Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Newspaper Comics by
Call Number: Main Oversize, PN6725 .H58 2012
The result of more than twenty years of meticulous research, American Newspaper Comics is the first comprehensive, authoritative reference work to document this history. It covers over 7,000 different comic strips with dletailed information on important but previously overlooked artists and features. Includes a CD with samples of more than 2,000 cartoon features.
Comics Research Bibliography
Compiled by Michael Rhode and John Bullough from 1996-2009, this international bibliography contains over 29,700 entries about comic books, comic strips, animation, caricature, and cartoons, etc. Search the entire bibliography (for the most comprehensive results) or browse a list of topical bibliographies (which may not be as up-to-date). [Scout Report]
Comic Books and Comic Strips in the United States Through 2005 by
Call Number: Main Library, Z5956.C6 L47 2006
The final work in John Lent's ten volume series covering all regions of the world , together forming the largest printed bibliography of comic art available. Includes anthologies and reprints; criticism and reviews; exhibitions, festivals, and awards; scholarship and theory; and the business, artistic, cultural, legal, technical, and technological aspects of American comics. A broad range of publications are covered: academic, trade, popular, fan, etc., as well as ephemeral sources like fanzines, press articles, and fugitive materials (conference papers, unpublished documents, etc.).
The DC Comics Encyclopedia by
Call Number: Main Oversize, PN6725 .D199 2004
Lists over 1,000 of the classic characters created by DC Comics. Popular super heroes and super villains are here, as well as lesser known favorites and weird and wonderful one-offs. The illustrations are by DC's artists and the authoritative text by DC chroniclers. Double-page features celebrate the vehicles and weaponry, clashes and romantic encounters of popular DC heroes and villains.
The Marvel Encyclopedia by
Call Number: Main Oversize PN6725 .M37 2006
Contains more than 1000 of Marvel's greatest, with full details of their powers and their thrill-packed careers. Features art by Marvel's finest artists, while the authoritative text is supplied by a team of top Marvel comic book writers. In addition, double-page features illustrated with classic covers trace the fascinating story of Marvel Comics through the decades.
The Great Comic Book Artists by
Call Number: Art Library, PN6725 .G63 1986
Although this is a subjective listing of the greatest comic book artists, it could not come from a more informed source than comic book historian Goulart. Goulart is also the author of numerous science fiction novels which explains his bias toward the science fiction and fantasy-oriented artists. The book gives a one-page biography of each artist and devotes one page to a sample of his work. For comic book aficionados this may not be quite enough to whet their appetites, but librarians should be able to use the work as a reference tool; Goulart also tells in what editions of what comic books a particular artist's work appeared. – Mike Donovan, Cornell Univ. Library Journal.
Jack Kirby created or co-created some of comic books' most popular super heroes. More significantly, he created much of the visual language for fantasy and adventure comics. There were comics before Kirby, but for the most part their page layout, graphics, and visual dynamic aped what was being done in syndicated newspaper strips. Almost everything that was different about comic books began in the 1940s on the drawing table of Jack Kirby. This is his story by one who knew him well - Mark Evanier. First issued in 2008, this is the revised and expanded edition issued for Kirby's centennial.
Masters of American Comics by
Call Number: Art Library NC1426 .M34 2005
Covers fifteen pioneering cartoonists who brought this genre to the highest level of artistic expression and greatest impact on the development of the form. Organized chronologically, it explores the rise of comics and their artistic development throughout the 20th century.
Center for Cartoon Studies
The Center for Cartoon Studies (CCS) offers a two-year course of study that centers on the creation and dissemination of comics, graphic novels and other manifestations of the visual narrative. Experienced and internationally recognized cartoonists, writers, and designers teach classes. CCS programs include a two-year master of fine arts degree, one- and two-year certificates in cartooning, and annual summer workshops. The school is located in historic downtown village of White River Junction, Vermont.
Comic Book Legal Defense Fund
Comics and graphic novels are one of the most frequently challenged book genres. Use this site for its history of comic censorship, it's list of case files, resources for retailers facing a law suit, a list of banned comics, information about the Comics Code and much more. "[A] non-profit organization dedicated to the protection of the First Amendment rights of the comics medium and its community of retailers, creators, publishers, librarians, and readers." [Scout Report]