its staff and published by the Weekly Guardian Associates, Inc..

Holdings: vol.27 no.12 (January 1, 1975) through vol.29 no.1 (October 13, 1976)

Digital Access: vol.21 no.4 (October 26, 1968) through vol.44 no.38 (July28/August 5, 1992) via JSTOR

The Worker for the Bay area 1975 — 1978 (Oakland, California)

The Worker for the Bay area is one of many working class newspapers for various regions and areas around the country. It "exists to build the struggle of the working class against the capitalist system of exploitation and oppression. It puts forward the political stand of the Revolutionary Communist Party, USA on the major questions and struggles facing the workers." The Worker in Chinese, supported by the staff of the Chinese paper Wei Min Bao/為民報, is "a tool to bring the struggles to the entire working class and to unite workers of all nationalities into a mighty working class force."

Holdings: vol.1 nos.1-12 (October 1975-September 1976), vol.2 nos. 1-3 (October-December 15, 1976)

Digital access: vol.4 nos.13-14 via Bannedthought.net

Getting Together: political organ of I Wor Kuen 1969ー(San Francisco, CA)

Holdings: vol.8. nos.1 (Jan 1977), 8, 11, 12; vol.9 nos.5 supplement, 7

Digital access: vol.4 no.6, March 1973; vol.7 no.2, June-July 1976; vol.8, no.11, November 1977; vol.9 no.2, February 1978 vol.9 no.6, June 1978 via The Encyclopedia of Anti-Revisionism On-Line.

芝城華埠通訊 Chinatown News 1974ー (Chicago, IL)

Published by New Youth Center/新青年中心; also see two issues of Chinatown Newsletter from 1973.

Holdings: vol.2 no.4 Fall 1975, vol.2 no.5 Dec 75/Jan 76; vol.3 no.1 Jan/Feb 76, vol.3 no.2 Feb/Mar 76, vol.3 no.3 Apr 76, vol.3 no.4 Jun 76, vol.3 no.5-6 Aug 76, vol.3 no.7 Oct 76.

No digital access.

Japanese American Curriculum Project 1969ー (San Mateo, CA)

A non-profit educational corporation, JACP, Inc. developed and disseminated Asian American curriculum materials. The first few pages of each catalog describe a few books in detail which the JACP found particularly noteworthy. Materials are divided by what grade they would be most appropriate for, as well as by type of content. In addition to books, the JACP catalog has a games/activities section, a language books sections, an audio-visual materials sections, a cooking sections, and last but not least a short sections on the organizations Asian American dolls (“Every Asian American Child should have one of these adorable dolls”). In 1999 the JACP changed its name to the Asian American Curriculum Project (AACP) to reflect the expanding image of Asian American.

Holdings: Spring 1978, 1979-80 catalogue, Spring 1980 supplement, 1982-83 catalogue, 1983-84 catalogue, 1984-85 catalogue, 1985-86 catalogue, 86-87 catalogue, 1988 catalogue, 1992 catalogue, 1994 catalogue

Digital access: promotions and catalogs (part of Yoshiko Uchida Papers) via Berkeley Digital Collections; digitized copy of The Untold Story: Japanese American Curriculum Project (1971) via the Internet Archive.

The Nihonmachi Sentinel 1979 — (San Francisco, CA)

a newspaper published quarterly by the Committee Against Nihonmachi Eviction (CANE), a community organization in SF's Japantown.

Holdings: vol.1 no.1 (spring 79), vol.1 no.2 (summer 79), vol.1 no.3 (fall 79)

Digital access: fall 1981 in En and Jap via Densho Digital Repository

The Southeast Asia Record 1979 — (Palo Alto, California)

A weekly newspaper owned by the non-profit corporation Asia-Pacific Affairs Associates, the Southeast Asia Record announced its transition to a monthly publication The Asia Record that expands its coverage to include East Asia from April 1980 in vol.1 no.39.

Holdings: vol.1 no.1 (week of June 8-14, 1979) - vol.1 no.39 (week of March 7-13, 1980); vol.1 no.1 (April 1980) - vol.1 no.12 (March 1981); vol.2 no.2 (May 1981).

