Museum Collections
Mary A. Ainsworth Collection of Japanese Prints
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Victoria and Albert Museum
Van Gogh Museum
Japan Ukiyo-E Museum 日本浮世絵博物館
Catalogs
Andō Hiroshige, 100 famous views of Edo : an exhibition and catalogue, Elvehjem Museum of Art, University of Wisconsin-Madison, April 18 -May 23, 1982 by ISBN: 9780932900029Publication Date: 1982Images in this exhibition organized by the Elvehjem Museum of Art (now the Chazen Museum of Art) show a dispossessed population, those driven or escaping to the streets of New York to indulge in the compulsion to smoke or the need to sleep.
Heroes and Ghosts by ISBN: 9789074822107Publication Date: 1998-01-01This publication offers the most comprehensive survey of Kuniyoshi's work in a European language fully expressing the artist's versatility. More than 300 illustrations from public and private collections are accompanied by essays on Kuniyoshi's deluxe printed images ("surimono"), paintings and comical pictures ("giga"), making this book an invaluable source of information for Japanese print lovers.
Kuniyoshi and Kunisada: Samurai and Beautiful Women by ISBN: 9783775732390Publication Date: 2013-01-31This publication offers a rare opportunity to compare the two artists' illustrations of the same themes, and includes essays that provide an introduction to nineteenth-century Japanese popular culture and bridge the gap between the centuries by exploring aspects of the grotesque in Japanese art, explaining legends and plays, and presenting some of Kuniyoshi's preliminary studies.
Kuniyoshi X Kunisada by ISBN: 9780878468478Publication Date: 2017-10-24An exploration of the rivalry between Kuniyoshi and Kunisada, two of the most popular Japanese ukiyo-e woodblock print artists of the nineteenth century, based on masterworks from the peerless Japanese art collection at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.
Masterpieces of landscape : Ukiyo-e prints from the Honolulu Academy of Arts by Publication Date: 2003Catalog of an exhibition held at Chiba City Museum of Art, Apr. 8-May 11, 2003; Akita Senshu Museum of Art, May 24-June 29, 2003; Hagi Uragami Museum, July 19-Aug. 17, 2003; Shizuoka Prefectural Museum of Art, Nov. 1-Dec. 7, 2003; and Oita Art Museum, Jan. 6-Feb. 1, 2004
One Thousand Years of Japanese Art (650-1650) by ISBN: 0913304123Publication Date: 1995-01-01Exhibition held at the Japan House Gallery in the spring of 1981, Cleveland Museum of Art
Van Gogh and Japan by ISBN: 9780300233261Publication Date: 2018-07-10Featuring essays by the world's leading Van Gogh experts, this book details the ways in which the artist constructed his understanding of a Japanese aesthetic and his utopian ideal of a so-called primitive society, and incorporated these into his own vision and practice. The size, nature, and importance of Van Gogh's own collection of Japanese prints are also explored. Lavish illustrations include oil paintings and drawings by Van Gogh as well as a selection of the Japanese works that so captured his imagination.
Hokusai and his school : Japanese prints c.1800-1840 by Call Number: NE1310 .H68 2005 vol. 1-2Publication Date: 1982Catalog of an exhibition held at the Rijksprentenkabinet, Feb. 27-May 9, 1982
"Catalogue by Charlotte van Rappard-Boon on the basis of research by Matthi Forrer (for the surimono and books), Roger S. Keyes and Keiko Keyes-Mizushima (for the rest of the prints). Edited by J.P. Filedt Kok."--Verso, t.p
Images Resources
Image:
1. Japanese Fine Prints, pre- 1915 ( Library of Congress)
2. Ukiyo-e.org (Japanese Woodblock Print Search)
- A database of Japanese woodblock print images and metadata aggregated from a variety of museums, universities, libraries, auction houses, and dealers around the world. Currently it contains over 213,000 prints from 24 institutions and, as of September 2013, has received 3.4 million page views from 150,000 people.
Other Resources:
Additional Essays and Videos ( from the Pulverer collection at the Smithsonian)
- Hiroshige's One Hundred famous Views of Edo
From Brooklyn Museum - Hiroshige's 100 Famous Views of Edo
- Cultural Japan This link opens in a new windowCollects information on Japanese electronic digital sources highlighting the culture of Japan from museums and libraries around the world.
- The Meiji at 150 Project - University of British Columbia in VancouverThe 2017-2018 Academic Year sees the 150th anniversary of Japan’s 1868 Meiji Restoration, an epochal political revolution that sparked Japan’s remarkable modernization, dramatic cultural transformation, and rapid emergence onto the global stage.
- Mary Ainsworth Collection of Japanese Illustration BooksThe Mary Ainsworth Collection consists of 114 lots amounting to over three hundred volumes of Japanese Artists' books.