Ukiyo-e Technique Vidoes
Printing Technology
Sugeta - Front
Sugeta (hinged mold) is used in Japanese Papermaking.
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Sugeta - Back
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Woodblock - Japan
Japanese Woodblock of Sūtra of Long-life Bodhisattva Jizō with Japanese Annotation and Illustration
延命地藏經和訓圖會 (Enmi Jizōkyō wakun zue)
Kaei 嘉永 year 7 [1854]
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Woodblock - Other side
Japanese Woodblock of Sūtra of Long-life Bodhisattva Jizō with Japanese Annotation and Illustration
延命地藏經和訓圖會 (Enmi Jizōkyō wakun zue)
Kaei 嘉永 year 7 [1854]
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Woodblock - Korea
Korean Woodblock of Confucius Texts
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Woodblock - Other side
Korean Woodblock of Confucius Texts
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Woodblock - Japan
Alternative format of Woodblock - Japan
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Progression of Printing Blocks for Hiroshige’s Print “Shoya” from 53 Stations from Tokaido 錦繪褶立順序
Date: Meiji明治25 [1892] Artist: Utagawa Hiroshige 歌川広重(1797-1858)
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Progression of Printing Blocks for Hiroshige’s Print “Shoya” from 53 Stations from Tokaido 錦繪褶立順序
Date: Meiji明治25 [1892] Artist: Utagawa Hiroshige 歌川広重(1797-1858)
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Progression of Printing Blocks for Hiroshige’s Print “Shoya” from 53 Stations from Tokaido 錦繪褶立順序
Date: Meiji明治25 [1892] Artist: Utagawa Hiroshige 歌川広重(1797-1858)
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Progression of Printing Blocks for Hiroshige’s Print “Shoya” from 53 Stations from Tokaido 錦繪褶立順序
Date: Meiji明治25 [1892] Artist: Utagawa Hiroshige 歌川広重(1797-1858)
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Progression of Printing Blocks for Hiroshige’s Print “Shoya” from 53 Stations from Tokaido 錦繪褶立順序
Date: Meiji明治25 [1892] Artist: Utagawa Hiroshige 歌川広重(1797-1858)
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Paul Arnold Prints
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Paul Arnold Prints 2
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Paul Arnold Prints 3
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Paul Arnold Prints 4
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Sources for Illustrated Books
1. Japanese illustrated books (Smithsonian Collection)
2. Digital Collection of Rare Illustrated Books (Library of Congress)
3. Mary A. Ainsworth Collection of Japanese Illustrated Books (Oberlin College Libraries)
4. Artist and Illustrated Books Digital Collection (New York City Public Library)
5. Rare Book Collection (Ritsumeikan University 立命館大学所蔵貴重書アーカイブ 日本文学)
6. The Landmarks of Edo in Color Woodblock Prints (National Diet Library, Japan 國立國會図書館)
Japanese Prints & Illustrated Books from Special Collections
Edo period Illustrated Book 図說江戶風俗
Mary A. Ainsworth Japanese Illustrated Books
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Edo period Illustrated Book 図說江戶風俗
Mary A. Ainsworth Japanese Illustrated Books
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Edo period Illustrated Book 図說江戶武士
Mary A. Ainsworth Japanese Illustrated Books
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
The Collection of Woodblock Prints by Okyo 應舉聚美畫譜
Meiji 27 [1894]
Mary A. Ainsworth Japanese Illustrated Books
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
The Collection of Woodblock Prints by Okyo 應舉聚美畫譜
Meiji 27 [1894]
Mary A. Ainsworth Japanese Illustrated Books
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
The Collection of Woodblock Prints by Okyo 應舉聚美畫譜
Meiji 27 [1894]
Mary A. Ainsworth Japanese Illustrated Books
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
The Collection of Woodblock Prints by Okyo 應舉聚美畫譜
Meiji 27 [1894]
Mary A. Ainsworth Japanese Illustrated Books
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Illustrated Book of Famous Places in Kyoto 図說京都名勝
Mary A. Ainsworth Japanese Illustrated Books
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Illustrated Book of Famous Places in Kyoto 図說京都名勝
Mary A. Ainsworth Japanese Illustrated Books
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Illustrated Book of Famous Places in Edo 図說江戶名勝
Mary A. Ainsworth Japanese Illustrated Books
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