No digital access.

The Asian American Journey: a prophetic witness in a de-person-ed world 1978ー1984 (Los Angeles, CA)

Published bi-monthly five times a year by Agape Fellowship with no issue in the summer and with its special focus on Asian Pacific Americans, this publication directed the first four issues in each production year primarily to the general community with each issue containing a religious section and the fifth issue entirely to the Christian community.

Holdings: general issues Dec 1979; Apr, Sep, Nov 1980; Jan, Mar, May, Sep, Nov 1981; Mar, May 1982; Oct/Nov 1983; Apr/May 1984

No digital access.

Nikkei-sentinel 日系 みはり 1979 (?)ー ​​​​​ (Los Angeles, CA)

Holdings: Oct 79, Aug 80 Dec/Jan 81 (joint issue 1), Jun 81 summer 81 (joint issue 2), joint anniversary issue, special women's section, spring 82, winter 82-83, summer 83
NB: Joint issues were collaborations between Little Tokyo People's Rights Organization in Los Angeles & Japanese Community Progressive Alliance in San Francisco.

Digital access: Dec/Jan 81, Jun 81, joint anniversary issue, special women's section, summer 82, winter 82-83 via Densho Digitial Repository. 

The New York Nichibei ニューヨーク日米新聞 1945ー (New York, NY)

Holdings: Nov 1 1979, Nov 8 1979; May 28 1987, Aug 13 1987, Aug 27 1987, Sep 17 1987, Sep 24 1987; Jan 14 1988; August 25, 1988.

No digital access.

東風 East Wind: Politics and Culture of Asians in the U.S. 1982ー1989 (San Francisco, CA)

Published semiannually by Getting Together Publications, Inc., East Wind features writers who had previously worked on other Asian American publications going back to Gidra, with contributing editors and advisors based in and beyond California. It balances political topics with literary output and cultural reflections.

Holdings: vol.1 no.1 (Spring/Summer 1982), vol.1. no.2 (Fall/Winter 1982); vol.3 no.1 (Spring/Summer 1984)

Digital Access: a few snapshots from editor Eddie Wong's article on the revived e-zine.

 East/West News 東西報 1967—1989 (San Francisco, CA)

East-West (sometimes printed East/West, also Dong xi bao/東西報 in Chinese) was a San Francisco Chinatown-based English/Chinese bilingual newspaper founded by editor/publisher Gordon Lew (also a professor at the City College of San Francisco) that ran weekly from 1967 to 1989. Most of its articles covered issues affecting the Asian diaspora, primarily Chinese, in Chinatown, America, and internationally. (from Stanford University, Manuscripts Division collection guide).

Holdings: vol.16 nos.28, 44, 50 (1982); vol.17 nos.19, 22, 23, 28, 30, 31-34, 36, 37, 40, 42, 43, 45, 47, 50 (1983); vol.18, nos.1, 13, 40, 45 (1984); vol.21 nos. 20, 32, 36, 40 (1987); vol.22, nos. 49 (1988); vol.23 nos.12, 13, 17, 18, 27-29, 31, 32, 35

Digital access: full access via the Internet Archive.

舢舨月刊 Sampan: a publication of the Chinese American Civic Association 1978 — (Boston, MA)

a newspaper published monthly by the Chinese American Civic Association (CACA). Inc. and supported by volunteer staff

Holdings: vol. X no.1 (Nov 1982) vol. XI no.6 (Mar/Apr 1983) vol. XI no.7 (May 1983) vol. XI no.8 (Jun 1983) vol. XI no.10 (Aug 1983) vol. XI no.11 (Sep 1983) vol. XII no.1 (Oct/Nov 1983)

No digital access. 

Pacific Citizen 1929 — (Los Angeles, CA)

"The Pacific Citizen , (PC) created as the organizational newsletter of the Japanese American Citizens League (JACL), became a full-fledged newspaper during World War II. During the war years, it represented the most articulate voice of mainland Japanese Americans, and acted as the principal purveyor of news to the community.

