Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Comics and Graphic Novels
To find graphic novels search OBIS for the subject GRAPHIC NOVELS
To find comics search OBIS for the subject COMIC BOOKS
Call Number: Art Library, PN6700.B53, no.11-12
The Comics Grid
A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that aims "to promote comics scholarship within academia and the general public with contributions that present specialized knowledge in an accessible language." Contains scholarly research articles and reviews of books in this field. Many articles are also part of special collections that focus on themes, such as the role of comics in science communication, interdisciplinary approaches to jazz music and comics, and the intersections between comics and issues of law and justice.
The Comics journal
Call Number: Art Library Periodicals, no.265; no.267 (2005)-
Online companion also available
ImageTexT is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of comics and related media. Published by the English Department at the University of Florida with support from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, all content is available free of charge.
Call Number: Art Lib. Graphic Novel/Animation/Comics Collection, PN6720.M66
Publication Date: summer 2005 – fall 2011
A review of new and established comics and graphic novels selected by luminaries in the field.
Summon searches multiple databases simultaneously, which convenient.
For best results enter one or two unique words.
For example, to find information about the comic book author Scott McCloud type Scott McCloud in the box below.
Adam Matthew Explorer an application that searches digital collections created by the Adam Matthews company. Their digital collections cover, primarily, the history and culture of Western Europe and North America.
Several Adam Matthew collections include comics and graphic novels. You can browse by collection or search across all the collections with Adam Matthew Explorer.
Librarian / Research Help
Contact:Barb Prior (she/her)
Clarence Ward Art Library
Top Floor, Venturi Art Building
- HOW DO I ….?
Watch these videos for advice & support on using library resources and doing research. Visit us at https://libraries.oberlin.edu/ to chat with us in real-time, schedule a research appointment, or send us an email message.