The Pacific Citizen was founded in 1929 as the bulletin of the San Francisco "New American Citizens League," under the name Nikkei Shimin. Three years later, it was adopted as the official organ of the fledgling JACL and renamed. During the 1930s it was taken over by Seattle-based editor James Sakamoto as an adjunct of his newspaper Japanese American Courier . Although formally a monthly publication, in fact it appeared only sporadically. Apart from Walter Tsukamoto ’s legal advice column "Legal Forum," it concentrated largely on JACL chapter news, and was not taken seriously even by JACL members. It suspended publication after Pearl Harbor." (source: Densho Encyclopedia)

Newspapers received from November 1988 has Peters 110 as the room number of AARC.

Holdings: Incomplete issues from vol.95 no.25 (December 17, 1982) to vol.112 no.25 (June 28, 1991)

Digital access: full pdf access through Pacific Citizen Newspaper Archive; 2006 to present searchable text accessible through Newsbank.

Unity 1978 —1994 (San Francisco, CA)

“Unity/La Unidad was published from 1978 to 1990 by the League of Revolutionary Struggle (M-L) twice a month and appeared in three languages: English, Spanish and Chinese. Unity/La Unidad offered a radical perspective on national and international news along with first-hand reports from the frontlines of battles for self-determination, worker’s rights, women’s liberation, and social justice.” (from The Archive of the League of Revolutionary Struggle)

Holdings: vol.6 nos.9-11, 13-15 (May -October, 1983); vol.9 no.15; vol.13 nos.9-13, 15; vol.14 nos. 3-11; vol.15 nos.1, 3, 6, 7 (October 1992).  

Digital access: full access by year from 1978 to 1990 via the Archive of the League of Revolutionary Struggle.

The Filipino Chronicle: your voice in the nation's capital (Washington, D.C.)

Holdings: vol.2 nos.16, 17-25, 27; vol.3 nos.2-4

No digital access.

AsianWeek 1979—2009 (San Francisco, CA)

From vol.19 no.44 (June 25-July 2, 1998) issues were posted to Haipeng Li (AARC library coordinator, reference librarian at Mudd Center).

Holdings: incomplete issues between vol.4 no.29 (March 27, 1983) and vol.22 no.23 (January 25-31, 2001)

Digital Access: 1983-1989, 1990-2009 via Ethnic Newswatch

International Examiner 1974 — (Seattle, WA)

See Gary Iwamoto's article on the history of the journal of Seattle/King Country's Asian communities.

Holdings: incomplete issues between May 4, 1983 and May 4 1994.
Digital access: 1976-1987 via Ethnic NewsWatch.

Chinese American Forum: a cultural bridge 1984 ー (Maryland, MD)

The Chinese American Forum was a magazine with a mission to bridge gaps between different generations of Chinese Americans as well as between Chinese Americans and Americans at large. Articles appear in both Chinese and English, however there is a strong lean towards articles in English. The articles in Chinese American Forum tend to be longer and more formal than some of these in other Asian American publications. Written pieces take up the entirety of each magazine and most articles including a brief bibliography; Pictures and advertisements taking up much less space compared to other magazines.

Holdings: vol.1 no.1 (May 1984); vol.2 nos.3,4 (Sep 1986, Jan 1987); vol.3 no.1 (May 1987); vol.4 no.1 (Jun 1988)

Digital access: 1984-2025 via Academic Search Complete.

Trikone gay and lesbian South Asians 1986 — 2014 (Palo Alto, CA)

Holdings: vol.2 no.4 (Nov 1987); vol.3 nos.2, 3-6; vol.4 no.2-3  

No digital access.

CAAAV Voice newsletter of the Committee Against Anti-Asian Violence 1986ー (New York, NY)

Holdings: vol.2 no.1 (spring 1990); no.4 no.2 (fall 1992); vol.9 no.1 (Winter 1997) no.2 (Summer 1997); vol.10 no.1 (Spring 1998) no.2 (Fall 1998).

Digital access: 1988-2008 via CAAAV the Voice Digital Archives. See reading guide. 

The Militant: a socialist weekly published in the interests of working people 1941— (New York, NY)

Holdings: vol.57 nos.3, 5, 6, 8-11, 13-15, 39, 45; vol.58 nos.13, 14 (Jan 22, 1993 through Apr 11, 1994)

Digital access: 1941-1971 via Proquest Historical Newspapers.

亞美時報 Asian American Times 1987ー (Flushing, NY) -- in Chinese

From no.557 (August 15, 1998) issues were addressed to Haipeng Li, reference librarian (1993-2009) and library coordinator for AARC. 

Holdings: nos.484 (March 22, 1997), 486, 494-529, 557-620 (June 30, 1999)

No digital access.

SAMAR: South Asian magazine for action & reflection 1992ー2002 (New York, NY)

SAMAR started as a magazine with a South Asian focus based in the United States and aimed to get published twice a year. The term "South Asian" was chosen because editorial collection felt it is important to bring attention to the fact that South Asians are a group of people with a shared history and that this history provides a common basis for understanding their place in the contemporary world. Whereas most other South Asian magazines are based on differences of region, religion and nationality within South Asia, at Samar it was hoped that the full complexity of "South Asian" could be reflected in the composition of the editorial collective, contributors and readers.

Holding: No.9 Winter/Spring 1998 

Digital access: inaugural issue Winter 1992 through Summer/Fall 2002 via South Asian American Digital Archive.

Asian Sunews 1995— (Phoenix, Az)

"Asian Sunews is the largest Asian American monthly publication in Arizona with an issue date of the 15th of the month and the is distributed free to the general public at designated centers."

Holdings: vol.9 nos.1-12 (May 15, 2002-April 18, 2003); vol.10 nos.2-3, 5-7 (June 16-Nov 17, 2003)

No digital access.

Winter 1973 vol.13 no.1 of The Activist, a student political quarterly by the Activist Publishing Company, Inc., which is recognized by the Oberlin College Faculty and the Student Senate as a student-operated educational organization.

Vol. 1 no.3 (June 1973) issue of Philippines Information Bulletin, an independent and non-profit bimonthly published in Cambridge, Mass.

Vol.2 (Autumn 1974) of The Dohgakkai: Quarterly review of student movement in Kyoto, published by Dohgakkai, the student autonomy of Kyoto university 京都大学同学会, focuses on pollution in Japan.

May-June 1975 issue (vol.13 no.8) of Ramparts, published monthly by Noah's Ark, Inc. in San Francisco, was selected for a three part report on Vietnam.

Vol.25 no.3 of China Reconstructs, published monthly in English, French, Spanish, Arabic, and Russian by the China Welfare Institute (Soong Ching Ling, Chairman), was a special issue on Tibet. Digital access of many issues is available via Marxists.org.

Asian American Women: a journal published at Stanford University, May 1976

Vol.2 no.5 of Seize the Time represents a break in both content and format with previous issues, with added emphasis on political line struggle, propaganda and summation of practice much more. The new format will make it easier to do more thorough articles and organize each issue around a particular focus. The departments and most short article are eliminated s because the staff realized these were either poor imitations of daily newspapers or attempts at mass work/agitation with the wrong audience. See more at the Freedom Archives.

Vol.55 no.7 (March 1977) special issue of the Personnel and Guidance Journal. The journal is full-text accessible online.

Vol. no.9 issue (Sep 8, 1978) of the Philippine Liberation Courier takes a close look at the role of US military in Asia.

Vol.1 no.3 (December 1978) of Neighborhood: the journal for city preservation looks at Chinatown from the perspective of the people who live and work there; from the view of those who call it their neighborhood.

Vol. 1 no.1 (April 1979) and Vol.2 no.1 (April 1980) of Ethnic Reflections: A Literary Journal Through America, published and funded by House-Special Programs at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor feature writings by Asian-American students.

Vol.3 no.2 1980 issue of The Asianadian, an Asian Canadian magazine, features an editorial on Sweatshop by Sharon Lee. 

Fall 75 (Martha's Vineyard Indians), Fall 76 (Asian Americans), Fall 77 (Heath Care) issues of Civil Rights Digest, published quarterly by the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights as part of its clearinghouse responsibilities were collected.

March 5, 1979 issue of U.S. News & World Report has multiple articles on China and Chinese Americans. Also found in the collection are March 21, 1983 and April 2, 1984 issues of the magazine featuring articles on how recent immigration wave transformed urban America and how Asian Americans pushed hard to enter the economic and political mainstream.

In addition to the Feb 5, 1979 issue of Newsweek with a special report on The New China, the collection also has the Jan 17, 1983 issue featuring Portrait of America and the cover of April 1984 issue profiling Asian-American college students.

Vol.1 No.4 of The Ethnic Women is an Asian issue that features Chinese immigrant women, the Libyan women, Japanese U.S. concentrations camps, as well as the case of Chol Soo Lee.

Vol.4 no.17 (January 2, 1980) and vol.4 no.45 (July 30, 1980) of The San Francisco Journal / a perspective on the news: local, national, the third world, Asian America 1976ー1980 (Washington, D.C.).

Vol.12 no.2 (Summer 1980) of Perspectives: the civl rights quarter 1969ー (Washington, D.C.) features James G. Trager's article "Haunting Echoes of the Last Round-up: '9066' Revisitied" ; vol.14 no.1 (Summer 1982) the silver anniversary issue is dedicated to the history of the civil rights movement.

Wed November 2, 1983 issue of the Bowling Green State University student paper The Obsidian features an article about the "Survival Tactics for Third World Graduate Students" workshop at which Oberlin AACC Tommy Woon was an invited speaker.

Vol.2 no.5 (May/June 1987 ) of Belles Lettres: a review of books by women 1985ー96 (Arlington, Va.) features Asian women writers.

Spring 1988 issue of Tea Leaves, a biannual publication based in Berkeley, CA, has the character 火 as its theme - it is "more than a character meaning fire; it is an energy uncontained and a spirit inextinguished. It reaches out and pulls all Asian-Americans into a maelstrom of creativity -- across ethnic differences, beyond cultural barriers."

Vol. VI no.3 of CineVue covers five Asian American filmmaker/video artists invited to remake any film they choose from an Asian American point of view.

Winter 91 (vol.8 no.1) issue of the bulletin of New York Chinatown History Project announces that the project changed its name to the Chinatown History Museum as part of the museum planning process. The museum, now Museum of Chinese in America (MOCA), is still dedicated to preserving, illuminating, and celebrating the rich history and contributions of Chinese in America.

Multiple copies vol.25 issue 1 (January 1992) of the Lotus, a monthly publication of the Federation of India Community Association at India Community Center in Cleveland Heights. 

Spring 1992 newsletter of the Chinese for Affirmative Action features voting rights.

Vol. 6 (summer 92) of Artspiral, a publication of Asian American Arts Centre spotlights folk art.

1992 Asian American Women's Journal, by the Stanford Asian Women's Collective, has the theme "Sexuality and Body Image" and concerns both ethnicity and gender.

The July 1992 issue of forward motion -- a magazine of socialist opinion and advocacy based in Jamaica Plain, MA -- reflects and analyzes the changing realities for Asian/Pacific Americans.

The independent monthly the 2nd Generation (New York, NY) was published by the New York Asian News, Inc., serving the Asian American community. Vol.1 no.1 (Nov 1992) was selected for featuring essays by young people in the New York area to reflect the coming generation's thoughts on the upheaval. 

The Fall/Winter 1992 issue of Visions, a newsletter of the New York Asian Women's Center, celebrates the 10th anniversary of the Center. 

Issue #7 of Bamboo Girl, a zine featuring articles, art, and interviews, by and about Asians, Asian-Americans, and Pacific Islanders, focuses on Asian mental illness, among other things.

Vol.21 No.1 (Spring/Summer 1998) of Cross Currents, newsmagazine of the UCLA Asian American Studies Center.